We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE customer service, deceptive policies”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Overnativa Green Hostel
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I made a reservation through Hostelworld and paid the required 10% deposit on there. Later that day I got an email from someone named Márcio at the hostel saying that a 50% nonrefundable deposit was required to book. I had read all through the policies before booking and didn't see this anywhere. I emailed back asking about the 50% deposit, and he responded saying he had cancelled my reservation. So I lost my Hostelworld deposit (you have to cancel on their website to get it back) and now I also had nowhere to stay. When I responded that I hadn't asked him to cancel the reservation, he said I would have to re-pay the 10% deposit in addition to the 50%. He proceeded to send me about four rude and sarcastic emails about how I should "read the policies before paying for anything online." He finally shut up when I sent him a screenshot of the policies listed on his hostel's page (nothing about a 50% deposit)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Mckenzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 55 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2013

My friend and I booked a dorm room for three nights and when we arrived the nice young girl at reception showed us to our room and told us she'd just need our passport numbers and we could pay the total at the end. We got to the room and it was disgusting! The window had been left wide open and there were bugs everywhere. The bunk beds looked as if they would collapse, the sheets didn't look clean, the room was dark and just felt really grimy and damp. Also there were no other guests in site, the place seemed really dull and had no atmosphere at all. But we'd already paid the deposit online, so thought we'd give it a go. There were no lockers in the room so we went to ask at reception were the lockers were and the nice girl was away from the desk and instead there was a very grumpy older lady. We told her we'd just checked in and wanted to use the lockers and she said we'd have to pay for our room upfront. I said we wouldn't pay upfront because we'd paid the deposit online and we'd pay at the end because that's what I've always done at every other hostel I've ever stayed in. She got really aggressive and incredibly rude about it. I told her in the case we wouldn't stay there and she didn't care in the least, she just asked for our room key back. We got our bags and walked to Aquario Hostel where we were greeted by a lovely girl at reception and shown to a nice clean room. We had the best three nights there and met some really good people. Book Aquario and don't even think about booking this place, it's a dump.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromlondon13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We only stayed here because there was nothing else available. The rooms are pretty good, hot water and air con. Unfortunately staff were very rude, wifi was down the whole time, the roof leaked so passports and computer in lockers got damaged, they do have a kitchen but generally won't let you use it until after 8pm at night.

I'd avoid unless you had to

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was the only place that was still available for less than 300 EUR/night (it was around Xmas, so high season), which is why we booked it, without any expectations so we would not be disappointed. We stayed in the double room - probably the best room of the hostel. There's not much to write home about this place, but it serves its purpose - basically to provide a place to sleep with a working air conditioning and a working shower. During the day, you are on the beach anyways (we were lucky to have great weather all the time - I would not have wanted to spend my day at this place). The breakfast is ok, there is wireless internet and a public computer in the common area, and the beds are good enough to sleep in. The price we paid (about 115 EUR/night), was pretty outrageous, but for the time of the year this was the minimum price on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in a private room. Bed was fine, a/c was quite old and loud (bring earplugs). Shower was one of the electric ones - watet was hot - but sometimes a cool shower would have been nice in the hot weather.
B'fast was pretty average, 1 fresh bread roll each and lots of stale cake(we saw the same stale cake re-appear everyday) and bad coffee.
Tours offered are over-priced, same tour down the road is alot cheaper.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Had booked a 5 night stay in a private room with bathroom and it was lovely, really chilled with private balcony. The hostel staff were really friendly and it was easy to meet other travelers. The room was also cleaned daily and the sheets were always fresh! Loved it so much i stayed another two nights. At £10 a night it was a complete bargain!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kfmackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights. Lovely family feel hostel. They have a good size living room with plenty of chairs to relax in front of tv. Breakfast was very good with loads to choose from and lots of fresh fruit. Used the laundry and it was back at end of the day dry ironed and really clean!! They have a pool table, computer and WiFi. Currently building a BBQ area. Room was good size with fridge air con, en suite and towels changed daily also included in price!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxy1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
1.5 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#16 of 17 in Ilha Grande
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach House Ilha Grande Hostel
Beach House Ilha Grande Hostel
#15 of 28 in Vila do Abraao
30 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Refugio
Hostel Refugio
#7 of 28 in Vila do Abraao
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Camping da Cachoeira
Camping da Cachoeira
#19 of 28 in Vila do Abraao
3 reviews
10.4 mi away
Ilha Hostel
Ilha Hostel
#13 of 91 in Ilha Grande
27 reviews
0 mi away
Casa Verde Hostel
Casa Verde Hostel
#51 of 91 in Ilha Grande
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overnativa Green Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overnativa Green Hostel

Address: Rua Getulio Vargas, 517, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $42 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Overnativa Green Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overnativa Green Hostel Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing