We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ilha Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jungle Lodge
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

When coming to the Ilha Grande we spontaniously decided to have a look if there is something available at the Jungle Lodge. We were lucky and without reserving we could stay there!
Every night, you are asked if you want to have dinner with the owner and other guests! It was such good food and the best Caipirinha ever!

We had our private room and were more than happy staying there!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Deventer, Overijssel, Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had the best experience at the jungle lodge. Not only was the breakfast perfect and the scenery beautiful, Dino was the perfect hist for this cosy lodge. Don't miss climbing the pirot peak, it's gives an incredible view on the island.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Ilha Grande is a fantastic island, with beautiful beaches to explore, lots of activities and great food. Jungle Lodge was one of the highlights of our 6 month trip. A pleasant but somewhat tiring (particularly with your luggage/backpacks...) 10 minute hike up a fairly rough hill west of town, we nevertheless really enjoyed being able to get away from the tourist hordes that accompany such splendour.

Dinho, the owner, may just be the best host in South America. Super friendly, energetic and flat out funny, he makes sure you have the best time you possibly can. Great personalized advice for what to do based on how long you stay and what you're looking to do, including tour company/dive company/restaurant recommendations, and hand drawn hiking maps for exploring the island. Do yourself a favour and spend at LEAST an hour just hanging out at the lodge and listening to his stories about the Pantanal, or his Ilha Grande adventures.

The accommodation itself is a little rustic- a couple bare bones bathrooms (but flush toilets, so certainly passable), and more or less open-air rooms with mosquito nets above the main floor of the house. You're not here for 5 start bedrooms though, you're here to enjoy the best view on the island, get away from the 18 year old frat boys whooping it up down the hill, and enjoy the tranquility of a truly stunning island.

Not to be missed are the incredibly affordable (wayyy cheaper than the restaurants in town) and unbelievably (also way better than any food we tried in town) delicious home-cooked meals (breakfast and dinner). Breakfast always had fresh fruit that had been grown right on site (unbelievable the difference fresh fruit makes), and dinner was custom made for us and our picky vegetarian needs, without complaint.

Overall one of the highlights of our entire 6 months, and I cannot recommend it enough.

Room Tip: The detached room just a little down the hill from the main house is your best bet, particularly for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhogan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Jungle Lodge is a 10 minute trek out of the main town of Ihla Grande and is worth every step. Sat on the hillside overlooking the town, the view is fantastic across the bay and you get a feeling of staying somewhere more authentic than the hostels in the town.

A tropical storm hit the island on our second day, but as a sign of how welcome we felt at the hostel, the day didn't seem wasted. Good conversations with other travellers from Germany and Argentina, held together by the warmth and good hosting of Dinho, the owner of the hostel, meant that watching the storm was more fun than frustrating.

The weather cleared up for our final day on the island, so a 5 hour trek to Lopos Mendes beach and back was tiring but exhilirating, with a warm shower and a friendly face from Dinho and hos dog, Ghandi, on our return.

The rooms were basic but clean and great for a few days stay. Perfect for a group or solo travellers, burt younger families may find that staying in the town is easier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I have been meaning to write this review for a while now as we stayed there a few months ago.

We were a group of 10 so took over the whole lodge and everyone had a great time and said they would go back.

Accomodation is very basic with matresses on the floor only in some of the rooms, however it is clean and good value.

We had breakfast each day which was fantastic and also a BBQ one of the nights. The food was very good with fruit juice fresh from the garden etc.

The view from the lodge is amazing and our hosts were friendly and helpful. The hammocks are perfectly positioned for recovering after a day's exploring.

What may be downsides for some people were considered upsides by us, basic accomodation, rural setting, 20 min trek uphill from the main village, lots of wildlife.

Only problem was sorting out our bill at the end, we ended up overpaying due to miscalculation on behalf of the lodge as they had trouble administering for a group. We decided not to follow up on it as we felt they deserved the extra money considering the good service and it was clearly an honest mistake and partly due to last minute changes on our part. I would then suggest if you are a group that you work out in detail before you turn up how the final payment will be to avoid last minute confusions.

Please please please make sure you dont try carrying heavy luggage up the steep hill (take a backpack only), wear sensible shoes (this is not the time for flip flops) and pack a torch and take it with you on days out. We got caught out on one of the days as it gets dark so quickly and we ended up having to make it back through the jungle without all our torches. Very easy to stray off on the wrong path or take a tumble in the dark if you do not know the route well and have forgotten your torch.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CopenhagenRagdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

Our 3 nights at Jungle Lodge were a fantastic way to spend time on Ilha Grande and we couldnt have asked for friendlier hospitality or more beautiful views of the Island. After the hard (but worth it!) climb up from the port we were greeted by Dino, our wonderful host who couldnt get into the outdoor shower fast enough to show us how to cool down and see the best views of the bay. He wanted us to make the most of the island in the short time we had: sharing local knowledge that meant we snorkled with turtles on Lopes Mendes beach away from the crowds. Marcia, the wonderful hostess/cook/onsite mother figure was delightful and although we spoke no portuguese, and she no english we were always laughing with her and felt really cared for. The food was fantastic, the jungly rooms were clean and the frog chorus at night helped bring to life a great jungle adventure!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2012KGAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at the Jungle Lodge for 3 nights. Breakfast, the room, bathroom, were very good. You are in the middle of the jungle, in the evenings you can hear a little bit from distant the noise of the town, it is quite, friendly and very relaxing. It is different from staying in the town, you must walk for about 15 minutes up into the jungle. It makes sense to have a good light on you. Would definitely recommend, to get a difference exprience from City live!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IsabelitaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.0 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Naturalia
Pousada Naturalia
#1 of 17 in Ilha Grande
533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantica Jungle Lodge
Atlantica Jungle Lodge
#2 of 82 in Ilha Grande
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pousada Manaca Inn
Pousada Manaca Inn
#5 of 93 in Ilha Grande
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abraao Hostel
Abraao Hostel
#7 of 23 in Vila do Abraao
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Lodge

Property: Jungle Lodge
Address: Caminho de Palmas 4 | Abraao, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 82 Specialty Lodging in Ilha Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering comfort and tranquility, our Jungle Lodge, is an excellent way to get away from it all. A 15 minute walk from Abraao village, the Lodge is perched on a rainforest covered cliff with majestic views of the Brazilian Coast and the Angra Bay. The large garden offers the perfect environment to relax in a hammock, enjoy a barbeque at night or build a campfire and share stories. The Lodge comes with a complete kitchen, living room with TV, DVD, music system and internet. The Lodge is available for rent in its entirety or by double room with breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jungle Lodge Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing