We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place to Stay, would love to return !!!”
Review of Pousada Naturalia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pousada Naturalia
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Ilha Grande
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2010

Great place to stay. we stayed for 4 night and did not wanted to leave. Rooms very super clean, cosy, great sea view form balcony. We all love hammocks in balconies . Staff very friendly and helpful.
Excellent value for money!! 3 min walk via beach to town center and harbour.
I would 100% recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snieguole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 551 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2010

I created a TripAdvisor profile specifically to leave feedback on this place. Turns out it's all been said below. Isabel and Laurent couldn't have been more helpful in this exceptional guest house, quiet but great location, beautiful views of the sea from the balcony, complete with hammock; excellent breakfast. They even provided v effective herbal tea from their garden when one of us was ill. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2009

From the moment we arrived here to the moment we left, the hospitality of the owner Laurent and his staff was first class. Laurent designed and built this pousada with an eye on nature and you can see this is a real labour of love. The room was excellent quality with a lovely view. The breakfast was the best we had during our 3 week holiday. The choice of 3 juices changes every day, and the choice of fresh fruit is endless. ( I am currently writing thsi from a bed and breakfast in Rio which is more expensive and I was given half of a papaya and watered down fruit juice! ) I must of asked Laurent over 30 questions during our 3 night stay and every question was answered politely and generally really good information. How many times must he get asked the same questions?
To end, this was the best place we stayed at in Brazil, the fact that we were on a beautiful island and it was Xmas made it even more special.
Our thanks again to Laurent, keep up the good work.
Eddie.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keoghtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Would definitely recommend this pousada. It's location is just far enough from town to be quiet and peaceful, but close enough that it's just a few minutes walk to the beach and the center of the action. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the ones with balconies have beautiful views. The staff were very welcoming and the service is personal. You will have a fantastic stay here guaranteed!

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank TwinkleToesSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We stayed at this pousada for 3 nights in the end of September. We chose this place because of its high rating on TripAdvisor.
In order to get to Ilha Grande we used the “Island Travel” agency (located in Ilha Grande) which took us directly from our hotel in Rio. The transfer was very good. A private car with a nice driver came to pick us up and took us directly to the bay at Angra dos Reis (about 2.5 hours). At Angra dos Reis there was a speed boat already waiting for us which took us to Ilha Grande (about 10 min). As I mentioned, the transfer was very organized and comfortable.
We also wanted to reserve the transfer back to Rio from the same travel agency but it was closed at the time so we booked it from the “Speed Connection” agency. That was a big mistake! (even if it cost us a bit less). A transfer that should have taken 3 hours took us more than 5 hours! The first part was OK – we went on a catamaran that took us to Angra dos Reis bay (about 40 min instead of 10 min by speed boat but a nice cruise). The second part which included van transportation was very bad. The van was completely full and then they shoved all the bags in. But that was a minor problem – the driver didn’t quite know where to go and drove like crazy. When we finally arrived to Rio he didn’t know any of the passengers hotels and had to ask for directions from people on the streets. It took us 2 inside Rio to get to our hotel. Our advice to you is: do not book from this agency!
Back to the pousada: It is located about 10 min from the bay (the center). It is not located right on the beach but a bit uphill which is a disadvantage.
The rooms are nice and clean but the bed is very small. There is a small refrigerator and a safe in the room (no TV or Internet).
The best part is the balcony which has a great view of the bay.
Breakfast was good but there is not enough room to populate all the guests coming down to eat. Once we had to wait for about 15 min until there will be room.
During our stay we noticed some very nice pousadas right on the beach and probably stayed at one of them unless we booked in advance, so our advice is if you are not visiting during the high season then don’t book ahead and choose your place when you get there.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_Traveler_TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

This place is excellent. I found the location ideal - 5 mins walk from town along the beach but away from the noise. The room was simple but very nice with excellent views over the bay. Breakfast was a superb spread of food and absolutely set me up for the day - no need for lunch. The owners were extremely friendly and gently offered ideas for places to go and places to eat and drink. Cafe de la mer ( I thnk this is right) was the nearest bar with a great ambience on the beach and excellent food. I highly recommend Pousada naturalia as a great base to explore the beautiful island.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
Thank mjw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed at the Naturalia for 4 days on our honeymoon. It was great. Do not stay there if you are going to Ilha Grande to party all day long. If that's the case, stay closer to town. Naturalia is a short (5 minute) walk from town, far enough that you'll get some quiet at night. (though you'll still hear the cheers if Brazil is playing soccer). Naturalia is set on the side of the hill, with great gardens and common spaces. The rooms are as big as they need to be and the balcony is perfect for relaxing with a beer after a long day exploring the island. The best part of our stay was the staff; Laurent and Thomas were incredibly helpful, gave us lots of things to do and entertained us with stories. If you are going to Ilha Grande to relax and explore the island - I would definitely recommend this poussada.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I_rock_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilha Grande hotels
0.5 mi away
Asalem
Asalem
#6 of 17 in Ilha Grande
291 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousada Recreio da Praia
Pousada Recreio da Praia
#3 of 17 in Ilha Grande
483 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
Pousada Tagomago Beach Lodge
#7 of 17 in Ilha Grande
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pousada Casablanca
Pousada Casablanca
#9 of 17 in Ilha Grande
173 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
Lonier Praia Inn Flats
#12 of 17 in Ilha Grande
312 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hospedagem Acorde
Hospedagem Acorde
#17 of 17 in Ilha Grande
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Naturalia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Naturalia

Address: Praia Do Abrao, S/No, Lote B 09, Ilha Grande, State of Rio de Janeiro 23968-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Ilha Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ilha Grande
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ilha Grande
Price Range: $87 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Naturalia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pousada Naturalia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Naturalia Ilha Grande, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing