We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Vila Pitanga
Ranked #22 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
São Paulo
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't be better...”
Reviewed February 5, 2009

It was a great surprise! My friend had booked us in November '08 and then sent me their site (we were there from Jan 5 til the 12th '09, after New Year's in Rio) . I thought the pics were great! And it was exactly as i pictured...
But when we got there the greatest surprise was the combination of the place and "the girls" (as i started to call them...): Denise & Leila, the owners. They are fantastic, professional and with an excellent vibe. And the place is really great. The rooms are cozy (i actually stayed for two more days after my friend had left and changed from a room upstairs to another one downstairs), with a clean and perfectly renovated bathroom. The air conditioning, TV and frigobar are also perfect. The location is really great, 'cos just a 10 mins pleasant walk will lead u to the Buzios village and it´s also 5 mins from one of Buzios' beautiful beaches, Ferradura. The road which it's located is so quiet that you can only hear the birds during the day and the cicadas at night. The breakfast is perfect (a typical brazilian family home meal: bread, cheese, ham, eggs, coffee, orange juice, cake, jam, yogurt, fruits...).
A perfect place for a romantic getaway, family or just a trip with friends...or even by yourself (as i did for 2 days!). And with an awesome & fair price.
I´m going back soon...it was my first time in Buzios and i fell in love with the place. And i´ll definitely want a room again at V. Pitanga.

  • Liked — Felt like home, professional but confortable & cozy.
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything, honestly.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vgama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    186
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
119
411
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

I spent 4 nights at Vila PItanga. It is clean and smart and the rooms are big and spacious. It is a 5 minute walk to the Rua De Pedras (where the main bar and shopping area is) and 5-10 minute walk to Ferradura beach., which is good as there are not much beachside accomodations in Buzios.

(One word of warning - be careful when renting a scooter from the local store Tuareg. They may take more money from your credit card than you think!)

The thing that sets Pitanga apart is the friendliness of Denise the owner. She is very friendly and helpful. She even gave me a lift to the bus stop on my last day when I was late for the bus.

A lovely place in a good location. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank archstanton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Vila Pitanga!
The rooms & bathrooms are neat and very clean and the staff, especially the owner, are very friendly and helpful. The location is a bit off the track but it's only ten minutes walking to the center and also ten minutes to a nice beach!
Good value for money and absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitaSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2009

I can't say enough about Denise and her parents.....

My Fiancee and I stayed at Vila Pitanga for 3 nights over the christmas period. After a very long journey, we were relieved to arrive at Pitanga, looking forward to some serious relaxation. Soon after check-in, I realised that my passport was missing. Denise and her parents (who were in town to help out over the christmas period) spent several hours calling the Rio airport, the taxi company and the embassy trying to locate my passport (i don't speak portugese). After not making any progress, Denise drove us to the police station to file a missing passport report.

Eventually, we were resigned to the fact that there was nothing else we could do that day, so we went to town to have dinner at a very good restaurant (also recommended by Denise). Halfway through dinner, Denise arrives at our table to tell us that the airport has called to inform us that my passport has been located and is ready for collection.....!!!! What a lifesaver. Given that it was christmas week, having to go and get a new passport from the embassy in Sao Paulo would have ruined our vacation plans.

Denise is very proud of her Pousada, and knows that it's the personal touch that people remember. For the price, I think the quality of the hotel is very good for Buzios, but in my experience, it's rare to find a person how is so genuinely helpful.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver ,canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

After reading all the reviews before we went to Vila Pitanga we were sure that we made the best and the right choice!

Denise the owner and the hostess can move mountains to hook you up from day trips to wonderful dinners tips.

The rooms are very nice and it was nice to wake up with the birds singing away..

Very good breakfast with a nice selection of brazilian music to enjoy.

The beach of Ferradura is just 15 minutes walk and the Rua das Pedras just the same.Great location a may add.

I recommend Vila Pitanga on a hart beat!!

We`ll definitely will be back!!!

thank you Denise for everything!

Give Ella a hug from us,

Karla&marc

  • Liked — every thing
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kastrupleal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Look no further! This is the place to be if you are going to Buzios.

My boyfriend and I stayed at Vila Pitanga for 10 days in december 2008, it was our first time in South America and the first stop on a 5 week trip around Brasil.

After a long, tiresome flight from Stockholm to Rio and another 2 hours car ride in pouring rain, it almost felt like coming home to a relative when we met Denise for the first time at Vila Pitanga.


Denise really makes an effort to help you in anyway she can...give good tips, book taxis, restaurants and cars...even helped finding a lost passport in Rio for a guest.
It rained a lot during our first days in Buzios, but Denise was very kind and concerning and she arranged so one of her friends took us for a sightseeing around the area one day - so we wouldn't feel too misreable.

The pousada itself is very clean and nice. Denise has a great staff working for her. Rooms are spacious and you have your own hammock outside. The breakfast area is nice and you will get some good brasilian music in the morning to your first cup of coffe.
A great start of the day.

From the pousada it's walking distance (10 min) to town center, bus stop to Rio and to one of the nicest beaches in Buzios.

What Vila Pitanga lack in terms of luxury, Denise well compensate in hospitality.


Denise sorry that we didn't had the time to help you put together that IKEA stuff - we hope to see you here in Sweden not to far away in the future.

/Isabella & Staffan

  • Liked — The owners conserne about her guests
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nathalie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2009

First things first, sorry it took me so long to get around to this review Denise!

Believe the tripadvisor hype people, Pousada Vila Pitanga really is as good as all these reviews would have you believe.

Spotlessly clean and spacious rooms with comfy beds, incredibly good value and most importantly a really welcoming vibe thanks to the owner Denise, Vila Pitanga was comfortably the nicest accommodation myself and my friend stayed in during our three week stay in Brazil.

Denise was hugely helpful, whether it was making scrambled eggs to soothe an irishman's hangover, arranging buggy-rental or giving tips on good restaurants, beaches, etc, etc.

So if you're considering travelling to Buzios, and you really should because it's a beautiful place, then staying in Pousada Vila Pitanga is a real no-brainer.

John & Brendan, Ireland.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sliotar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.0 mi away
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
#38 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buzios Centro Hotel
Buzios Centro Hotel
#35 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
#4 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#20 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pousada Barlavento
Pousada Barlavento
#48 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barla Inn
Barla Inn
#54 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Vila Pitanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Vila Pitanga

Property: Pousada Vila Pitanga
Address: Rua G4, number 6, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#8 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#15 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Vila Pitanga 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Pitanga is located in the exclusive area of Ferradura , with it`s beautiful bay. You are perfectly located close to the hustle and bustle of the centre, where you can enjoy a fabulous nightlife. Rooms are light, comfortable, modern and airy with beautiful views. All with TV, air-conditioning, fan and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Pousada Vila Pitanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Vila Pitanga Buzios
Pousada Vila Pitanga Hotel Buzios
Pousada Vila Pitanga Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing