We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair price for a wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Vila Pitanga
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fair price for a wonderful stay”
Reviewed January 6, 2009

My wife and I stayed at Vila Pitanga from 12/26/2008 to 01/02/2009 for New Year’s holidays. As always we checked TripAdvisor before selecting the hotel and Vila Pitanga was #1. Buzios is always full of tourists specially during the last days of the year (beginning of summer and new years eve parties!!) when hotels are full and prices are high. So, it was a big surprise when I saw the price of the 7 days package for the holidays. Due to the location, the reviews and the photos, it seemed to be a great deal. And it really was.

Vila Pitanga reflects the soul of its owner, Denise. A travelled architect with really good taste for decoration and music (she named her dog "Ella" after Ella Fitzgerald). Denise is very kind and helpful, we didn't regret following her dinner tips!

The location is perfect, far enough of the rush and noise but close enough of the best beaches and the restaurants/shopping area. At night, you can only hear the sound of nature...

The room is very comfortable and clean and so is the bathroom with hot shower and big mirror. Mine was in the ground floor and had a small backyard for hanging wet closes, but the ones in the first floor have a balcony with better view and hammocks instead.

Breakfast is not rich in variety, but everything is fresh. And you can ask for scrambled eggs and fresh squeezed orange juice prepared in minutes for you.

In summary, comfort, kindness, a fair price and cleanness in a beautiful place - it is all you need for a perfect vacation in Buzios.

  • Liked — Location, decoration and the kindness of the owner
  • Disliked — The street of the pousada is not yet paved
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Adriabreu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    186
    37
    8
    6
See reviews for
120
411
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Graz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2008

My stay at Villa Pitanga was probably unusually long, since my special interest in Buzios is to train BJJ there. As now already a habit I consulted tripadvisor and followed the advise given there. I spend a total of 10 days at Denises place ‘Villa Pitanga’.
Long story short, for the money you spend in that place it is most certainly worth it. The rooms are of a simple cleanness and room service works smoothly. The bathroom is generous and practical. For my personal taste the beds are a little bit soft; however that is a very individual judgment. My only suggestion and a small but necessary investment would be Mosquito nets. Make sure you bring your own, in case Denise did not yet install some, as suggested by me.
The big plus certainly compared to other places is the ample veranda in front of your door with quality hanging mats and an unspoiled view into lush and beautiful vegetation. Rooms upstairs have the better view.
The free Internet Service works uninterrupted and at a tolerable speed; additional services sold by Denise like Car and Taxi are worth the money. One gets the feeling that she carefully chooses her business partners.
Breakfast is simple but sufficient.
Every sophisticated person will feel comfortable at this generous building and impressed by the almost artistic choice of the owner concerning color and furniture, giving it a special touch of exclusivity.
All that for the price asked seems to be a very straight and fair offer and therefore there is from my side no hesitation at all to recommend this place.

  • Liked — View and Building
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank wolfipilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2008

My friends and I were looking for a easy-going place in Buzios. I contacted Denise and with couple email exchanges, we were all set with rooms for our August arrival.

I've have stayed at many posadas throughout Latin America and Denise's Vila Pitanga was by far the cleanest. Beds were fairly comfortable and the room even had a mini fridge. The place was walkin distance to one of the local beaches - Feradura. The property was gated which was great so we could park our rented car.

I didn't eat at the Vila because there are a ton of places in Buzios. I would recommend getting a car to explore however.

If you need a simple and safe place to sleep and enjoy Buzios, I recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurpleWaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2008

My boyfriend and I adored Vila Pitanga! The owner, Denise, is a brilliant pousada-owner and a lovely person (and perhaps helpful to many people, she speaks English fluently after living in the UK for years). Her background in architecture is apparent in the elegant/rustic/cozy design of the rooms and common spaces of the pousada. She is an excellent host who immediately oriented us to Buzios (I wish someone could have done that in every town we stayed in!) and gave us very good recommendations, including for vegetarian-friendly food and great live music. With a car, Vila Pitanga is five minutes from town and five minutes from one of Buzios's many beaches (Praia Ferradura, or Horseshoe Beach), but located in a more peaceful, scenic part of Buzios. (It is also walking distance from town and the beach, should you prefer.) The price/value combination are absolutely unbeatable. Buzios itself is a magical place with charming cobblestone streets filled with nice boutiques and restaurants, excellent live music, many different beautiful and fun beaches, and generally a really good kind of tourism providing lots to enjoy, all while maintaining its charm and soul. Vila Pitanga is a great spot from which to explore it, and Denise is an excellent guide to point you in the right direction.

  • Liked — hostess, decor, location, views, food, music
  • Disliked — no complaints!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank julieta_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Let me start by saying that the proprietess, Denise, could not have been any more friendly, helpful, attentive, and most importantly...cool! I had to arrange my trip via email as I was in Singapore when I booked it and Denise provided all the information I required in a timely and thorough manner. I'd never been to Brazil before but the instruction she provided made it incredibly easy.

The location and pousada were excellent. I spend most of the year in big corporate hotels and staying at Vila Pitanga immediately felt different. My room was comfortable (especially the bed!) and I felt totally at ease at once. There was no pressure to put a "do not disturb" sign on the door or to follow any set schedule at all. Denise provided useful advice on which beaches to visit, where to find live music, and great food.

If you want to feel at home in an amazing setting with lots of gorgeous wildlife, flowers and plants, and some of the world's most beautiful beaches, I heartily recommend the Vila Pitanga!

  • Liked — Location and beds
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anissa96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

I would certainly recommend Vila Pitanga to anyone looking for a quiet stay in a clean, well-run chalet-style room with all the basic amenities. I would also endorse many comments made by other reviewers about the warmth and professionalism of the host--Denise really is the property's major asset. It is probably worth mentioning that the property is about a 15 minute walk from the nearest beach (at Ferradura), but that means it is also walking distance from main centre around rua das piedras (about 15 minutes in the opposite direction), so it is well located (as long as the sun shines!), and taxis will pick you up and take you just about anywhere in Buzios for 10-15 reais if you are feeling lazy or if the rain won't let up.
Mac

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mac66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2008

My partner and I had the most amazing time in Brasil and in Buzios in particular--largely due to the amazing hospitality and friendliness of Denise--the owner of Vila Pitanga. Her recommendations were terrific and she suggested many OPTIONS for how we could spend our days. The Vila itself is quiet, comfortable, and rooms are simple but impeccably clean--5 minutes from the hustle and bustle--but far enough to enjoy hearing birds rather than people. I especially loved waking up early and heading to the hammock right outside our room to read, look out at the view or simply enjoy life of the Vila Pintaga garden--beautiful flowers, lizards and birds chirping.

Thank you Denise and team for a wonderful experience. We are already counting the months until we can return again. For those looking for guidance go ahead and book with Vila Pintaga--this is one of my first reviews ever.....

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iclement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.5 mi away
Azeda Boutique Hotel
Azeda Boutique Hotel
#14 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
508 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
#4 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
732 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buzios Centro Hotel
Buzios Centro Hotel
#38 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
#39 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#30 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barla Inn
Barla Inn
#55 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Vila Pitanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Vila Pitanga

Property: Pousada Vila Pitanga
Address: Rua G4, number 6, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#8 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#15 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Vila Pitanga 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila Pitanga is located in the exclusive area of Ferradura , with it`s beautiful bay. You are perfectly located close to the hustle and bustle of the centre, where you can enjoy a fabulous nightlife. Rooms are light, comfortable, modern and airy with beautiful views. All with TV, air-conditioning, fan and mini-bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Pousada Vila Pitanga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Vila Pitanga Buzios
Pousada Vila Pitanga Hotel Buzios
Pousada Vila Pitanga Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing