We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONT STAY HERE - NO MANAGEMENT TO SPEAK OF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pousada Corsario Buzios
Ranked #44 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“DONT STAY HERE - NO MANAGEMENT TO SPEAK OF”
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We stayed here for 3 days and were a party of 4. We booked 1 deluxe suite and a standard room.

-The deluxe suite was supposed to have a view but had none. While the pousada is on playa dos ossos, most of the rooms have no view, unlike 90% of pousadas in buzios.

-The shower and toilet in one of our rooms did not flush well, and after a 3 minute shower the water would back up and leave the entire bathroom puddled.

-The safe deposit boxes were old and rusty, and in one of our rooms it had to be replaced twice. They brought in a replacement the first night, but again this one did not work the second time we tried to open it.

-The place is also supposed to have internet access, as advertised, but this did not work in our room and we had to have one of the bell-boys come into our room for an hour and do some major tech work with the faulty router they had.

-The sauna was only open from 5PM-8PM every day. It didnt even have a functioning light bulb inside, making it very erie inside.

-The lady who was at the reception upon check in and check out (Marina), seemed more concerned with selling us on restaurants, tours and transportation arrangements than anything else. We had just arrived from Rio and were checking in when she asked us how much we had paid for our private transfer, and then offered her hook up which according to her was $20 reals cheaper. The way she approached this innapropriate and cheap. The same with restaurants - the couple of times we asked for recommendations she gave us a card with her name on the back (for us to hand at the restaurant) to this overpriced place called David's. She also tried to sell us on a schooner tour which seemed outrageously priced. Yet she was of no help in solving any of the problems I mentioned before. The rest of the time the front desk was manned by one of the bell boys, who while attentive visibly lacked training and pay.

Overall, the place lacks management and upkeep to let you relax like an upscale place should, which is the main point of buzios.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank misterop2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    98
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
89
113
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
rio de janeiro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Me and my boyfriend spend the new year's holiday in this wonderfull place! Absolutelly everything is fine: room, breakfast, location, facilities and infrastructure (pool, sauna, kids entertainment, etc)... Specially, we would like to say that the staff is perfect! Everybody is kind, very efficient and help you in whatever you need! Ossos beach is the best place to stay in Buzios: near everything but out of the crowded and noisy places of the center! The pousada also offered us a very nice dinner and party in the new year's eve in the Yatch Club of Buzios which is located in the same Ossos beach! If you are thinking in Buzios, stay in Pousada do Corsário!

  • Liked — location and staff
  • Disliked — internet facilities
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flavinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

Pousada do Corsário is a comfortable choice when visiting Búzios. I spent four nights there in March 2007. It's not perfect, so let me get the "bad" out of the way first. Breakfasts aren't as impressive as other places I've stayed at in Brazil. They're fine, just not amazing. The minibar is spartan... but at least there is one, and it has enough space for items you purchase elsewhere. For some reason a maid entered my room very, very late one night. She didn't knock, and I was half asleep. I screamed, she screamed, and then she quickly left. One day my room wasn't cleaned. When I asked about it at the front desk, I was told it was because I hadn't left my key. Well... I didn't leave my key the previous day and my room was cleaned, and the surprise maid obviously had a key to my room....

Now to the "good". The pousada grounds are very attractive, as are the rooms. The bathroom in my room was huge, the bed was extremely comfortable. Despite the situations I mentioned, I found the staff efficient and friendly in general. Sauna, game room, etc. Great pool, and the bar makes a very good caipirinha. One of the best things about the pousada is its location in front of picturesque Praia dos Ossos (where you can also find a very good caipirinha!). It's an easy walk to Azeda, Azedinha, and João Fernandes beaches. There are plenty of taxis nearby if you want to go to a different beach. It's also just a short stroll to the main village. Unlike many of the other "better" pousadas, Pousada do Corsário doesn't require a hike up a hill. I guess I could best describe the pousada as "pleasant".

Prices for Pousada do Corsário vary widely. I contacted the property directly, and was quoted prices in the stratosphere. Later I did a web search, and finally booked through agoda.com. The price was less than half the quote given to me by the pousada. So... I would be happy staying there again, assuming I found a decent price.

  • Liked — attractive facility, attractive room, location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chileboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2006

I stayed in Pousada Corsario between 11/18/06 to 11/20/06. The rooms are large, with a nice bathroom, large beds (queen size), eletronic safe and a nice TV. The standard rooms has a garden view the vip ones has ocean view. The location is terrific, in front of the Ossos beach, and very close to Azeda and Azedinha beaches. You can go walking to Pedras street, but it's a good walk (about 20 min.). The pool is right in front of the beach and has a beautiful view of it. The breakfast could be better but it's ok too.

I definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay there again for sure.


  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BrunoMagalhaes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
La Chimere
#3 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
688 reviews
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
177 reviews
Azeda Boutique Hotel
#14 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
#12 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
523 reviews
City Center
Pousada Byblos
Pousada Byblos
#41 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
308 reviews
City Center
Auberge de la Langouste
Auberge de la Langouste
#32 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Corsario Buzios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Corsario Buzios

Property: Pousada Corsario Buzios
Address: Rua Agripino de Souza 50 | Praia dos Ossos, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#26 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Corsario Buzios 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Com localizacao privilegiada, em frente a Praia dos Ossos e a 5 minutos da Rua das Pedras, A pousada Corsario, convida voce a descobrir os encantos que envolvem o clima magico de Buzios, o balneario mais famoso do mundo ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Pousada Corsario Buzios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Corsario Buzios
Pousada Corsario Buzios Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing