We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Simple Place, GREAT LOCATION but NO WIFI, Mediocre Bkfst, Sewage Smell in room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Ville La Plage
Ranked #28 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Simple Place, GREAT LOCATION but NO WIFI, Mediocre Bkfst, Sewage Smell in room”
Reviewed January 20, 2010

We just came back from Ville La Plage, Stayed in room 321, which had a GORGEOUS View. I'd like to warn fellow like minded travelers that this place is VERY simple. There is No Wifi, the walls are paper thin. The staff seems to earn minimum wage and doesn't seem very happy, our room smelled of sewage because of an open grid in the bathroom and probably a smelly sceptic tank connected to it, the AC is very noisy, the towels (even fresh) are pretty ugly and bad smelling. Breakfast is very mediocre by Brazilian standards, but the place you have it is very nice, by the pool with a nice view. WARNING to you workaholics. There is NO Wifi, there is one sole computer in the lobby, but most times the connection is not working. The Electric current in the rooms is Solar or something and it killed both my Blackberry and Cell phone and I pod. Bring your own battery powered Chargers if you can. Now, for the positive things: The view is DIVINE, the Location is on what I consider to be right on Buzios' BEST BEACH. They have their own beach club called Club La plage, where you can have lunch or dinner every day, right on the beach. Food at club la plage is fresh and delicious and reasonable, (figure under $ 30usd for a appetizer, main course, cocktail and coffee), they will give you Sun Umbrellas, and 2 beach towels and 2 chairs everyday (inc in price of Hotel) ( you MUST take the Sun umbrella because the Sun in Brazil scorches you more than anywhere else in the world). The other positive thing is that if you like to walk, you're a picturesque 15 city blocks away from Town's center, and it's a safe & very scenic walk. But if you're tired, they have a mini van - shuttle going every half hour as well. All and all, if you get a great rate on this place, stay here. If you're paying a lot you will be dissapointed. If you're spending New Years, they do a really nice party for New Years eve, at the beach club with a wonderful all you can eat Buffet and Music and Dancing and all in all the "Club La Plage" on the beach makes it the one thing truly worthwhile here.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ThePerfecti0nist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    202
    54
    10
    14
See reviews for
202
191
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lima
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

The hotel has a great view and location, near the beach and the club.
Breakfast has yo be improved, no variety. Rooms ok very clean and confortable, service ok, check in and check out fast, beach umbrellas and chairs not for everything guests, only one Internet computer and no wifi

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Just Arrived from our Buzios/Rio Vacations with my Girlfriend, we stayed in Ville La Plage in Buzios.

The Pousada is very nice, its located in Joao Fernandez beach, which I think is the best one in Buzios, restaurants and drinks in the beach are not more expensive than in others, in fact I think it's cheaper, at least in low season.

People who work there are always willing to help you, and they treat you very well, in fact we requested a room Change and they did it right away.

The Pousada has a Beach Club with a great pool, Beach Chairs, etc, if you want to stay away from insisting sellers is the best place to be, and believe me there are many people selling things in the beach and they are really insisting, some times it becomes annoying. We didn't have lunch nor dinner in the restaurant, however we went one night for drinks and appetizers, we ordered Fried Chicken, Squids, French Fries and Caipirinhas, we really didn't like the fried chicken but I think everyone has different tastes, all the other was good.

Rooms are not fancy, but comfortable, they have a good bed, air conditioning, clean bathroom, small TV with Cable, Safe Box and mini bar with Beer, Soft drinks and Water ( Off course not Cheap ). You also have the possibility to have room service, one night we ordered Pizza and French Fries and it was very good.

Stairs, be aware that at least half of the rooms are in a very high place, they have a great view, but you have to go through a lot of stairs, when we arrived they gave is one of the highest rooms, we didn't last much on it, we requested a Change, so if you are not in Great Shape ask for one of the lower rooms.

The Hotel has a room where you have a pool table, playing table and a big screen TV, very nice place.

Internet, well they have one computer with a slow connection, but it works if you want to check emails. There is no WiFi.

Breakfast, this is the weak point of the Pousada, they should really improve it, they have a poor variety, specially in hot plates, only scrambled eggs and really not good, I hope they improve this.

I recommend this pusada, after all is very good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Córdoba, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2006

I was planning my trip with my girlfriend to Buzios, we went there the
first 2 weeks of february 2006. My 2 choices were Brava Hotel or
Pousada Ville La Plage at Joao Fernandez beach. We choosed Pousada Ville la
Plage, and I must say I dont regret it. We rented a buggy, the best way
to know buzios and we went to all beaches and we saw all the hotels
around. First of all is very true that the web page of Brava is very cool,
but the Hotel outside doesn´t look that nice (this apply to 75% of the
hotels), the beach is ok not too much people, I DIDN´T SEE ANY GAY
COUPLES, but I did see some nudist!!! I highly recomend this Hotel to
someone who wants to be isolated from the crowd.
Our Hotel was great. All of the rooms have ocean view, air-co is great,
they are clean, we saw some ants the first day and after reporting,
they sent someone, and the problem was solved. The bathroom, is quite big
it has hair dryer and the water pressure is perfect.
Breakfast was great, but for us Argentine people Brazilian and American
breakfast are quite the same, because we dont eat that much at
breakfast. Eggs, bacon, coffee, cereals, yogurt, bread, ham, cheese, fruits,
juice, etc. etc.....enough...
A bad thing? stairs... lot of them, but this apply to almost all the
good hotels in this destination, but this is good for exercise!! =P

The best thing of this Hotel was that it was just in front of the
beach, not many of the Hotels are and trust me when they say 100 mts from
the beach its 100 mts across the mountain (up hill and down)...
This Hotel has also a Club La Plage, a beach club where you can chill
on a cool pool in front of the beach after a full day on the sea and a
great spa-sauna, gym and playroom. It also has a Restaurant and beach
service (including free towels) that you can add to your hotel bill, no
need to take money to the beach, just a few bucks to buy somethings to
the locals on the beach.
After seing all beaches I must say I prefered ours because of the
service at the club la plage and it was a lot of fun. We also enjoyed Brava
Beach and Ferradura even dow this last one has very cold water...But
they don´t have the beach service like Joao Fernandez.
Ville La Plage Hotel also have Free transfer in/out to Buzios downtown
until midnight.
You will find a lot of things to do here, The 2 things I highly
recomend to do is to rent a buggy, and to go to Arraial do cabo excursion,
it´s a fantastic place...
Don´t get fooled by the web, spend a few bucks more but you will see
the differences, my friend who traveled with his girlfriend and us, went
to POUSADA MYKONOS and he hated it after seeing our pousada, their was
awfull.
U.S Tourists: Dont ask for english at the Hotel as we didnt ask for
spanish, dont pay in Us Dollars (they will accept them) as we didn´t pay
in Argentine Pesos, This is BRAZIL, enjoy buzios!!!!!!!
*VILLE LA PLAGE CLUB IS ALSO FOR POUSADA LA FORTET GUESTS.
THIS IS FOR US THE BEST CHOICE IN BUZIOS.

POUSADA VILLE LA PLAGE: www.lp-lf.com.br/enesp-vlp.htm
RUA 01 QUADRA "B" LOTES 39 E 40 , JOAO FERNANDES, BUZIOS RIO DE JANEIRO.

Helpful?
27 Thank tomazcba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Foret
Hotel La Foret
#20 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
693 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
La Boheme Hotel e Apart Hotel
#12 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#7 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Colonna Park Hotel
Colonna Park Hotel
#43 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
#36 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rio Buzios Beach Hotel
Rio Buzios Beach Hotel
#16 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ville La Plage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ville La Plage

Property: Hotel Ville La Plage
Address: Rua 11 Quadra, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#22 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#29 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Ville La Plage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Ville La Plage is located at the famous beach of Joao Fernandes and of Club La Plage (recreation area by the sea that caters to hotel guests). The heated infinity pool is an invitation to relax and enjoy a delicious drink. This hotel has a very rich leisure area with free wi-fi in the pool and the breakfast room, and computer with free internet access, TV room, pool, playroom and games for children, baby cup, lounges around the pool area to relax and read a book. All this overlooking the magnificent sea of ​​Joao Fernandes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ville La Plage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ville La Plage Buzios
Hotel Ville La Plage Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing