We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in a wonderful town”
Review of Vila d'este

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vila d'este
Ranked #7 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in a wonderful town”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our stay in Buzios was fantastic. We started off in Rio for a few days, and then came to Buzious for our honeymoon. First off Buzios is a great town, and a place I would recommend to all travellers who are in Brazil . The staff at Vila d'Este are very friendly, all speak english spanish and Portuguese, and will do anything they can to help make your stay comfortable. There rooms are very nice, with good beds, and are very clean. The location is perfect, as you are about 150 metres from the pier and all the best restaurants, shopping, and nighliife that buzios has to offer. We would definitely recommend this to other travellers and hope to visit again one day soon.
There's a beautiful view of the ocean from their infinity pool that is great for sunsets.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the upgraded rooms, if you can splurge for the master suite you won't be disappoin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jpo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILA_DESTE, Gerente at Vila d'este, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments ! They are really important to us.

We hope to receive you very soon!

Best Regards,

Thiago Azeredo
Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    112
    25
    12
    14
See reviews for
44
494
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I traveled to Brazil for the first time a couple of weeks ago (Dec, 2012). We landed and stayed in Rio for 4 days. While it was great - there was no time for relaxing - there was just too much to see and do. So when we got to the small town of Buzios and then found that our new adventure was complete with the most delightful and quiet hotel we could not have been more grateful and excited.

We had one of the rooms over the pool (12). And it was perfect. The white certainly gives you a calm feeling. It was not the biggest and most luxurious we have seen, but it was super clean (and you know it always will be... being all white there is no alternative). The bathroom and shower left something to be desired, but you aren't there for the bathrooms. The bed was soft and comfortable. There was an awesome fan above the bed that we loved, however, to turn it on you had to give it a good hard tweak. So it was a bit in disrepair. The same can be said for the blue tiled pool. Some of the tiles are falling off. So while from far away it looks just incredible, there are some repairs needed to be made to make it perfect - as it stands it just feels a bit old. Sometimes the pool area filled up quite quickly and there was no room for us to sit out by the pool, but during the week we had it to ourselves - which was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful! Just a note on their child policy: we love kids but were so disappointed in Rio when we couldn't swim because of the massive game of Marco/Polo going on in their pool, so we were actually quite grateful that we were able to enjoy a nice quiet time at this hotel without yelling and screaming (there is a time and place and a honeymoon is not the time and place). I agree with other reviewers that the hotel is perfectly located.

Side Note: The "buggy" company recommended to us by the hotel really left us disappointed. The guy was very nice and spoke English, however the buggy we got had no power steering (not sure if that is normal) and the clutch, gas and brakes had no rubber on them. So driving it was very difficult and when we looked in other buggies they seemed to have both power steering and rubber pedals. I had a huge bruise on my shin from my foot slipping off the clutch at one point (rubber would have prevented that).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSFTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

What is homemade hospitality? I'm still not sure because to be honest I thought the service was pretty average- definately not bad- but I won't remember this place for the service. What I will remember is the stunning view and perfect location. The character of this place is immense- I love the door on the street- the staircase up to the hotel- its all very unique and beautiful. We had room 6 which tbh was not great- small and ha a view of a wall- but then again I didn't really care because the character of the place is so good. Maybe the room wasn't great cos the rate was cheap and we got last room. At risk of sounding fussy there were a couple of things which were a little annoying- e.g not having the grape variety on the wine list and the rated pool being surrounded by stones which were v painful to walk across - I just mention because it is so close to being a really great hotel. So in conclusion not perfect. It if I ever return to buzios I will be booking in again.

Room Tip: Don't have room 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean180183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

From the moment we arrived at Vila D’est the hospitality and personal touch was very evident. We had spent the past 10 days travelling round Brazil and were looking forward to a relaxing end to our honeymoon in Buzios – and Vila D’est didn’t fail to deliver.

The room we had (11) had a lovely view over the bay, with a very comfortable bed. The room was very clean, had nice dressing gowns and also had pool towels provided, along with very fresh bath/face towels (an important need, sometimes overlooked). Breakfast was served buffet style in the very nicely positioned restaurant with an attention to detail paid to the food.

The staff from cleaners, bar, restaurant and reception we’re very polite, courteous and offered a very good service.

I could not recommend Vila D’est or Buzios highly enough, and if it was a European destination we would certainly be visiting it yearly.

There are 2 pools (one kept warm year round), and the view from the sun lounger is simply beautiful. Although we did not use the spa facility there were various massages on offer.

The positioning of Vila D’est is also a great appeal as it is perfectly positioned in Armação dos Búzios, with the main resort centre is less than 10 mins walk along the sea front away. If you are lucky enough to catch the fishing boats returning with their morning catch you will see sea turtles waiting near the pier to collect the off cuts and plenty of other wild marine life.

Room Tip: The rooms with a superior sea view are well worth the extra. Alternative there are a couple of execu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelson1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VILA_DESTE, Gerente at Vila d'este, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words !

It is very important for us to know that our service achieved expectations.

The best compliment for us is knowing that you will return. You are always welcome.

kind Regards,

Thiago Azeredo
Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The logo on staff shirts is 'handmade hospitality' and this appellation is absolutely correct in terms of the top-of -the range staff service and hospitality we experienced.There are only 15 rooms, so it is a very personal place to stay. Nice welcome drink on the pool deck, beautiful room with its own little courtyard, nice toiletries(l'occitaine), bathrobes, very comfortable double bed, efficient air conditioning.Lovely lounge and reception areas-like being in someone's luxury home. Views from the hotel are spectacular, and we were fond of the outdoor jacuzzi right above the sea. Staff go about their work in a friendly ,quiet manner.Organised a deep tissue massage one day in the treatment room-----excellent therapist who unknotted all those tired joints.

On the famous Orla Bardot (hotel entrance almost directly behind Brigitte Bardot's famous bronze statue), the town centre and a host of amenities and good restaurants and shops are a few minutes walk away.Very pleasant lunches in the restaurant, and the breakfast buffet offered a tasty range of hot and cold items.

|Free internet and a separate r0om for guest usage of desktop computers. As a crecent reviewer stated , we too were sorry to leave!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welford54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My two sisters and i stumbled onto this hotel while in Buzios in late July and what a find! It was the last leg of our trip and we were looking forward to some beach time and relaxing. This place was perfect! We stayed four nites and got a great rate and fantastic service! The slogan is 'handmade hospitality' which really shines thru. Everyone person on every shift helped us with anything we needed - Whether it was kite surfing reservations or just helping with directions or a great place to eat - they were always available and happy to help. It's so charming and beautiful with about 15 rooms so it's like your own piece of paradise. There are trees and plants throughout the property complete with a stylish decor. The two pool areas are big and comfortable with AMAZING views. The steam room is an added bonus! They have spa services as well although we never used them. Everything is kept very clean throughout the hotel and in the rooms. The beds were comfy and there are nice lotions and soaps in the bathroom with robes and soft towels. The complimentary breakfast was something we looked forward to every morning. Delicious! Oh, and the location really can't be beat! It's a short walk to where you want to be! Really! We have traveled alot of places in the world and this was one of the nicest places we have stayed!
Thank you Vila Deste!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just amazing. This was spectacular. The welcome made us feel like celebrities - from the desk, to the petals on our beds and (given that the hotel was mostly empty) having the beautiful facilities (jacuzzi, steam room, candlelit bar) almost to ourselves. It is trendy and classy with a beautiful view over Buzios bay; truly a stunning place to be.

Room Tip: It IS worth paying the extra for a better room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFC_Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.0 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
0.4 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#6 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#14 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Perola Buzios Hotel
Perola Buzios Hotel
#13 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pousada Santorini
Pousada Santorini
#2 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila d'este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila d'este

Property: Vila d'este
Address: Alto Do Humaita, 11, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#7 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Vila d'este 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vila d’este is an exclusive beautiful Italian-style property which enjoys gorgeous views of the ocean. It is full of charm and elegant touches, both in the public areas and in the rooms. Beautiful handcrafts pieces carefully placed around, creating magic scenaries.Only 15 individually decorated rooms’ guarantees a calm and relaxing stay. The Sunset Bar & Restaurant Egeo offers delicious Brazilian breakfast and Mediterranean cuisine with fine wines, as well as stunning sea views – perfect for an evening meal as the sun goes down. A romantic touch is given by candle lightening. Two ocean front swimming pools at different levels, one of them heated and beautifully shell shaped, with hidromassage area and connected with an ocean view steam. The fancy solarium is the perfect place to read a book while taking a traditional capirinha drink.Relax & massage lounge, that’s surrounded by tropical gardens, ready to offer several massage styles. Business Center with two computers available 24 hours with internet free.A delightful Master Ocean Front Suite with private Jacuzzi and fine décor; ideal choice for honeymooners. Vila d’este is within walking distance of the bars, restaurants and shops of Buzios’ Rua das Pedras Main Street and the best beaches in the surrounding area are also within easy reach. One of Vila d´este highlights is its staff and service. Brazilian warm hospitality is a must here. A word to define Vila d´este would be LOVE. Love can be appreciated in every single detail and attitude, creating a smooth atmosphere. Facilities:Restaurant • bar & pool bar • lounge • sundeck • pool • heated pool • steam • massage lounge • free internet business center & wireless area • laundry service • local information & tours ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vila d'este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila d`Este Hotel Buzios
Vila d Este Buzios
Vila D'este Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing