We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, accident in the sauna and no help from the staff”
Review of Pousada Byblos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pousada Byblos
Ranked #41 of 103 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible service, accident in the sauna and no help from the staff”
Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed in Buzios for the Festival de Cinema, all my team stayed there and we had lots of different problems. They had men working with lots of noise during all the weekend, not all the rooms were ready when we arrive and they suggest to part of the team to go to another hotel because they had an overbook.Besides all that, the worst and traumatic part was that I had an accident in the sauna with a 2nd degree burn, it was pretty bad with a big blister in my leg and great pain. No one in the hotel offer me ANY help, even when I talked to the manager and the owner. They not even paid for the drugstore bill or offer to call a doctor. I had to come back to Rio fast and go to a hospital. DONT STAY THERE. There is a great hotels in Buzios like Perola, Casas Brancas and lots of others.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneOliveira77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    119
    45
    12
    8
See reviews for
78
160
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

this was our honeymoon and it was unforgetable!!!, we had decided to go to buzios even though we were unable to get a package we booked seperates through sta, after a nightmare of swopped flights then our luggage lost by the air line we were welcomed by the friendly staff at the hotel and shown to a spotless, freshly painted room with a fantastic view.

the locality of the hotel is great, it is just 5 mins walk past all the amazing restaurant to the centre/pier area then past there are the bars. you can take water taxis from the pier to the neighbouring beaches, which we did every other day.

we loved the tranquility of it all but also enjoyed, surf lessons on geriba beach and snorlking in jose fernades beach. you can do as much as little as you like but best of all was eating out with all the amazing food, the options were endless and we never had a bad meal.

yes the hotel is small but it means you get to know all the staff and vice versa. very few staff speak perfect english but we mangaged just fine and they try! we brits need to acknowledge we choose to go to the most fantastic corners of the earth and expect everyone to speak english! even though it was not there responsibility it was them who spent hours and days trying to track down our luggage and emailing people whilst we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shandy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByblosBuzios, Public Relations Manager at Pousada Byblos, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind comments and suggestion we are already taking care of this important detail to improve our quality service. Hoping to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

We went to Buzios to atemd a wedding and stayed in Byblos as recommended by the bride's parents.

I think the hotel is cute..clean...and as some customer said the staff is friendly enough letting us having our privacy.

I also want to comment about the fact that part of the staff doesnt speak english.I agree that they should provide us someone to understand the foreigners but lets remember that once in US if the FOREIGNERS DOESNT speak their language...they wont speak the foreigners language too..no matter in what fancy hotel you are...

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robjota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByblosBuzios, Public Relations Manager at Pousada Byblos, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
We are very happy to receive your comments, thank you very much for your kind comments, about your suggestions we are already taking care of this important detail to improve our quality service. Hoping to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

This hotel has a great view but the room was small and the bed was extremely hard. I also had a pre-arranged reservation with a good price but upon arrival I was handed a guest registration form to fill out and was charged the usual security deposit to my credit card.
Upon checkout I was told I only had to pay for the mini-bar items and the rest was covered by the deposit. I found out three days later I had been charged the rack rate and the reservation was misteriously "cancelled"...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n87333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByblosBuzios, Public Relations Manager at Pousada Byblos, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
We are already taking care of this important details to improve our quality service. Sorry for any misunderstanding, which you may be sure, are already solved. Hope to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I have been to Buzios 5 years ago, so was keen to return, to see if it had changed. It has changed, but for the better! It is a lively town, with great sophisicated restaurants, bars etc. I did not realise the position of Pousada Byblos before I arrived, but could not have been more pleased with the location. It is above the main street, on the hillside and is reached directly from the street, via a spiral staircase, or by raod, for the less mobile. Perfect for feeling part of the excitement, but above it all for relaxation. Our room had fantastic views and was spotless, with a very large bed. It had character and was always spotless. Our experience of the staff was great. They did tend to seem a little 'distant', but this turned out to simply be non-interferring. As soon as they were asked for or about anything, they immediately obliged well beyond the call of duty, with enthusiasm and displaying local knowledge. I think that some may interpret this as disinterest, but in fact is discreet friendly service, I wish that everywhere that I stay could achieve the same level of friendly service! I thoroughly recommend the Pousada!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByblosBuzios, Public Relations Manager at Pousada Byblos, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
We are very happy with your comments and we would like to thank you for your kindness. We are always trying to improve our quality service. Hope to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Do not get blinded by the great terrasse shown on their site (which indeed is terrific). Rooms are strange, very noisy and not comfortable. Bed is mini, pool also small. Worst part is service: takes long, never get a smile, all guest around shared this opinion. Are they closing down the place next week and will loose their job ? Do the employees not get paid ?

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPTeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByblosBuzios, Public Relations Manager at Pousada Byblos, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Thank you very much for your usefull comments we are already taking care of this important team details to improve our quality service. Hope to welcome you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mtndreaming
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2009

We couldn't afford to stay where we wanted (which ended up being right next door). After an awful trip into Buzios I arrived at the pousada with a headache and found out our room was right next to construction happening at the hotel next door. The staff was great and we were moved right away. We stayed in the MAR room and the view was amazing. The view from the shower was a great surprise. The staff was very helpful. Our room was always spotless. After leaving Buzios we went to Rio and for the rest our trip wished we were back in Buzios. We never used the pool but we did enjoy the outdoor lounge area. It was a quick walk to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtndreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ByblosBuzios, Public Relations Manager at Pousada Byblos, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
All time we receive comments like yours we stayed very proud with all our efforts to be better every day. Thank you very much and hoping to host you in a next visit to Búzios.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
City Center
Auberge de la Langouste
Auberge de la Langouste
#32 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
249 reviews
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#25 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
540 reviews
Vila D'este
#6 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perola Buzios Hotel
#13 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
823 reviews
Hotel El Cazar
#67 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
118 reviews
Abracadabra Pousada
#8 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Byblos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Byblos

Property: Pousada Byblos
Address: Rua Alto do Humaita, 14, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios > City Center
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#35 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Byblos 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Byblos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Byblos Buzios
Pousada Byblos Hotel Buzios
Pousada Byblos Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing