We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 to 1 service”
Review of Hotel El Cazar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel El Cazar
Ranked #66 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2008

The most spectacular views from hotel room. Hotel was empty though, so service was 1 to 1 :-) great having a whole hotel area to yourselves. If this hotel had a spring clean, a new lick of paint and fresher food it would be awesome.

1  Thank 26Sandalwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 122 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed here last week. We had the master suite 1 (Rm 207) (the nicest room with largest balcony). It was a little vacant for the week, so everything was quiet. The room was really nice with older charm. The service was great (the people are nice). The breakfast was great too. The location is prime for getting around, and once we learned about the secret entrance/exit along the ocean, we did not have to walk up the big hill to get into our place. The room looked a lot like the pictures, and we were not disappointed. We paid about $220 night, which is more expensive than the normal room in Buzios for this time, but it was ok.

We had a shower/Jacuzzi in our room. Because the place was vacant, it took about 10 minutes for the hot water to reach us. We thought that there would be no issue if there were others staying at the hotel (which would keep the hot water running to all of the rooms). There was also an issue whereby the water would leak onto the bathroom floor if we did not put a towel at the door, but that one was minor.

The only downside was that there are about 10 dogs that live in a house across the street. They seemed to bark a lot, including early morning. In the US, you would get a court order to force the dogs to stay inside (under the nuisance laws). Apparently that is not possible in Buzios.

Be careful with the add-on costs. We were charged about $50 (US) to do a little laundry that would normally cost $20 in the very best US hotels. They also charge about $150 (US) each way to pick you up from the airport. I am sure that it can be done for less. These are voluntary charges, so you do not have to pay them if you do not want to.

Overall, we enjoyed the stay a lot. The hotel has a lot of personality, and my negative comments are just pointing out things to help others to weigh the worst stuff (when compared to a really nice place).

The good thing is that the reservation process was very positive with the managers. They were very accommodating.

I hope that this very honest review is helpful for others. Buzios is a great place. The funny things that happened on our trip will create some great memories for us (a lot of which come from our stay at this hotel).

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RichardMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2006

the community of Buzios is unusually friendly, and one host responded to an unexpectedly cancelled reservation by suggesting that we try this new boutique hotel. The inn's convenient location is overlooking the sea, and an easy walk from popular local restaurants. One co-owner breezily announced, "I've made an executive decision to give you a larger room for the lowest price," then plied us with useful suggestions on everything from where to get business flyers printed on Sunday to where to find the best seafood. There are two elegant Master suite and a dozen beautiful guest rooms (which also feature full baths, large televisions, and very comfortable beds). Best of all, in this city of costly parking, is the free parking in the inn, and a very attentive (and filling) breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Titio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2006

Just got back from our trip to Rio and Buenos Aires.
We stayed at posada El Cazar for 3 nights.
El Cazar has a beautiful location, but they price is too high, we played $200 U.S.plus 21% tax and10% service was added on to our bill at the end.

.
The posada is in desperate need of some improvements. The rooms are small, dark, musty, no English t.v. only Brazilian,
tiny bathroom and a "shower" which consisted of a red shower head sticking out of a wall. There was a large amount of mold in the shower and the towels are old and gray similar you would find at a two star hotels. No curtain, no shower door. The air conditioning was old and loud. Definitely not worth $250 U.S a night.
Posada next door Byblos is not any better ..Lousy rooms with good view as locals call it” favela Byblos.”
Perhaps Buzios was good in times of BB but now shows its age ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,just like BB herself .
Buzios was a real downer, not worth the side trip from Rio.
One can go to Barra just outside Rio and enjoy good food, beach and new 5 star hotels like hotel Windsor Barra or brand new Sheraton Barra for a lot less.
Zio

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank zio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
london
13
Reviewed January 4, 2006

excellent hotel, very friendly staff, amazing view, clean tidy, amazing pool area. great place to loose your inhabitions... and of course look ut for the special dog ´Fredy` what a lovely dog pug he is !

Stayed: January 2006
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Texas
15
Reviewed November 30, 2005

We spent 4 days at this fantastic Hotel after a near disaster at another hotel in the area. We loved El Cazar, the staff, the little dog, the Turtles, and the owner who went out of their way to accompany my wife and son to the local hospital to help remove sea urchen spindles wedged in his foot. I would recomend this hotel to anybody and we plan to return - soon.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
new york
16
Reviewed June 1, 2005

my wife and i spent 1 week at the El Cazar Hotel . This hotel is every one's dream vacation and the wondrefull staff makes you want to come back soon .
Great ameneties,super view makes this hotel a little paradis.
Nancy and Phil .

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
City Center
Pousada Byblos
Pousada Byblos
#47 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
317 reviews
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
218 reviews
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#15 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
519 reviews
Abracadabra Pousada
#11 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
569 reviews
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
#35 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cazar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cazar

Address: Alto do Humaita n. 6 | Humaita, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#37 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: $177 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel El Cazar 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For your comfort and leisure, the Hotel El Cazar offers several comfortable areas, reading and game rooms, a fully equipped Home Theatre, a bar with a finely selected wine cellar, a swimming pool overlooking the bay, and a restaurant with a rich and varied menu, offering healthy home made or traditional food, including, of course, the famous local fish and seafood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel El Cazar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cazar Hotel
Hotel El Cazar Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing