We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some magic for a Honey Moon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abracadabra Pousada
Ranked #7 of 103 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Some magic for a Honey Moon”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Late but safe. We couldn`t to miss this opportunity to recommend this “Pousada” where we spent our honeymoon: Abracadabra. His name does not betray, it has magic.
The spacious and very comfortable room, as well as it restaurant and pool, had a paradise bay view.
Breakfast is as it is shown in the brochures: tasty & varied bakery, fruits, juices, varied cuisine, excellent service and a wide view of the bay. The scene is completed by a worm morning weather and freshener music.
Its restaurant "Mystic" deserves special award. I`m pretty sure it must be one of the best restaurants in Buzios. We were lucky to have been while chef Jose changed menu. Jose used to leave the “art workshop” and walk around asking people`s opinion. I strongly recommend not to think about slimming down on this trip…... it doesn`t mean you cant!!, I mean you shouldn`t.
In the evening, when back from the beach, we used to have an apetizer, a good drink and take a bath in the pool waiting for the sunset….frankly incredible!!! It was usual to find other guests doing this same thing and ending up sharing stories and having a good time with people of all ages and places around the world. The pool´s design has an artistic flair that invites you to think it goes into the sea .... a very nice touch.
One final comment about it´s location. Abracadabra is close to several beaches and downtown (maximum 10 minutes walk).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Federico T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    117
    12
    5
    12
See reviews for
76
371
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Abracadabra recently from March 24 - 27th. We had a wonderful stay. The view is amazing from the pool deck. Breakfast was good. My favorite were the croissants. The staff here is very friendly and English speaking. You can use their sister property to get down to the main area of Buzios - Orla Bardot. Here you will find many restauarants and shops. It's a nice walk and fun to people watch.

Our room was clean and well kept, turn down service was a nice touch as well. Overall, this place met our expectations!

Hotel staff can arrange activities for you. We took a 3 hour boat tour with 3 stops at which you could snorkel. The tour was not in English however, but we still enjoyed it. It was a nice sunny day and not crowded at all.

Room Tip: We had room 5, smaller but nice size shower and view of pool and bay from patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdesaipatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

After staying in the 5 star sister property (Casas Brancas) a couple years ago I was eager to see how the 4 star property would measure up. After a a few nights there last week I would rate it just about as good as the 5 star property and a better overall value. The hotels are nearly identical really and the outside area at Abracadabra is actually better imo than Casa Brancas. It's a bit smaller and the rooms aren't quite as nice but they are still very good and comfortable for a 4 star hotel. In this hotel it definitely is worth paying for a room with an ocean view as there is a massive difference being on the ocean side of the hotel versus the other side of the hotel i think. Breatfast and service was great. Will definitely come back and also refer others to this property in the future.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gring0B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent 5 nights here. Our first room was very small - as it is a boutique hotel rooms vary even though same rate. As it was the weekend we could not change but on the Monday we met up with Marco the manager who patiently listened to us. He then studied the room situation and offered us an upgrade to the sister hotel Casa Brancas that day or to a better room at Abracadabra for the next night. We opted for the latter as Abracadabra is a more intimate hotel . He also gave us a complimentary dinner at the hotel restaurant. So we cannot complain. He did say the hotel will be refurbished and rooms changed in the near future but be warned some standard rooms are small and for us this was not what we were used to.
The infinity pool is lovely and the hotel has a mediterranean feel to it with lovely furnishings to the public rooms. Bar staff are Agentinian and young and friendly. My only gripe was that at times the music in the bar and pool area could be either too loud or had that monotonous tuneless base rhythm to it. Breakfasts were good but quite small selection on offer. Elizabeth at reception was very kind and sympathetic and always had a lovely smile to greet you. . Buzios is busy at weekends and every day one or two cruise liners drop anchor and ferry boat loads of people across. It is a pretty town very like St. Tropez. If you go down the road from the hotel and turn right you will find a quieter part of Buzios and there is an epic small restaurant which has its own fish shop attached called O Barco. It does sublime fresh lobster and other fish at a very reasonable price. Brava beach is good for snorkelling and also Azeda. We enjoyed our stay and had a very chilled relaxed time there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubygertz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I had 3 nights here in February (wish it has been more) I can honestly not fault this place! Room 18 comes highly recommended for waking up to stunning panoramic views. Ok the room is not the hugest but who cares. Every member of staff we spoke to were amazing and so helpful - nothing was too much trouble, we were also allowed a really late check out the day we departed at 4pm which was great. The breakfast was lovely and was nice to be able to chose from a menu too for your hot items and get them fresh. The bakery products were amazing especially the Madeleine's.
As everyone has mentioned you walk to town is easy and if you are considering Casa Branca’s then I think this place has the edge. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant at Abracadabra but kind of wish we had now as the places in town are nothing special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maniacnumber1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Good hotel and well located. Quiet and extremely relaxing, short walk from Centro and all the shops and restaurants. Good size room and bathroom, clean and well furnished - amazing view every morning over the balcony and the bay (Room 18). Great pool area with sunbeds and infinity pool looking out over the bay - reasonably quiet due to the small number of rooms and much better pool area than its adjacent 'parent' hotel - Casa Blancas next door. Excellent staff most speaking good english. Good breakfast in Mistico restaurant next to the pool and a good spot for lunch and dinner if don't fancy the short stroll into town. Town accessed either through Casa Blancas or down the road to the 'cheaper' end of the bay. Large choice of restaurants and bars at both ends and great place for sunset stroll and a few drinks before dinner. Beaches in the area can be accessed by walk/cab or water taxi from the jetty.Potential for noise from the nightclubs on the strip at weekends (some other reviews have noted) as the superior rooms are on the hillside directly above the clubs - we were there during the week and only noticed (slightly) on Friday night. Pool area great spot to watch the sunset with a cocktail (sometimes free). Not a lot to do in Buzios except relax/shop/eat & drink but a great end to our hectic South American trip. Transfers back to Rio International can be arranged through 1001 reps in town and at R80 a lot cheaper than other transfers or private hire - more cash for the cocktails. No TV in our room (18) but there is in others - not that it bothered us as the view was more than enough to compensate. Be mindful of the mozies - comes with the territory.

Room Tip: Limited number of rooms with sea view (Superiors)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

When we arrived we were met by Elizabeth, who was smily, friendly and immediately made us feel welcome and was a sign of amazing service to come. Check in was fast and she gave lots of very useful tips. Her knowledge and recommendations were great for the whole time we were in Buzios.

Our room was modern, perfectly clean, and very pretty. The bathroom had a lovely glass wall which was a nice touch.
This was our engagement holiday and they left the most amazing fruit basket in our room to congratulate us - thank you so much for this, we really loved it.

Walking into the hotel I was speechless. The infinity pool which overlooks the sea was the best view I have ever seen in a hotel.

The service was second to non. All staff we came across were so friendly, chatty, helpful and always in good spirits. Dino who worked in the bar and restaurant had amazing service and made us feel very at home, and Augstin genuinely made the best caipirinhas in Brazil.

The breakfast was fantastic and so fresh - and the ladies who served breakfast were very attentive and again the service was great.

The restaurant Mistico had lovely for lunch and dinner.

Our experience can only be described as a week in paradise we really didn't want to leave, so much so we extended our stay by 4 more days.

We would like to sincerely thank all the staff and congratulate them on such an amazing hotel, its so nice to see a place run so well.

Room Tip: the view is so amazing, if you can get a sea view it will be incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.3 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
930 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pousada Santorini
Pousada Santorini
#2 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
452 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#19 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
723 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#11 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abracadabra Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abracadabra Pousada

Property: Abracadabra Pousada
Address: Alto do Humaita, 13 | Centro, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 2895-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#7 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#8 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Abracadabra Pousada 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abracadabra is a unique and exclusive spot, set in the charming and sophisticated peninsula of Buzios, 180 km from Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is located only five minutes away from the heart of town and it features wonderful scenery, an idyllic terrace, a true manifestation of charm in a paradisiac setting. Our goal is to provide our guests an aesthetic harmony, casualness and true pleasure with a professional personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Abracadabra Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abracadabra Pousada Buzios
Abracadabra Pousada Hotel Buzios
Abracadabra Pousada Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing