We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Queue????” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Vinci

Da Vinci
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Queue????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Could not understand why there was a queue outside this particular restaurant most evenings. Yes the prices are certainly below average for the area but the service and the quality of the food was very poor when we had lunch there on our first day in Buzios - must have missed something!!!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Howard-Moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    149
    136
    70
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Long queue doesn't mean anything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We came to this restaurant in the evening and had a table outside. The prices were very good in comparison to the nearest restaurants.
After we ordered the food we noticed that many people came and there was a long queue. We decided that this was because the restaurant is very good. There were approximately 50 people in a queue, like in the cinema to watch the new film.
The food was good enough. The meat is tasty and the shrimps in oil and garlic are okay. Caipirinha cocktail is almost perfect and costs only 7.50 BRL.
It is not very pleasant to eat outside because of people around you waiting for the table.
Wheh we came for the second time there was a queue again. And we found out that this restaurant serves people from different hotels or something like that - some kind of vaucher system. But if you are not from the list (the manager has a list of people to come) , they provide a table without waiting in a queue.
The food is simple but tasty and it is not overpriced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 507MariaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What is all the fuss about?!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We walked past here every night and there was literally a queue of no less that 20 people waiting in the street every night for this restaurant. We decided to go for lunch here one day to see what the fuss was about. Inside was fairly rundown and there were lots of flies everywhere! The menu was standard. The service was ok and the food was ok. I don't understand the queues at all?! I would say this place is average at best and due to the flies and slightly dirty feel, even below average!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
89 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Confused by the long line....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

This restaurant (which seems to be a franchise of sorts as there is more than one) had a long line in front of it on three evenings throughout the evening. However, the food was awful, service poor and atmosphere was average. The price was low in comparison to other restaurants in the area. I had steak and it was very tough throughout with the exception of about two bites. In looking back, most in the queue seemed to be from Brazil or Argentina. Must have been the price driving the business.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Venus-David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Leonardo in Buzios...............”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Liked the food, especially fish food. Not so brilliant the desserts. Good table service. Price average, not budget. ......

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Vinci also viewed

Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 

Been to Da Vinci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing