We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very relaxing time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location and very relaxing time”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

First of all, even prior to arrival, Sebastian was very helpful, and the personal transfer he arranged for us from Rio worked perfectly, and he and the other staff were always friendly and helpful thereafter..
We had booked a deluxe room, and it therefore had an ocean view and a small balcony. it was a pleasant enough room and reasonably sized, but I would not like to have booked a lesser category. I was expecting a bit better from a deluxe to be honest. It had a huge bathroom, but the space could have been better used, for example with a double sink. The shower cubicle could have done with a tiling makeover, but was OK.
It is extremely well positioned for walking into town or getting a water taxi to other beaches etc. However it is close to a loud nightclub, so you need to be as far away and up from the road as possible - we were fine but some other people we met were disturbed at night and into daylight hours by revellers - this was the New Year holiday season after all.
The main restaurant was good, with wonderful views, and the pool side snacks were of good value and quality. On the street level there is a more informal restaurant that does Pizzas and pasta if you are fooded out from fine dining and want something simple.
A big positive for me, who gets bitten badly by mosquitos, was the provision of both a plug-in and repellent. Why other hotels in Brasil do not do this is beyond me, where the insect issue is unavoidable. Of course the cleaning staff leaving the bathroom window wide open after they had finished negated this somehwat!
The main downside for me was the absolutely tiny pool. I had read it was small but didn't expect it to be so small. I love to swim on holday so this was a disappointment. This might have been tolerable if the pool wasn't so often occupied by small children whose parents seemed to regard it sd their little angels' right to do whatever they wanted for hours on end without any regard for other users. The hotel has a no kids under 5 policy, but given its nature and branding as a relaxing, quiet haven, I think maybe they should revise the minimum age upwards. Either that or maybe have a dedicated adults only swimming time. We also experienced a lot of noise towards the end of our stay from small kids who wre allowed to stay up until all hours, screeching and running along the stone corridors to their room, well after we had gone to bed.
I should add that the swimming was important because, although the beaches on Buzios do indeed look very beautiful, we didn't feel we wanted to stay on the beach and swim in the sea at any of the ones we visited. Many had no faciities, and those that had were very crowded, with rickety chair and umbrellas, and you are constantly hassled by vendors every few feet. I also had some concerns about the cleanliness of the sea in some areas (there was a lot of litter on the seashore in places). The exception was when we visited Rocka at Brava beach, which has good, though very expensive, lounging facilities (and an excellent restaurant) but we had some comcerns about swimming there too - see separate review under Rocka.
All in all though I would definitely recommend Casas Brancas and Buzios for a relaxing few days.

Room Tip: Higher up from the road would be quieter I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    702
    145
    39
    19
    25
See reviews for
92
628
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I went with a friend and had an amazing time there. It is the perfect place to sit back and relax. The food is good, not great but the juices are very good. Our room was a very fancy one and had a swimming pool in it. I am not sure whether it was clean but it made the room special for sure. Improvements? Service and food. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floflo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Really liked the location. Concierge staff were one excellent, Sebastian , the other useless - rude and arrogant.( Think jis mame was Ricardo or Roberto). Lucky we only relied on advice from Sebastian. The room was nice but smelt of poor drainage, the restaurant and staff were superb. I would highly recommend the boat tour by Michelle and Barbara and also a day on the beach at Brava - both excellent recommendations by Sebastian. If you find this Hotel too pricey, the sister hotel Abracadabra looks just as nice and perfectly situated. The only negative is that you can't walk directly to the village from the hotel but you can use the stairs at Casa Brancas which is literally 2 min away. The pool at Abracadabra is nicer than Casa Brancas and the restaurant was awesome too. In a nutshell, two nice hotels to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozijoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Travelling to Buzios I have looked for a romantic place with spa. Both are accomplished in Casas Brancas - mediterranean feel, excellent food, comfortable rooms and very friendly service. There is always space for improvement, are close to perfection.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoi17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Hotel Casas Brancas is an encharming hotel, unique in its style and which offers fantastic views over the Bardot bay. The halls, restaurants and swimming pool area are very well decorated and kept in clean and pefect conditions. If you are searching for a relaxing and peaceful place to breath-up a bit, this is the place to be. Also the stuff is very friendly and always willing to help in order to make the guests as much comfortable as possible.
My wife and I were there for two nights after our wedding ceremony and the first night we got upset with our room 15 which is classified as a double deluxe: no phone working, no hot water, old bathroom. Finally, not the expectations for a 1st wedding night!
The day after, the concierge Mr. Sebastian (the man to whom you can really rely to), quickly solved our unsatisfaction by upgrading our second night to the junior suite for free, making us forgetting the first night. This effort has shown to us how customer satisfaction is the priority #1 for Casas Brancas.
We recommend to check with the reservation departement the rooms you will get. Just after our reservation we asked to receive some pictures from the rooms in order to choose the one and a short offer for an after hour we wanted to offer to our friends after the wedding, but unfortunately we never got an answer.

Finally, as also my parents were staying there in a double superior with sea view, we highly recommend the room 2. Lower category as room 15, but far better standard!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with amazing views of the Buzios bay area, and only a few minutes walk from the downtown and many restaurants.

The rooms were ok while not being great - they are on the small side and the bathrooms are a little antiquated.

Of the restaurants, Cafe Atlantico (on the upper level) was excellent, and the service stood out in particular - we got to know them all quite well by the time we left. Deck (on the lower level) is less formal but very good nonetheless.

The receptions concierge were very helpful and knowledgeable, alway on hand to provide advice and suggestions.

Our main gripe with the place was the pricing. Of course we knew the cost before we arrived but given that were expecting some quite extraordinary accommodation - as I say above, it was ok without being great. We had the New Year's dinner at the hotel, which (although sadly common around the world) cost an eye-watering $240 for a buffet with a cheap bottle of champagne thrown in.

Overall I would recommend it, but maybe it's better to not go in high season when they set their prices in the stratosphere.

Room Tip: Try to not be on the street front as you will get noise from the traffic and the Privilege nightclub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 851trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sao paulo, brazil
Level Contributor
424 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a small hotel with an extraordinary view of Buzio's bay. Our room was small and run-down, and had to be serviced 3 times during our stay. Food was ok; nothing special. Most of the staff was not attentive, with the exemption of that one serving as concierge. Lobby/pool structure was substandard. This hotel does not have a good cost-effectiveness.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank acukiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.4 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#7 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
541 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#19 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Perola Buzios Hotel
Perola Buzios Hotel
#13 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
820 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pousada Santorini
Pousada Santorini
#2 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Morro do Humaita, 10 | Centro, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 2895-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#2 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#2 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#3 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa is a refuge of beauty and elegance in the small town of Buzios, a few hours away from Rio de Janeiro. Nested over Armacao Bay, its Mediterranean style terrace and panoramic view of the sea have fascinated guests for over 40 years. Casas Brancas is a synonym of harmony and simplicity. With touches of style and sophistication, its decor provides the tranquility that permeates the entire ambience. Its team of professionals, trained in different languages, contributes for a even more personalized service. An authentic invitation for rest, pleasure and well-being. With a privileged location, overlooking the Orla Bardot waterfront promenade, the hotel is near the downtown area, as well as being within close range of the best restaurants and beaches in town. Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa, simply an idyllic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casas Brancas Boutique - Hotel And Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel Buzios
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing