We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place on the Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Atlantico Buzios Hotel
Ranked #32 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was a first time traveler to Buzios and I was very pleased to have stayed at this first class hotel. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was great. I will be back for certain, next time to stay a little longer!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 988 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Although this part of the country is beautiful, the hotel by far should be located somewhere in North Philly! What a dissapointment! The staff is unbelievably stupid and they even try to rip you off although we had a confirmation from bookit.com. They attempted to charge us double and thank God our Brazillian friends were with us. There is nobody in this hotel, however you would think they were packed based on there service. Our cards in 3 rooms don't even work! US residents don't stay here! Huge mistake! Sorry for the bad review! Just being honest!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

It was a nice hotel for a conference (120 participants), good meeting rooms, good coffee service. The lunch and dinner buffet was reasonable. The environment was well kept, the swimming pool was ample, the beach is in front (nothing for swimming), to the picturesque center of Buzios are only a few steps, 10 minutes, along the beach. The internet was free for the conference people, but didn't work in the room. The check-out was cumbersome: you had to check the bill really carefully.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exp_Trav_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

i attended a conference located at this beautiful place in brazil, i was there already two days before the conference started. the organizing travel agency organized for me the same conditions as during the conference (all meals, price, ...).

the hotel is perfectly located at one of the beautiful beaches of buzios, the hotel/resort has a 2nd entrace directly located to the beach. going out to the right you will find nice beaches as well as nice old houses ..., going out to the left you will be in 1-2 km in buzios downtown. usually are not alone walking this beach because 1-2 cruise ships (with a few hundred up to 2-3 thousend passengers) are stopping there (nice view from the hotel).

back to the hotel: the rooms are standard but needs refurbishment (we booked standard room). the rooms appearance is that of a 2 to 3 star hotel (european/asian standard). the towels are changed daily, sometimes towels are missing. the hot/cold water mixing is not working properly.

our rooms smells moldy: no problem for the personal: they spray it away.

the nicest thing in the hotel is the pool area, good arranged and nicely operated.

meals: before the conference: primitive and bad, no choices, bad quality (fish taste in cookies) ....., especially the breakfast is less than one star, lunch and dinner are similiear and to simple. during the conference: more people more choices, low average quality, in the best case of a three star hotel (international standard, but more a good 2star hotel).

internet: they offer wired and wireless. in some rooms wired access is damaged, in other rooms wireless net is not available. i my room both are working. wired works good for download, uploads with sizes larger than 50 kb are NOT working. wireless works poor in my room, so i changed to the lobby area, here also uploads up to 10 megabytes works properly.

the conference area: completely moldy. they sprayed some taste using the the air condition system, but the strong mold smell can not be changed. the air condition works so strong, that most of the people are shocked. attending world wide conferences i have to state, that this was one of the two poorest conference places (the other one was a sea located hotel with conference rooms in wuhan, china).

and now comes the unbelievable surprise:

the people at the front desk especially some people ignore your booking conditions. in our case the cancel the dinner included. i heard arguments like (you booking rate is so cheap, we can not give the dinner ....). i ignored this and in this end gave the bill for this dinner to the manager (surprise: and get the money back). not only for me but for all the people of the conference they add new cost positions to the bills. they just tried it, but then they learnt from my brazilian collegues .... and again: in the end no one paid more than arranged before.

as a non brazilian i had no chance to get this. from my point this is exactly the most critical point to classify the administration/organization as 'not working on a legal base'. unbelievable, no one of the 100 people we go to this site again.

my recommendation to the owner of this resort:

replace the administration completely (the head and some people), instruct the new people consequently that operating on the claimed level of 5! stars perfect, correct, and legal work of ALL people are expected from 80% of the customers.

renovate the infrastructure and solve problemes if they occur immediately. have people checking the correct working of all devices on a weekly base and do the repair immediately.

hire own restaurant personal (and not only people backing pastry).

-----

my recommendation: up to this moment: this hotel should be ignored.
btw: the reduce price i paid was 180 dollar/night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joedi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

It's a beautiful hotel, with good rooms and a great pool. But service it's terrible. People are unpolite, no one cares if you are having a good stay. For the first time in my life a hotel tried to cherge me for a bucket of ice in the room. U$ 3,50 for ice it's a cheap thing, that only serves to abset you. I've stayed in one of the more expensive room and was disturbed by the noise of night clubs around. When i've called reception, they said that couldn't do anything. In the other hand, breakfast is great, rooms are good and the pool is great. But dont expect to be well treated.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alexsmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A very good hotel in the beautiful Buzios.

Hotel is huge, perfectly located and exits directly to the seafront and the start of the bussy Rue de Pedras, where everything is happening.

The rooms are spacious, big bathroom with enormous shower cabin, beds comfortable and excellent Tv programe. The A/C is a bit noisy, so you can't sleep when it's working. The pool area is superb, as well as the surrounding park, chapel and fitness center.

The breakfast buffet is just ok. There are too many pastries, but not one bit of vegetables in the morning ( a little odd). Food quality is ok, but nothing special. Anyway you won't stay hungry..

Hotel staff provides good service, although only reception staff knows and understands English. Waiters and other employees only speak Portugese, maybe a little spanish.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Ok, the place overall is nice, but far away from the category they intend to give it. Location is not exactly great and they even charge Internet like gold (while the connection is terrible!).
Beds should be changed too, pillows are far from acceptable.
I would rather look for other place for my next stay.

Room Tip: Bring your own pillow 😊
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank danieldotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
Ferradura Resort
#19 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
751 reviews
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
728 reviews
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#17 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#12 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
711 reviews
City Center
Armacao dos Buzios Pousada Design
Armacao dos Buzios Pousada Desig...
#39 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
385 reviews
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#20 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantico Buzios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantico Buzios Hotel

Address: Estrada da Usina Velha 294 | Morro do Humaita - Armacao dos Buzios, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: $127 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantico Buzios Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Atlantico Buzios Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantico Hotel Buzios
Atlantico Buzios Hotel Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing