We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View Of The Beach, Delicious BreakFast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pousada Hibiscus Beach
Ranked #55 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
london, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great View Of The Beach, Delicious BreakFast”
Reviewed October 6, 2009

Spent three days here and would definitely return. Each room was its own cabin and had a terrace with a wonderful view of the Joao Fernandes Beach. The pousda is only a 3 minute walk from the beach too. Rooms are cheerful and in a good state. The buffet breakfast was superb with fresh fruit and pastries a plenty.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petercrystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    110
    45
    7
    14
See reviews for
76
137
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Great hotel, spacious, individual bungalows with seaview balcony. Very close to the nicest beach in Buzios and it is a nice 15 minute walk along the shore to the centre. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Breakfast was good, with fresh orange juice and fruit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller85325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2009

I highly reccommend staying at the beautiful, romantic, perfectly located Pousada Hibiscus Beach Hotel. Made up of many private, quaint and comfortable bungalows, each with a stnunning ocean view, ovelooking attractively lanscapped grounds with a nice size swmming pool. The rooms are nicely proportioned - sparkeling clean bathroom with ample countertop, good closet, comfortable bed, television and wi-fi, not to mention private balcony large enough for table and chairs to view those wonderful sunsets over the water.
Delicious breakfast served buffet syle in mian building where we had the pleasure to meet some other interesting guests. The beach is a stones throw away and town is a longer walk which we enjoyed but if you want, there are taxi/vans that go back and forth every few minutes, honestly you can take these vans anywhere and never have to wait more then a couple of minutes to flag one down.- and cost -so inexpensive. The friendly staff couldn't be more helpful and attentive. I had mistakingly left one of my shirts behind and Keven, one of the wonderful staff administrators, figured out away to get it back to me through another guest that lett for the states later than us. Above and beyond duty!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JetNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2009

This was my first time to Buzios – a business trip in August, the southern hemisphere's winter. I stayed at the Hibiscus Beach Pousada for 9 nights and enjoyed every aspect. Each ‘room’ at this pousada is an individual bungalow that is built up a hill-side. One of the nicest beach is a 1 minute walk out the front door. Each bungalow has French doors that open to a small private patio overlooking the sea… Every room has a tremendous view, and as a previous review noted, the higher the room, the better the view (I too was at the top in room #9). The staff was great. English is my only language and I had no problems. They even arranged a car for the 2.5hr ride to the airport in Rio at a rate much cheaper than any other private transportation. The location of the pousada is towards the tip of the Buzios peninsula and is much quieter at night than ‘downtown’. For shopping and nightlife, the walk to down town is a beautiful 10 minute stroll along the waterfront (very safe, even late at night). The rooms were immaculate and comfortable. The free-breakfast was served promptly at 8:30am (and it is a good mix of fresh fruit, cereals, pastries and scrambled eggs). I could not get a strong WiFi signal in my room, but it was a pleasure to take my laptop down to the restaurant area to work online. Overall – I cannot imagine a nicer experience in Buzios than the Hibiscus Beach.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDS_JDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseville ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Every aspect of the Pousada Hibiscus Beach from the reservations to the charming and friendly staff made our visit there one to remember for a lifetime. The bungalows are beautifully maintained and the views from the room are just so perfect. I love the gourmet breakfast in the mornings with the views of the beach and open surroundings. Our transportation needs to and from the resort were all taken care of in an excellent fashion by the office staff. This all added up to be one of our finest adventures in Brazil staying at this resort. I would go back there in any instant and recommend it highly to all my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hermansherman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Immediately upon arrival, Pousada Hibiscus provided outstanding service from the time I stepped in, to when I stepped out. The receptionist and other staff members were exceptionally sympathetic in a special way towards each guest. Breakfast was delicious and very well organized. Our Bungalow was truly cozy and impeccable, not to mention our indespensable ocean view. I really enjoyed taking a dip in their refreshing pool after a day at the beach, which was just a few minutes away by foot. I recommend this Pousada to everyone looking for a marvelous vacation in Buzios.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackhulk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTIAGO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

We had booked a week in advance but we decided to leave after the fisrt night. The rooms were small, damp, bathroom dirty and the shower was not working properly. No AC and the FAN was no help. Lack of privacy since all the cottages are next to each other. You had verry few options for breakfast and with bad presentation. Service was the worst. The owner of the place is from Argentina and she will treat you really bad!!!! She was really unkind!!! Whatch with here Boyfriend. We left the place and went to a nice Hotel called "Colona Park Hotel". We got a disscount at the front desk which ended up being cheaper then Hibiscus!!! Room was great, Super view.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkaufmannr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pauljohnson, Owner/Manager at Pousada Hibiscus Beach, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
The fact that the content of this review provides a sharp contrast with the other 100+ opinions shows that there is no accounting for taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pousada Aguazul
Hotel Pousada Aguazul
#39 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Foret
Hotel La Foret
#21 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
697 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casagrande Hotel Boutique
Casagrande Hotel Boutique
#41 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#20 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pousada Amancay
Pousada Amancay
#48 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
346 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#7 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Hibiscus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Hibiscus Beach

Property: Pousada Hibiscus Beach
Address: Travessa 1 22 | Quadra C - João Fernandes, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada Hibiscus Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful small hotel is British owned and managed. Remodeled and upgraded in 2007. The hotel consists of individual bungalows, all having a balcony with spectacular sea view. 100 mts. from the peninsula's most attractive beach. Air-conditioned and fully equipped. Large tropical garden and pool. Transfers available from Rio Airport or hotels. Ideal for English speaking guests, but with an authentic Brazilian atmosphere. Elegance and comfort at a reasonable cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pousada Hibiscus Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Hibiscus Beach Buzios
Pousada Hibiscus Beach Hotel Buzios
Pousada Hibiscus Beach Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing