We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, by Brazilian standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada Hibiscus Beach
Ranked #55 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

With the understanding that Value/money ratio in Brazil is possibly the worst in the western hemisphere, this place offers a great view and spacious rooms with good landscaping. I gave it an overall three stars but within the Brazil lenses I would say a 4 out of 5.

Items to improve:

1) More than five minutes of hot water so two people can take a shower.
2) new bedside lamps that cost more than $2, and can't be knocked over by a 5km/h breeze.
3) decent pillows (problem at most every pousada in the country)
4) the AC unit is sub par and will give you fluid in your lungs. (Again consistent cultural theme to save every penny at expense of customer convenience)

Items of merit

1) Breakfast was fresh and delicious.
2) patio of room has great views and gives you a feeling of privacy due to the dimensions.
3) bathroom is clean and well covered
4) mattress is nice and cozy

Would stay here again and paid roughly $R280/night, 2 people.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2345tman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 335 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013

Recently I visited Buzios again and as usual stayed at Pousada Hibiscus Beach.They recently painted the exterior in vivid pastel stripes that evoke a tropical vibe.The beds have been upgraded and as usual the rooms are bright and airy opening onto your own verandah with lovely sea views.The bungalows are set on a hillside amidst vegetation that beckons the hummingbirds.It is a two minute walk to the beach and room rates compare very favorably to theother hotels in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomtartaruga51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

What is unique about Pousada Hibiscus Beach are the "rooms" are all independent little bungalows with private balconies and a decent view of the sea. The staff were very helpful and most all spoke English. The included breakfast was typical Brazilian fare, was fresh every morning and the coffee was great. Buzios is a great get-away from the insanity that is Rio de Janiero. And I look forward to coming here again. A bonus was we were able to bring our very large dog and take her on hikes in the hills. It is also conveniently located to lots of restaurants and shops. October is off season and I recommend it if you don't like crowds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank k2dam2dab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here after our wedding on Ilhabela in 2010 and were delighted. Although quite basic compared to some resorts in Buzios, the facilities, service, location and especially the views were fantastic! I told them in advance that it would be our honeymoon and they kindly booked us into the highest cabin with the best views. It was an effort carrying our luggage up to the top of the hill though! I wouldn't recommend it for young kids or elderly though because of the climb. (Had to select Nov 2012 as travel date as earlier dates unavailable)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonJStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great place to stay in Buzios, althought we would have liked to stay near downtown because everything happens there but if you want a quiet place to stay and relax, this pousada is your choice. Great bedrooms, bathrooms, nice breakfast service. The wifi doesnt seem to work in the room but in the dining room it works just fine.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Buzios is a busy place so it's good to stay in a hotel that combines comfort and good location with privacy and quiet. The well-provided separate cottages all have balconies looking over the luxurient garden with distant sea views. A good breakfast is included, though it could be varied. It is a short walk to the nearest, attractive beach, though it is busy, and a twenty minute stroll to the town centre, mostly along the lovely waterfront. Staff are friendly and very helpful with information, bookings, flight check ins etc. Good for native English speakers.

Room Tip: The highest rooms are probably the most quiet but none will be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian10Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had the most comfortable, relaxing, private and quiet place in our stay at Pousada Hibiscus Beach. The bungalow we had, number 4 was spacious, comfortable and has his beautiful balcony with a great view. The staff is very kind yet quiet and is perfect if you are looking forward relax and make a stop in your daily routine. The only social areas, pool and breakfast room are as well quiet and lets you keep your privacy. The owners, Alice and Kevan did a really good job in decoration and offering a quiet and relaxing place to stay. The sunrises are great from the balcony and for sure will be our next choice again when we return to Buzios.

Room Tip: Number 4 definitely is the room to choose!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
City Center
Armacao dos Buzios Pousada Design
Armacao dos Buzios Pousada Desig...
#37 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
410 reviews
Buzios Beach International Apart...
#97 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
115 reviews
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#31 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buzios Arambare Hotel
#71 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
115 reviews
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
#46 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
222 reviews
Buzios Centro Hotel
#35 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Hibiscus Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Hibiscus Beach

Address: Travessa 1 22 | Quadra C - João Fernandes, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: $102 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pousada Hibiscus Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This delightful small hotel is British owned and managed. Remodeled and upgraded in 2007. The hotel consists of individual bungalows, all having a balcony with spectacular sea view. 100 mts. from the peninsula's most attractive beach. Air-conditioned and fully equipped. Large tropical garden and pool. Transfers available from Rio Airport or hotels. Ideal for English speaking guests, but with an authentic Brazilian atmosphere. Elegance and comfort at a reasonable cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Hibiscus Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Hibiscus Beach Buzios
Pousada Hibiscus Beach Hotel Buzios
Pousada Hibiscus Beach Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing