We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, Tasty Quality Seafood in Buzios”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of O Barco

O Barco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Brazilian, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Monday to sunday from 12am to 10:30pm.
los angeles, ca
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fresh, Tasty Quality Seafood in Buzios”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Just had dinner there last night. We had the lobster and the fish Moqueca. Both were flavorful and expertly prepared. We were impressed with the freshness and quality of the lobster and fish. Our dishes came with rice and salad. Restaurant is on the smaller side, but has a nice view of the water. Waiters were nice and efficient. And the price point was very reasonable, a great deal here in buzios where similar fare can cost almost twice what we paid. It is a more casual and family-style environment, rather than an ultra-chic or super-romantic environment (if that is what you are looking for, but I wasn't lol).

Would definitely go back there again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valormd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    446
    104
    21
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
133 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A great discovery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

It is a well located restaurant, just in front of the sea, with a nice view.
Our waiter was very attentive and well predisposed to solve doubts. We had a "moqueca de peixe and camarao" (a fish and shrimps stew) and "peixe na chapa" (a grilled fish) with rice and salad. All was delicious!!! A great price/ quality relationship!
They accepted credit cards!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank drmsol80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh fish and big portions!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Came here for lunch after seeing lots of positive reviews on TA. We were not disappointed. We had calamari, little fishes in breadcrumbs and the seafood stew (which lots of people seemed to be having). Everything tasted very fresh and it was excellent value for money. The only reason we have given it 4 stars not 5, is because the service was very very slow. Overall, a great place for lunch when you come off the beach.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PazJaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely fish, right by the sea!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here and thought it was excellent. Nothing fancy, just tasty fresh fish served right on the waterfront at lower than normal prices for Buzios. Nice staff. A tip, if you're not mega hungry, get a one person portion to share between two as they're quite big!! Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jr27387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What you see is what you get”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Loved this place for lunch, this is a small fish restaurant run by the local fisherman, nothing fancy, but fresh fish, great portions 7 quality, and not the usual Buzios prices. If you want something fancy - go somewhere else, if you want good, fresh loaclly caught fish - eat here

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank luton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O Barco also viewed

Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 

Been to O Barco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing