We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding and subtle food with excellent service”
Review of Salt

Salt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Toulouse, France
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding and subtle food with excellent service”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Salt is a very well managed and friendly restaurant looking out over the bay. The food is very fresh and the flavours and spices subtle. One of the best restaurants I have been to in Brazil - and there are plenty of very fine ones, but Salt gives a different take on dishes. The salmon in ginger with black rice was a gastronomic high - such that we had to return the following day to check it was as good as we remembered it. It was.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    171
    44
    24
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent green curry in Salt”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Pros:
Nice location looking over the bay with seats outside on the terrace
good menu and option of vegetarion green curry

Cons: service was a bit slow and the waiters seemed to lack some training

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bc1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood and delicate tastes”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a splendid late nite dinner in this nicly located restaurant by the sea. Shrimp risotto was full of flavour and lobster medallion did not lack them either. Food was testy, fresh, well prepared and the service was superb.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mantelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent on every level”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Salt was an excellent choice of restaurant located on the main strip, Orla Bardot, with indoor and outdoor seating - plus a small bar you can sit at outdoors an chat to the guy behind the bar.

We received a warm and friendly welcome from both the waiter and the waitress and this friendly attentive service continued throughout the evening (and we were remembered when we walked past on subsequent nights, dropping by for one of their magical fruit caprihinias) - we can highly recommend the red berry, passionfruit and mango caprihinias.

The menu has a range of interesting choices, with a seafood emphasis, and it was a tough decision to narrow the choices down - our entree starters, octopus and quinos salad and tartar salmon y tuna with mango were fresh and attractively presented. The mains, grouper with passionfruit jam and salt cod with mustard sauce, almonds and green garlic lived up to expectations.

Buzios is not cheap, nor its quality restaurants, but given the service, location, quality of the food and the reasonable price of Chilean Sauvignon Blanc, I didn't feel at all that we had been ripped off.

It was a pleasant evening in a lovely setting, rounded off by professional service - our best meal in Buzios - our only regret was that we didn't go back there the following night, after an unfortunate experience, nearby on the strip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sydsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth the money!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I ate here two times during my stay in Buzios, and because of my satisfaction, i decided to write a recommendation.
First of all, the food at Salt is original. It adds a lot of new flavours to traditional fish and meat dishes. The meat was perfect prepared. You could really tell the difference between medium+ and medium rare. Also, the local fish was perfect seasoned.
I recommend this restaurant for those who are willing to pay a little extra for a delightful food experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eirik7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt also viewed

Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 

Been to Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing