We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good time at L'escale in Buzios”
Review of Pousada L'Escale

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pousada L'Escale
Ranked #50 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Nice place, best posible location, delicious food, friendly and helpful owners.
We would stay there again when back to Buzios. (ok.. we realize we have to write a minimum of 200 characters for this review to be processed so we will add that..) nice view, quiet lovely town, even Brigidte Bardot is near by.

Karen and Marcelo

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrclx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Pousada L'Escale
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 233 reviews

Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and it really added a plus to our stay as it is really beautiful, cosy, clean and in a great location. The owners, Sylvia and Frances, are genuinelly kind and helpful and welcoming. It's close to the centre, to the shops, to the best beaches and promenada.
The only "not so good things" I have to say (as I want to be really honest about this post) are: the rooms are a little too small (there is not enough space for luggage once opened), breakfast though good is a little too small, the cables outside the balconies that are kind of blocking the view, the shower was a real pain as the water ran poorly and in all direction except for the one you needed and the noise outside till late at night (right across there is a small plaza where young people gather and drink and talk really loud). Other than that this place is perfect and you feel at home. We felt very proud of our accommodation as we walked through Buzios and saw where other hotels and pousadas we also considered when booking our hotel were located! We definitely made the best choice!

Room Tip: Those 3 facing the sea and having hammocks
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 33GGggb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I spent 2 fantastic weeks in the Pousada and felt like home. All staff was very frendly and helpfull! The location is perfect, near by the center and some of the most beautiful beaches of Buzios! I suggest L'Escale to anyone that want to stay in Buzios.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessiadg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

For my wife and I, from New York City, Pousada L'escale was exactly what we needed. A short walk to 5+ beaches, and a beautiful 10 minute stroll along the waterfront to the downtown area, we felt like locals for our New Years in Buzios. The husband/wife duo who run the Pousada and wonderful restaurant treated us like family, and were instrumental in helping us find our way around Buzios. They both speak English well, and Francis food was spot on - french inspired, and very different than traditional brazilian fare. Nothing Fried! As an american tourist, be aware that most Pousada's including this one have small rooms, no traditional american amenities (coffee machine, big soft towels, etc), but you are on the beach, have a porch and a hammock, and can walk everywhere. What a fantastic place to visit. Make sure to visit Casas Brancas hotel right down the street. Amazing upscale deck on top, great drinks and awesome place to watch the sunset.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room...there are 3 in front with deck's and water views.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kvaradian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

From the moment we arrived to literally to the second we left, we were made to feel incredibly welcome by our hosts. This is the lasting impression that we will take with us, that the owners were really striving to make our stay as good as they possibly could; both were amazingly friendly and helpful, and all done with good humour. I can only echo all the positive things that have been said already, great location, walking distance to a number of beaches and the town centre, rooms have personality and character, the hammocks on the balconies are great in the morning and early evening. Perhaps best of all was the food that Francis serves, really good quality breakfasts and the restaurant in the evening served by far the best food that we had in Buzios, and at really fair prices. We originally booked three nights and are glad we ended up staying for six. Thanks Sylvia & Francis for a great stay.

Room Tip: The three front rooms have balconies with a hammock, well worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This lovely Pousada nestles in the corner of the bay just a pleasant ten minutes walk along the seafront from the centre of Buzios. L’Esacle is virtually on the beach, overlooking the small fishing boats and literally 3 or 4 minutes walk to Ossos beach, 10 mins walk to Azeda and Azedinha, and 15 mins walk to Juao Fernandes beaches.
The water taxis ply their trade from Ossos and there is a bus stop close by, both of which make L’Escale a good location to start your exploration of this beautiful area.
The Pousada is located above the L’Escale restaurant which overlooks the sea making the breakfast table a perfect place to start the day. Breakfast is good, with fresh fruit, meats, cheeses, omelettes and sweet pastries – enough to last you all day. L’Escale is west facing so also gets lovely romantic sunsets. The restaurant also serves evening meals - which is nice when you need a relaxing evening meal without having to go very far.
The Pousada is decorated ‘quirky chic’ and has free WIFI, board games and books to keep you relaxed.
Sylvia and Frances are accomplished hosts and will help you with just about anything.
On arrival we were offered cold drinks while we were given a comprehensive introduction to the area, the best places to go, how to get there, and what to avoid. Sylvia can help you with car hire, tours, help you with your airline check-in and arrange your airport shuttle. They are both fabulous.
We intend returning to Buzious and L’Escale will be top of the list.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the three sea facing rooms if available. They are fitted with hammocks are a perfect...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for a few nights. From the 1001 bus station it's about a 10-15 min walk along the beautiful beach path. Location wise, it is perfect - they're a stone's throw away to the best beaches and about a 10 min walk to the "downtown" area. The hosts were incredibly nice and were very helpful in getting us oriented and helping us find out way around town. The pousada itself is very well maintained and we found the rooms to be just fine for 2 people. There's no question about it, when we return we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.7 mi away
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
Pousada Boutique Bella Nina
#39 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Chimere
La Chimere
#3 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
718 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#28 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Foret
Hotel La Foret
#22 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
710 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pousada Vila Pitanga
Pousada Vila Pitanga
#25 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Baia Bonita
Pousada Baia Bonita
#101 of 368 in Armacao dos Buzios
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada L'Escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada L'Escale

Address: Travessa de Santana 14 | Praia dos Ossos, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#11 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: $61 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pousada L'Escale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Escale is a small 5 rooms hotel, tastefully decorated, enjoying all the amenities. - 3 Rooms with sea view and balcony (double bed, minibar, Air conditioning, TV, WiFi, safetybox) - 1 Standard room (2 single beds or 1 king size,minibar, air conditioning, TV, WiFi). Views of the sea and the sunset close to beaches near the center, without suffering the nuisance Refined and hearty breakfast bedding recent balcony with hammock TV, air conditioning security Supports transfer Recommendations for activities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Pousada L'Escale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada L'Escale Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing