We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere, Disappointing Food”
Review of Deck

Deck
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Disappointing Food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We had high hopes of El Deck, given its seafront location, beautiful decor that became magical at night, and in-house entertainment (a singer on the night we visited). But what a culinary disappointment! I had the worst caprese salad for years (cheese seemed stale) and the pizza was nothing to write home about. And this in a country where pizza seems to be the real national dish. A great shame.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Grand_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    168
    58
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“GREAT”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Does what it says on the tin and is far better value for money than the other places we visited. Magician there also, pretty cool.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
457 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 576 helpful votes
“Not worth trying!”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We had one meal here and it was very disappointing indeed!
The food was below mediocre and the service non-existent!
We tried it out because it was a sister restaurant of the excellent Cafe Atlantico - but they are like chalk and cheese!
There is not much atmosphere on the night we went - they were turning people away from the seated bar area for some strange reason! - and the server we had was more interested in chatting up two young gay Americans than serving us!
I had grilled fish of the day and it was terrible, whilst my wife had seafood risotto, which was equally terrible. There was no comment when our server came to remove 2 almost full plates and certainly no attempt made to enhance our experience.
Very disappointing indeed and the owner of the Casas Brancas Hotel needs to fully review this place as it is terrible and does nothing for their reputation!
Poor food, no atmosphere with people being turned away, crap service - need I go on? Why bother when there are so many other places to choose from in this very pretty little town!
Cannot recommend it on any point and would never eat there again - a very disappointing experience!

Helpful?
2 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great thin crust Pizza!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

fun little tiki hut style restaurant and bar on the board walk, watch all the boardwalk photographers and posers!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marc F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Great food, perfect for lunch or dinner in a casual setting. The views of the bay are also gorgeous. Staff were attentive.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SK_traveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deck also viewed

 
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
 

Been to Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing