We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location; reasonable service; poor value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Insolito Boutique Hotel
Ranked #35 of 103 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous location; reasonable service; poor value for money.”
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We always knew that our stay would be pricey and I would not accuse the hotel of hiding additional costs. However, increased room rates naturally lead to increased expectations and I am afraid the Insolito came up short.. very short. And to be honest it was all very avoidable so, bizarrely, I would still encourage people to at least consider this hotel as a possible venue.
Much has been said of the attentive staff and I would endorse this. Whilst we were the only visitors for much of our week we genuinely felt all the staff were keen to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. However, this did not stop the management from instigating a comprehensive agenda of hotel renovation/construction during our week. From a business prespective it makes sense - do it when fewer guests. But they made zero effort to notify us and there was genuine inconvenience to us - persistent noise and one of the pools was completely out of service. The problem was exacerbated when they tried to maintain that the works were unscheduled and were rather immeidate repairs.. repainting the pool!
We were offered 2x spa treatment gratis of which we took one - they then tried to bill us.. for both. In fact I would strongly encourage visitors to check their bills as quite a few errors on ours.
Food was of good quality but pricey in comparison to town alternatives and for some reason our order was consistently taken incorrectly.
Room was great and location is truly breathtaking.. but could have been so much better.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JGDNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Boa Dia,

Firstly I would like to apologise for the late reply. None the less I would like to thank you for your feedback. We encourage guests to be open about their experience in order for us to improve the weak points. It is unfortunate that you stayed during a refurbishing period and we apologise for not informing you well. Indeed the errors on bills is a problem though now we have much more advanced systems and have trained our staff better so I assure you that you stay will be better when we have the pleasure to welcome you again at Insoito Boutique Hotel. Have a great week!

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    67
    35
    26
    12
See reviews for
66
239
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We arrived in Buzios after three weeks traveling from Argentina, Iquazi falls and Rio, and were looking for a relaxing beach boutique hotel where we could chill out by the pool but also not be stuck in a 'honeymoon hotel'. After being let down by a couple of the hotels on our honeymoon (I only mention it was our honeymoon as I think it helps descibe the sort of holiday we were on), we were over the moon (no pun intended) when we arrived in Insolito!!

We walked into the reception and were greeted as though we were guests at a good friend's home. We were given champagne whilst checking in, then shown to our room. We didn't think it could get much better but when we saw the panoramic view from the windows we were totally in heaven . We were given a bottle of champagne in our room and then shown around the restaurant, spa, gym and told there was soon to be a beauty room added. I can promise you that the website to this hotel does not do it justice- the rooms particularly are so much bigger than they look online. We stayed in 'Oca' and I think it was the best position for views, although we didn't see in the other rooms so can't confirm this (manager said he thought it was the best though :). There are two pools and we had one of the pools to ourselves during the whole stay (It was during quiet season though so not sure how busy they get in the Summer).

I have to say though that although the hotel itself to us was perfect, it was the staff that made this hotel more than just a pretty face! There was not a thing that any of the staff wouldn't do for you and with a genuine smile on their faces. You could tell that they really loved working there. The reception staff were fantastic. I think the reason for this was that the owners of Insolito are obviously nice people employing other nice people. The owners were there during our stay and came over to introduce themselves and make sure our stay was going well. When the weather turned a bit crap, they told me that they had put a WII game console in the Yoga room for anyone to use. I know that's not exactly unique, but I thought it was a nice touch considering it wasn't their fault they couldn't control the weather!!

We are the sort of travelers that spends hours researching into hotels and we have stayed in many luxury boutique and larger hotels throughout the world, and Insolito is now in our top boutique hotels (Soho hotel, London, Anglers resort, Miami and La Mas Candille in France are others we love, to give you an idea of what we like). The other hotels we had travelled to on this honeymoon were chosen by the travel company we booked with, so I'm glad we looked into this one independently.

We always research hotels in advance and include looking into tripadvisor for the good reviews of a hotel, but unfortunately the negatives reviews always seem to grab more of your attention. I don't think there is one thing I can say that is bad about this hotel!!

Before we left on our honeymoon I read that the only downfall about this hotel was the distance to other restaurants. We normally like to be in walking distance but it made no difference in the end as there was a shuttle bus on demand to take us to 'Centro', and the journey was only 5 minutes (they take you home too).

We also thought Ferradura beach was by far the nicest one on the peninsula. It had a lovely friendly family feel to it, and the little bars on the beach during the day were so relaxing. (you can walk there from the hotel in seconds from the beach access).

We visited Casa Brancas hotel one day for lunch and couldn't believe our luck with Insolito in comparison. If you're looking for a nice place to stay in town then go to Casas Brancas, but if you want the BEST place to stay in a MUCH nicer side of Buzios, go to Insolito (though maybe if you are single or on a budget, you may prefer to be in Centro).

Insolito is not just for couples. There were groups of friends staying and familes coming for lunch and dinner.

There was live music on the weekends even though it was the quiet season. :)

Other info on Buzios:-
Buzios is a smart resort, with some posh restaurants but still quite young and trendy. For food I would try to stay away from the posh and go to the Brazilian restaurants in 'Centro'. They had the best atmosphere and the food was fantastic. (We liked David's in particular. The Hotel recommend the tourist spots but we liked the traditional ones the best ). We were out of season though so maybe the other restaurants would have been better in high season (food was great everywhere we went, just not enough atmosphere).

I think I have made it clear that we loved this place. we will hopefully return soon and will be bringing the whole extended as they would love it too (we love villa holidays and I think this hotel would be perfect as a substitute).

It is a great place for couples, familes (young and old) and groups of friends!!!

Thanks for making our honeymoon perfect!!!!

Buzios is not good for those on honeymoon that want Maldives type quietness and no kids.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank essbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Boa Dia,

Thank you so much for the kind words. I would like to apoogise for the late reply! None the less we are glad your stay was outstanding, after all we strive to make each experience tailored and unique to the guests' expectations. Please be so kind to follow us on the social media sites and feel free to post some nice photos of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future again!

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We had a great stay at Insólito Hotel. Class and excellent taste. Definitevely, this hotel is way above all other hotels and pousadas in Buzios. Every room is customized with wonderful views of "Ferradura". Two goergeous swiming pools. A "hidden pearl": its reataurant simple with excellent food and great wine. The service was just perfect. We were very lucky that there was little snow in Bariloche this July. We´ll be back to Insólito sometime soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Boa dia Charles,

Sorry for the late reply none the less thank you for the great words! We have now expanded and have 5 pools - 3 swimming pools and 2 jacuzzis. Our beach lounge is also being refurbished in time for the world cup so it is a great time to come back to Insolito! In the meanwhile follow our social media sites in order to find our more!

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Wonderful Hotel, excellent and caring service. Would recommend it highly. The only thing I missed was a hammock.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Boa Dia,

Sorry for the late reply but none the less thank you for the kind words! We appreciate the feedback and are happy to announce that we have hammocks available now. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.2 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
930 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
644 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ferradura Private
Hotel Ferradura Private
#18 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
167 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#7 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
541 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#19 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insolito Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insolito Boutique Hotel

Property: Insolito Boutique Hotel
Address: Rua E1 - Lotes 3 e 4 | Praia da Ferradura, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 2895-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#11 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#11 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#13 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#14 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Insolito Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authenticity and charm in an exclusive location, this is the mixture that makes Insolito Hotel unique. Placed on one of the most beautiful beaches in Buzios, Praia da Ferradura, the Insolito is like a leap over the sea. A subtle luxury, fruit of its comfort, modernity and charm, manifested in all five senses, compose the Insolito. Living the Insolito is more than just turning that most special dream into reality. Living the Insolito, truthfully, is to have never awakened from that dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Insolito Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insolito Boutique Hotel Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing