We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best boutique hotel by the sea!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Insolito Boutique Hotel
Ranked #47 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2009

We arrived in Buzios after three weeks traveling from Argentina, Iquazi falls and Rio, and were looking for a relaxing beach boutique hotel where we could chill out by the pool but also not be stuck in a 'honeymoon hotel'. After being let down by a couple of the hotels on our honeymoon (I only mention it was our honeymoon as I think it helps descibe the sort of holiday we were on), we were over the moon (no pun intended) when we arrived in Insolito!!

We walked into the reception and were greeted as though we were guests at a good friend's home. We were given champagne whilst checking in, then shown to our room. We didn't think it could get much better but when we saw the panoramic view from the windows we were totally in heaven . We were given a bottle of champagne in our room and then shown around the restaurant, spa, gym and told there was soon to be a beauty room added. I can promise you that the website to this hotel does not do it justice- the rooms particularly are so much bigger than they look online. We stayed in 'Oca' and I think it was the best position for views, although we didn't see in the other rooms so can't confirm this (manager said he thought it was the best though :). There are two pools and we had one of the pools to ourselves during the whole stay (It was during quiet season though so not sure how busy they get in the Summer).

I have to say though that although the hotel itself to us was perfect, it was the staff that made this hotel more than just a pretty face! There was not a thing that any of the staff wouldn't do for you and with a genuine smile on their faces. You could tell that they really loved working there. The reception staff were fantastic. I think the reason for this was that the owners of Insolito are obviously nice people employing other nice people. The owners were there during our stay and came over to introduce themselves and make sure our stay was going well. When the weather turned a bit crap, they told me that they had put a WII game console in the Yoga room for anyone to use. I know that's not exactly unique, but I thought it was a nice touch considering it wasn't their fault they couldn't control the weather!!

We are the sort of travelers that spends hours researching into hotels and we have stayed in many luxury boutique and larger hotels throughout the world, and Insolito is now in our top boutique hotels (Soho hotel, London, Anglers resort, Miami and La Mas Candille in France are others we love, to give you an idea of what we like). The other hotels we had travelled to on this honeymoon were chosen by the travel company we booked with, so I'm glad we looked into this one independently.

We always research hotels in advance and include looking into tripadvisor for the good reviews of a hotel, but unfortunately the negatives reviews always seem to grab more of your attention. I don't think there is one thing I can say that is bad about this hotel!!

Before we left on our honeymoon I read that the only downfall about this hotel was the distance to other restaurants. We normally like to be in walking distance but it made no difference in the end as there was a shuttle bus on demand to take us to 'Centro', and the journey was only 5 minutes (they take you home too).

We also thought Ferradura beach was by far the nicest one on the peninsula. It had a lovely friendly family feel to it, and the little bars on the beach during the day were so relaxing. (you can walk there from the hotel in seconds from the beach access).

We visited Casa Brancas hotel one day for lunch and couldn't believe our luck with Insolito in comparison. If you're looking for a nice place to stay in town then go to Casas Brancas, but if you want the BEST place to stay in a MUCH nicer side of Buzios, go to Insolito (though maybe if you are single or on a budget, you may prefer to be in Centro).

Insolito is not just for couples. There were groups of friends staying and familes coming for lunch and dinner.

There was live music on the weekends even though it was the quiet season. :)

Other info on Buzios:-
Buzios is a smart resort, with some posh restaurants but still quite young and trendy. For food I would try to stay away from the posh and go to the Brazilian restaurants in 'Centro'. They had the best atmosphere and the food was fantastic. (We liked David's in particular. The Hotel recommend the tourist spots but we liked the traditional ones the best ). We were out of season though so maybe the other restaurants would have been better in high season (food was great everywhere we went, just not enough atmosphere).

I think I have made it clear that we loved this place. we will hopefully return soon and will be bringing the whole extended as they would love it too (we love villa holidays and I think this hotel would be perfect as a substitute).

It is a great place for couples, familes (young and old) and groups of friends!!!

Thanks for making our honeymoon perfect!!!!

Buzios is not good for those on honeymoon that want Maldives type quietness and no kids.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank essbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Boa Dia,

Thank you so much for the kind words. I would like to apoogise for the late reply! None the less we are glad your stay was outstanding, after all we strive to make each experience tailored and unique to the guests' expectations. Please be so kind to follow us on the social media sites and feel free to post some nice photos of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you in the near future again!

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 119 of 449 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2009

We had a great stay at Insólito Hotel. Class and excellent taste. Definitevely, this hotel is way above all other hotels and pousadas in Buzios. Every room is customized with wonderful views of "Ferradura". Two goergeous swiming pools. A "hidden pearl": its reataurant simple with excellent food and great wine. The service was just perfect. We were very lucky that there was little snow in Bariloche this July. We´ll be back to Insólito sometime soon!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Boa dia Charles,

Sorry for the late reply none the less thank you for the great words! We have now expanded and have 5 pools - 3 swimming pools and 2 jacuzzis. Our beach lounge is also being refurbished in time for the world cup so it is a great time to come back to Insolito! In the meanwhile follow our social media sites in order to find our more!

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Wonderful Hotel, excellent and caring service. Would recommend it highly. The only thing I missed was a hammock.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank Marianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Boa Dia,

Sorry for the late reply but none the less thank you for the kind words! We appreciate the feedback and are happy to announce that we have hammocks available now. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nao escolham este hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceresrosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank AndreiaeGilmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insolito H, Guest Relations at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with family
Thank Malu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.2 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
993 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#20 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
779 reviews
1.2 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#16 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
556 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#21 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
600 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#10 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Insolito Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Insolito Boutique Hotel

Address: Rua E1 - Lotes 3 e 4 | Praia da Ferradura, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#11 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#14 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#15 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: $293 - $1,194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Insolito Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Authenticity and charm in an exclusive location, this is the mixture that makes Insolito Hotel unique. Placed on one of the most beautiful beaches in Buzios, Praia da Ferradura, the Insolito is like a leap over the sea. A subtle luxury, fruit of its comfort, modernity and charm, manifested in all five senses, compose the Insolito. Living the Insolito is more than just turning that most special dream into reality. Living the Insolito, truthfully, is to have never awakened from that dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Insolito Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Insolito Boutique Hotel Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing