We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Insolito Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa(Armacao dos Buzios)
$78
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios(Armacao dos Buzios)
$87
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa(Armacao dos Buzios)
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Rasa(Armacao dos Buzios)
$124
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Relais La Borie(Armacao dos Buzios)
$311
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Unicornio & SPA BY MN Hoteis(Armacao dos Buzios)(Great Value!)
$60
$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
PortoBay Buzios(Armacao dos Buzios)
$101
$89
Porto Bay Buzios
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Abracadabra Pousada(Armacao dos Buzios)
$165
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vila D'este(Armacao dos Buzios)
$160
$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveler rating
294
77
42
26
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
294
77
42
26
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsferradura beachintimate atmospherestayed nightspoolsdiegoloungeemanuelebrazilbuziosbaycaipirinhasunsetdecksauna
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 459 reviews
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The best hotel in Buzios and this is the only real reason for the prices. Beside this the hotel is very nice and you feel home. I liked the style very much. It is a peacefull place not to miss.

The airconditioning in the room is noisy amd unaceptable for this level of price

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pantomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Boa dia,

We thank you for the great rating. We encourage both negative and positive feedback from our clients and appreciate any points of improvement. It is the only way to maintain the high standards. We have had services for all Airconditions and would be delighted to welcome you back at Insolito in order to have another great experience!

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We loved our stay at Insolito. The hotel is very beautiful - in particular all of the common spaces. There are multiple pools (salt water, cool chlorine, heated chlorine and two different temperature hot tubs) and private lounge areas. The bar makes incredible caiparinhas - the best we had in Brazil (and we had a lot!) The beach is beautiful and we walked on it daily. The service by the front desk could be a bit better. Fabio, at the bar, deserves special mention for going out of his way to make those special touches (like getting us bath robes when we would swim at night.)

Room for improvement: We stayed in the Condomble (sp?) room. It was nice but a bit stark, especially for the price. Two twin beds pushed together does not really seem like a $500 per night room. The restaurant is the weakest link. The breakfast was nice but the dinner was simply amateur. The risotto was more like rice soaked in cheese sauce. The fish and shrimp were overcooked. The vegetables were just bad. The snacks during the day were tasty (ceviche, burger, fries). But for a "5 star" hotel with a gorgeous restaurant they really need to do better.

Overall, would stay here again, but would go into the town to eat.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Quash55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Good afternoon,

Thank you for the helpful review and feedback. We are always looking to improve in all aspects of the hotel. We are currently closed for 2 weeks before the world cup in order to redesign the beach lounge, create new menus for both drinks and food, and re organise the standards of the hotel. We would be delighted to welcome you in the future again to experience the new cuisine and trust we will surpass your expectations this time!

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been to Insolito twice and would recommend it without the shadow of a doubt to anyone who wants to get both luxury and peaceful mindset. My first time there was in 2010 and it was also my first time in Brazil: Insolito turned my experience into a pure moment of pleasure, so when I was planning on my vacation to a warm place for New Year's Eve 2013, I naturally decided to come back to this paradise.

Everything was perfect from the beginning to the end. The warm welcome and enjoyable discussions with the owner of the hotel around one of the pools with a stunning view over the bay, the permanent smile and attention of the staff who only thinks of making your desires come true, the precious and restful atmosphere of the hotel, its luxurious facilities. Once, we wanted to hit the ocean to have lunch on a hidden exquisit beach we heard about: Insolito arranged us a boat trip with their sailor to make this happen. And how nice was it when we left our room at night after a wonderful massage and discovered live bossa nova singers playing at the hotel bar, while sipping a glass of champagne... Just the thought of it makes me want to come back right now!!

Insolito made us feel relaxed. We went back from vacation perfectly serene with the feeling that we lived a unique experience, and I couldn't thank Insolito enough for that!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Kevin,

Thank you for the kind words. Being a boutique hotel we focus on the guests unique experiences the most and are glad to hear that we succeeded in this case. Please be so kind to follow us, comment, share, post and like our social media pages to keep in touch with what is happening at Insolito and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

What a shame and disappointment, but I don't wanna get too much into details, because I actually think the photos I have added to this review will speak for themselves.

While the staff is certainly very friendly and welcoming, the actually beautiful hotel shows in almost every corner a lack of maintenance. But fancy furniture and a hip design alone doesn't justify 5-star-hotel prices, even though the hotel's character gets described as "relaxed atmosphere and informal luxury." The Brazilian climate can be tough on certain materials; but it's not that difficult to avoid this.

Another important information some guests should be aware of: the only place you will receive access to the hotel's free Wifi is right at the reception. There is no signal in the rooms, not at the pool nor in any other public area of the hotel - at least not a useful/working one!

In case you are not exactly a fan of mosquitos: be careful! Due to the great location of the hotel in the middle of the beautiful, lush nature, at almost every spot of it's premises and at almost every time of the day you will be eaten up by mosquitos. A mosquito netting over the bed? No chance! As it is very typical in Brazil (I live in Brazil) there are huge gaps between the windows and the walls in every room, and hence mosquitos have easy access to the rooms. Although Insolito offers free repellent and mosquito spray, it didn't help at all - sorry, but it simply sucks waking up every night, and either to chase the nasty insects, or to scratch oneself sore the next day.

Just look at the photos I have added, and make up your own mind whether it's worth to pay at least US$ 650,00/480,00 € per night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank KerryEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRelationsInsolito, Gerente de relações com clientes at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Mr. or Mrs. KerryEdmonton,

Thank you for your review on Insólito Boutique Hotel. It is very important for us to have reviews such as yours, in order for us to always improve. We are very sorry to see that you didn’t fully enjoy your stay in our hotel.

As you well said, Brazilian climate can be tough on some materials, such as iron, wood and mattresses. We close our property once a year to update maintenance, renovate rooms and furniture. As you know, most of our furniture is designer made, and we need to have specialists to renew them.

As per the Wi-Fi, it is true that we have signal in the Lobby, and we have USB 4G modems that are available to our guests, in order to ensure comfort is access to the internet in the entire property is a key issue for it.
Concerning mosquitoes, we are aware of their presence in our property, and our housekeeping team always prepares the room twice a day, with special candles, body and room repellents. They also clean the floors with citronella oil, specially made to avoid their presence. We always advise our guest to keep their terrace doors or windows close by nightfall, which is when they usually enter the rooms.

Once again, we are very sorry that you didn’t enjoy your stay. Our main goal is always to ensure our guests satisfaction, and we kindly invite you to come back in our hotel, so that we can try to change your mind.

I remain at your entire disposal if you have any enquiries or further remarks.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had a wonderful dinner with my wife last year at Insolito's restaurant, very romantic... I thought I would be able to repeat that experience again, last week. But unfortunately the crew couldn't keep the same level of service. To start off, the starter, a salad, came at the same time as the main course... The starters in the menu were far less sophisticated than those we had last year. The main courses were fine, but nothing special. The dessert, a caramel mousse/cake was tasteless. Our overall experience was disappointing...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luiz_mario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Insolitobo, Operations Manager at Insolito Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Luiz,

Firstly apologies for the late reply. Never the less thank you for the comment. It is important to hear the comments from our guests in order to improve on a daily basis. For this reason we have closed the hotel before the world cup for 2 weeks in order to redesign all menus for both food and beverages and redesign the furniture in the beach lounge. We ensure that the standard will be right up high again as soon as we open again so we would be delighted to welcome you again for a romantic dinner in the near future!

Kind regards,
Eduardo Lang

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews