We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and relaxing”
Review of Porto Bay Buzios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Bay Buzios
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Cosy and relaxing”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very cosy and comfortable, stylish and relaxing.
The standard room is quite big and has a sofa and an armchair. A big tv-set, safe, air conditioner. We lived in room 15. I need to mention that the bathroom need a bit repairing.
All the staff is friendly and almost everyone speaks english. Especially I wanna say about Alexandre - he is helpful and told us a lot about where to go and what to see.
Unfortunately breakfast is not very various: fried eggs and small scones with cheese, different types of bread, cheese and ham, fruit (mango was fantastic!) and some cornflakes. But eggs disappeared on the second day and appeared only in a week. No problem for me but for those who is used to large breakfast with many dishes this one can seem a bit poor.
Bar menu and snacks are not very expensive if we are talking about hotel prices. Cheesburger is delicious, and do try caipirinha with passion fruit - it's awesome! Thanks to the guy who prepares it, sorry don't know his name.
The hotel is very close to the centre, only 10 min walk to Rua das Pedras. The road to the Brava beach is not easy when it is hot but okay. The beach is 15 min walk. If you take a
Buggy , you can reach all the beaches quite quickly (we took a buggy in a place recommended by hotel. The buggy was old and it can be found cheaper in other places).
What else to say? Two days before leaving the rack in the bathroom fell off. Asked at reception to all smb to fix it, but when we arrived from the beach the rack was still on the floor. I called to reception but they told they didn't have some things to fix it but they would buy and fix. Well, when we were leaving the hotel nothing changed. We still put the showers on the sink shelf.
Again - no problem for me, really, but I think the service in a boutique hotel has to be better.
You can take books to read at reception and the dvd to watch in the room (though we did't find the player). Also they have chess and some games in the lobby.
I am in the other hotel, in Rio now but I miss Porto bay Buzios, because it was silent, very much like home. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: Room 15 is okay, it is a standard room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 507MariaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your motivating and helpful feedback. We greatly appreciate your thoughts and opinions regarding our friendly staff. All your informations are very important for the improvement of our services , focusing on making each stay the best experience to our guests .
We really appreciate your constructive comments, because feedback such as yours truly enables us to reinforce the quality of our Standards.

We were delighted to have you as guest.

Best Regards,

Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    174
    46
    10
    11
See reviews for
149
371
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights mid Jan after the hustle and bustle of Rio. Lovely charming hotel, small and personal with great views over the town into the bay from it's hillside location. Very relaxing with all you need for a short break. Breakfast good, plenty of choice, wide choice of bar snacks at very reasonable prices, lovely pool area.
Room, Royal Suite, very large, but surprisingly small bathroom. Could have done with some comfy sun loungers on the very large balcony area, WI-FI in room didn't work, but fine in reception, other than that, no problems.
Staff very friendly, good English (unlike Rio) and nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patchesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Búzios, and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor.
We are so glad to learn that you enjoyed our breakfast, and your lovely comments about our staff will be certainly shared with everyone.

Warm regards,
Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is a small very attractive hotel in Buzios and this was our second vist. The host Alexander is attentive and helpful and the entire staff service oriented. The primary staff all spoke English. The rooms are large and comfortable and clean. The patios are large and have a tropical view outside, which is a welcome respite from a warm day at the beach or shopping in Buzios. The hotel is within easy walking distance to a beach and several good restaurants. It is a good value in an area that can be pricey during the high season.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LIZ250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente de recepção at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really proud that your overall impression was excellent. Thank you for your choice to use our services, and in order to achieve this aim, it is always important to know your opinion on it.
We will be informing all the staff about your positive observations to motivate them even further.

Sincerely Grateful,
Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Having travelled direct from London to the hotel, the long journey felt worth it, as we were greeted by a team of truly dedicated people offering a level of service you expect in a 5 star luxury offering. From the GM to the breakfast team, you feel they all are willing you to have the best experience possible while you are there. Location is ideal for a stroll into town or to the beach if you can drag yourself away from the comfort of the hotel's relaxed surroundings.

Room Tip: Royal Suite is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul_H_Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Gerente geral at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel. It is encouraging as our guest’s satisfaction is our primary concern.
We all hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again very soon!
Warm Regards from Búzios!

Sincerely Grateful,
Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very beautiful, very quiet and very comfortable. Ideal for our honeymoon! The room was big, comfortable and clean, but the hedges in front of the window impeded any view of the ocean, which can be seen from the lobby or the higher locations. The breakfast buffet was decent in choice, and good quality. But the lunch menu was very limited and service during that time was greatly delayed by lack of staff. There seemed to be a general lack of saff, to say the truth. Our room was not cleaned until noon or early afernoon. Also, wifi was available only from the lobby, and was very slow.
But as I said, it was a very comfortable place to stay, very peaceful, relaxing. Staff was extremely helpful and very courteous.
I would look forward to returning and experience the place with no staff shortage.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Guest Relations Manager at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your preference in staying at Porto Bay Buzios, and for sharing your experience here at Trip Advisor. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast, and your lovely comments about our staff will be certainly shared with everyone. In reply ro your descriptions about the delayed to clean your room, I would like to appologize, our Housekeeping works during the hole day, so some rooms will be cleaned earlier and some later, but we realy appreciate all your suggestions.
Warm regards from Buzios!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

So, very mixed feelings on leaving the little slice of heaven that is Buzios, mainly occasioned by our hotel choice, which should have been a hit but was something a little less.

First impressions of the hotel are great. It's nicely positioned near the centre of the town which can be walked in 10 minutes, and we walked to four different beaches during our stay without difficulty (including Brava - which has the divine Rocka as a culinary option and which cannot be recommended enough). The swimming pool area is idyllic and the hotel has a very calm feel to it.

And the staff - the staff are so helpful and friendly. Nothing is too much for them and they provided plenty of useful recommendations for eating, drinking and pleasure activities. Star of the show is the new manager who has just arrived from Portugal - he was exceptional and sorted out a couple of little problems in a very efficient manner (notably the transfer back to Rio, more of which later).

But, alas, the hotel is let down by some faults that defeat its objective to be one of the leading hotels in the area. We chose the Porto Bay on the assumption that being part of a chain it would conform to the expectations of that chain. Chief among these was air conditioning, which can be ropey in parts, which is no fun in the Brazilian summer. And here the Porto Bay let us down. Our Suite Royale - beautifully spacious and comfortable otherwise - had a failing unit that kept us panting for air in the still of the night. Opening the window only allowed in all manner of bugs, that bit me to smithereens to the point where I looked like a victim of some tropical disease. The hotel had no spare rooms so we couldn't be moved. It being Christmas, there was no maintenance on site or available in the area. We were lucky that the weather cooled after the first night, but a hotel of this rating shouldn't have such difficulties.

Likewise, the breakfast was somewhat lacking. Admittedly this deficiency was increased in the light of our having visited the Sheraton Resort in Rio just beforehand, which had the king of breakfasts, but it was a weak offering with limited choice. Yes, we understood that Buzios was not Rio. But yes, we also chose the hotel on the basis that as a quality chain it should have had a better standard,

Finally, there was an unseemly incident with the transfer back to Rio where considerable confusion surrounded the payment of 100 Reals pp for the joy of a 5 hour trip back to the city in shared coaches. This is by far the most economical way to make the journey by the way if you have time to spare - a taxi will cost a lot more and the intercity bus is cheaper but adding taxi costs on both ends increases the price to the same level. But, I was not best pleased to discover a travel agent in town offering the same transfer for 70 Reals pp. The whole thing also has to be paid in cash which was told for the return leg to us rather late in the day, and which led to farcical scenes at midnight in Buzios central square at a cashpoint refusing to accept any of my 4 cards, which then went on the fraud list in London! The excellent manager mentioned above sorted the problem out in the morning and allowed us to pay by the remaining working card we had, but it was a mess that didn't need to have had happen.

I think that in a few months, because of the new manager and his plans to shake things up, the Porto Bay will be a great place to stay. Unfortunately we came just a little too soon.

Room Tip: Suite Royales have the best views as they are on the top level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Grand_Tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Guest Relations Manager at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
All your informations are very important for the improvement of our services, focusing on making each stay the best experience to our guests.
We really appreciate your construtive comments, because feedback such as yours truly enables us to reinforce the quality of our standards. Our Manager is really glad about the positive comments about him and the staff.
In reply to your descriptions we would like to inform you that the measures are being taken care.
We hope to have the pleasure to host you again in the near future, so you will witness that the hotel improved even more.
Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

THE GOOD:
Spacious bedrooms with nice living room.
Good breakfast.
Extremely nice people, great customer service.

THE BAD:
The location could be better, it's not by the beach and the town is still developing, so no sidewalks, a little dusty, etc.
The bedrooms are just ok, nothing spectacular, maybe just above average.

THE UGLY:
The bathrooms need some work, it gets very moldy, and it's smells very humid inside, I think there's even a few fungus growing on the walls, because of that humidity.

THE BOTTOM LINE:
If the price is right, it may be worth it, it's not a great location, nor a spectacular hotel... I would probably look elsewhere closer to the center of town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortobayRI, Guest Relations Manager at Porto Bay Buzios, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for choosing Porto Bay as your accomodation choice during your recent stay in Buzios and for taking he time to complete your review. First of all thank you for your comments about our staff and service. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences you may had have. We would like to inform you that necessary action have been taken to correct the points you highlighted. We hope to welcome you again in the future and have the opportunity to make this next stay a more pleasant one.
Warms regards from Porto Bay Buzios!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.3 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perola Buzios Hotel
Perola Buzios Hotel
#13 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#14 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#6 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vila d'este
Vila d'este
#7 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
Pousada Aguas Claras Buzios
#4 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Bay Buzios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Bay Buzios

Property: Porto Bay Buzios
Address: Rua 15, n0 10 | Centro - Armacao de Buzios, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil (Formerly Porto Bay Glenzhaus)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#4 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#16 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Bay Buzios 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born as a small fishing village, today Buzios is a paradise for those who love gastronomy, art and ecology while at the same time boasting an amazing night life. PortoBay Buzios* is a boutique hotel in the city centre of the of Buzios. 21 Suites in a sumptuous tropical setting are a certain recipe for peace and quiet, all with silent air conditioning, free internet access and minibar. Breakfast can be served near the pool leading you to one more unforgettable moment... This boutique lodge is near the beaches that surround the peninsula and a few steps from the famous Rua das Pedras. Here you will find a huge variety of traditional stores, different art galleries, traditional handcraft and some amazing restaurants where you can appreciate the simple pleasures of food A corner of paradise...* Previously named as Porto Bay Glenzhaus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Porto Bay Buzios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Hotel Buzios
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Buzios
Porto Bay Buzios Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing