We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place!”
Review of PortoBay Buzios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
PortoBay Buzios
Ranked #10 of 103 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a lovely place!”
Reviewed June 25, 2011

This was the relaxing part of our honeymoon and what a lovely place it was! It was just like being in your own villa. The rooms were spacious and the grounds were secluded. The pool was never crowded and you could always get a lounger. Breakfast by the pool everyday came with fresh fruit and freshly made breads and you could order whatever you wanted. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was only a short walk into the picturesque town of Buzios itself. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlanH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontDesk_10, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Buzios, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Porto Bay Glenzhaus as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Buzios and for this wonderful detailed review. We are so delighted to read your comments about our breakfast service, confortable rooms and courteous staff.
I already shared your appraisal with everyone motivating them even further.
We hope to host you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards!

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    178
    46
    10
    11
See reviews for
149
375
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surbiton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Really enjoyed our five nights here in May. Our room was very good, big with nice décor but a bath would have been nice.

Best thing about our stay were the staff, particularly the 2 chaps on reception. They were really helpful, polite and always had a smile on their faces - why can’t all hotels have staff like this!? The Manager was also excellent and kindly gave us a lift to the bus station at the end of our stay - a nice touch.

The hotel isn’t cheap so you should expect good service but i`ve stayed in more expensive hotels and not received the attention we did here.

Could update the gym a little but overall a very good place to stay.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank GWMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVieiraRiodeJaneiro, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Buzios, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure to hear that you had an enjoyable stay in our hotel and that you were satisfied with our service from the front desk and operational staff. We will be informing them of your positive observations to motivate them even further.We also thank you for all suggestions, so we can focus more accurately on improving our services.
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We spent the weekend at Porto Bay Glenzhaus and it was simply stunning. A fantastic hotel to take the whole family to, providing a luxurious and relaxing environment for parents, and a safe and enjoyable place for kids also.
You have the peace and quiet for people that want a relaxing holiday, but you are still only a quick walk away from the famous "Rua das Pedras" in the Centro of Buzios when you want to hit the nightlife and restaurants.
We will definately be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank StevePana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVieiraRiodeJaneiro, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Buzios, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear Client,
Thank you very much for your comments in relation to your stay at Porto Bay GlenzHaus.
The hotel is located in a relaxing and safe area with a lot peace and fresh air. Although with a ten minutes walking you can find several options of restaurants and bars. We are glad that you enjoyed the city.We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.


Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Lovely place, big rooms, and very helpful friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bateses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

When you go to Búzios, you can expect all types of weather, either a sunny and very hot beach day, or rainy days for a long period of time. But even if it rains everyday of your stay, if you were as lucky as me, and chose the "Pousada Porto Bay Glenzhaus" for your stay, you'll have a blast for sure! Once you get inside the "pousada" you fall in love with it. The lobby's decoration is very neat and charming, and you have a magnificent view to the sea! The receptionist, Marcos, was very kind, as every brasilian, and gave me a lot of important tips, such as good restaurants, beaches, night clubs and so on. My room was also breath taking, very neat and romantic. The housekeeping ladies were also very thoughtful and nice people, in particular Maria, who I had the opportunity to talk with. The breakfast was the best thing the pousada had to offer. Anything I tell you about how delicious it was, won't be enough! You just have to taste it by yourself.
And finally, the hotel managers, Sara and Bernardo. You won't believe that such young people are the ones responsible for the management of this marvellous, astonishing and romantic place!
For all of the above, the place, the staff, the ambience, I highly recommend you the Porto Bay Glenzhaus!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Teresinhazilhao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

A very pleasent hotel. I really recommend it. Its not in the middle of Buzios but it takes 10 minutes on foot. The girl who served the breakfast Fabiane was very kind, and the manager Bernardo too. I had a few problems in Rio's airport but he solved all he problems with the maximum professionalism. He´s a young boy, but very nice.
Thank you all for everything you did to me and my friends, all directions were perfect, all service was great. And i will be back again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RBF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVieiraRiodeJaneiro, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Buzios, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our breakfast and in the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor.
We will be informing them of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We are really happy that your overall impression about the hotel was excellent, so we all look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Buzios. Do not hesitate to contact me for any request.

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Actually I stayed there few years ago, but there is only 2010-11 options, so I chose the month I was there (December)

The hotel was located a little bit far from the beach, but it was nice just to give us a chance to walk around and found many beaches.

Hotel staff were very friendly and they served us Caparinha as welcoming drink :) The lobby area has a nice sofa with Black Gammon table. We sat there, playing game and having Caparinha as long as we want.

The breakfast was really nice. Even it's a simple things, but they decorated it beautifully. We could order the scramble eggs, and they would cook it as wanted. We had the breakfast beside the swimming pool everyday, so we could enjoy the bird's singing and the fresh air in the morning.

The swimming pool was also nice, together with the bed nearby that we could go lay down and relaxed in the afternoon.

I would definitely go back there with my husband when we have chance :)

Room Tip: Inform them what you like or prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Makharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AVieiraRiodeJaneiro, Gerente de recepção at PortoBay Buzios, responded to this review, June 3, 2011
Dear Client,
I would like to thank you for choosing our as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Buzios and for taking the time to complete your review.
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our breakfast and your lovely comments about our hotel decoration that we will certainly share with our staff
We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Luciana Meda
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.3 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
931 reviews
0.7 mi away
Perola Buzios Hotel
Perola Buzios Hotel
#13 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
821 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#19 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
723 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#8 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
668 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#11 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PortoBay Buzios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoBay Buzios

Property: PortoBay Buzios
Address: Rua 15, n0 10 | Centro - Armacao de Buzios, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil (Formerly Porto Bay Glenzhaus)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#4 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#16 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — PortoBay Buzios 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Born as a small fishing village, today Buzios is a paradise for those who love gastronomy, art and ecology while at the same time boasting an amazing night life. PortoBay Buzios* is a boutique hotel in the city centre of the of Buzios. 21 Suites in a sumptuous tropical setting are a certain recipe for peace and quiet, all with silent air conditioning, free internet access and minibar. Breakfast can be served near the pool leading you to one more unforgettable moment... This boutique lodge is near the beaches that surround the peninsula and a few steps from the famous Rua das Pedras. Here you will find a huge variety of traditional stores, different art galleries, traditional handcraft and some amazing restaurants where you can appreciate the simple pleasures of food A corner of paradise...* Previously named as Porto Bay Glenzhaus ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your PortoBay Buzios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Hotel Buzios
Porto Bay Glenzhaus Buzios
PortoBay Buzios Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing