We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brazilian secluded oasis”
Review of Cachoeira Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cachoeira Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“brazilian secluded oasis”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Rio is carnaval magic 24/7 and Buzios is its private getaway...and cachoeira inn is the jewel of Buzios! Susan & Matt make this magical waterfall paradise come to life and they make sure that your time is well spent while enjoying hospitality like few places can offer. Every detail is taken care of in the small and private resort. We had a great time in the pools and n the private ocean cove with turtles swimming below. When we ventured out of the resort we were led to the best beaches, and long walks on the peninsula. Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thuckaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
201
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2013

What a great place. The Cachoeira Inn is an unbelievably beautiful pousada. So many waterfalls and pools. Just the sound of the water is relaxing. It only has 4 rooms so privacy is never a problem. Everything is perfect. There is no neglected maintenance at the inn or the grounds. The rooms are perfect. Big, comfortable beds. The web site has plenty of pictures and it really is that beautiful. But what really sets this posada apart from all others, and can’t be depicted on a web site, are the owners, Matt and Susan. You would be hard pressed to find more gracious hosts. All you have to do is ask and they will try to accommodate you. They are the friendliest couple. I’ve been to Buzios many times and even I learned new restaurants to try and new things to do. Every time I go to Buzios I try a different pousada but now that I have found Cachoeira Inn, I wouldn’t want to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcpnla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Thanks to Matt & Susan for creating this incredible island paradise that we were lucky enough to have enjoyed for 4 nights. Everything was perfect: from the breathtaking view from our room, the tucked away pools each with a dramatic & unique view of the water, the breakfasts with the freshest of fruit juices and locally made jams - to Matt & Susan themselves. They made us feel so welcome - whether creating the perfect birthday for me (with no reference to the obscenely large number!) to patiently nursing Anthony with endless supplies of tea, towels & honey! We are already plotting our return! We were sorry to leave but feel so lucky to have experienced Buzios through the Cachoeira Inn!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Buzios is a Braziilian gem and Cachoeira Inn is one of it's sparkles. Matt and Susan have done a wonderful job at creating a place to enjoy the beauty of Buzios from. They are excellent hosts and know the ins and out of the town. Susan is a very positive energetic woman with a great sense of humour. Matt is a talented engineer who could get water to the moon if he had to.

There are not many rooms at Cochoeira so you will never get a crowded feeling when you are there. Also, no children are allowed, unless you rent the entire inn, which keeps it quiet and relaxing.
The inn is located on a cliff with a small rock beach. As you venture down the cliff, there are little stops/areas where you can choose to nest for the day. The staff (and often Matt) were very attentive and regularly passed by to make sure we had enough to drink, which is a must during the Brazilian summer. Most other guests chose to leave for the day, so you can imagine how quiet it was.

My routine was as follows: after an excellent breakfast overlooking the bay, we went to the chosen nest of the day. We read, enjoyed the small pools that Matt has engineered to flow throughout the inn, took a dip in the sea, snorkelled, and as lunchtime approached, ordered a Caipirinha. By lunch time, we walked to Praia da Ferradura which hosts several restaurants. I wish I would have kayaked to there, which I forgot to try. There's a restaurant at Ferradura that prepares a fresh grilled fish that will make you moan. Praia da Ferradura is a popular beach where one can easily meet people, if you want to socialise with other tourist or locals.

I had some friends staying at the nearby Insolito Hotel, which is a very cool and hip hotel right next door to the Cachoeira. If you are not sure whether to stay at the Insolito or the Cachoeira, you need to understand that each offer a very different vibe. Stay at the Cachoeira if you want a romantic escape with seclusion and privacy. Stay and the Insolito if you want to meet other people. Stay at the Cachoeira if you want both ...it's right next door to the Insolito ;-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank INJECTION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

In 10 years Matt and Susan have created Shangri-La. I stayed for 7 days in late January prior to Carnival in Rio and felt like I could stay indefinitely.
Multiple water falls , pool, sauna, a Great Dane, 3 cats, nearby beaches, great views,extensiv bar service, wonderful food, great masseuse available . I have been to 83 countries and hundreds of boutique hotels and classy B and Bs. In my experience this place is number one in the world

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Lovely bed and breakfast in buzios with great private areas, kayaking to the beach, lovely breakfasts and fantastic drinks! The only reason I have given four stars is for the price it would have been nice to have your own private area with your room, and to have the small luxuries like bathrobes and large fluffy towels. Overall though an amazing experience, fantastic place and great hosts.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is a heaven on earth. One of the best places we stayed at in South American. The owners of the hotel are very welcoming and helpful.. They are without a doubt the most wonderful couple. They gave us amazing recommendations and suggestions on where to go and what to eat. They really took care of us. We didn't want to leave the place. It's gorgeous and we enjoyed every single bit of it.
Thank you Suzan and Matt for the amazing vacation.

Room Tip: Pick one of the ocean view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.3 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#17 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pousadas Unicornio
Pousadas Unicornio
#23 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
492 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ferradura Private
Hotel Ferradura Private
#18 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
195 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#19 of 103 in Armacao dos Buzios
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cachoeira Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cachoeira Inn

Property: Cachoeira Inn
Address: Rua E 1 # 18 | Praia da Ferradura, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 358 B&Bs / Inns in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cachoeira Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cachoeira Inn is a Luxurious Tropical Asian Style Inn. We’re located in Ferradura Beach along the eastern shoreline. From our privileged location you’ll experience breathtaking sunsets, with the ocean and distant hillside setting your scene. You will be immersed in total luxury, while enjoying 9-waterfalls, 5-pools, 2-private sand beaches, sundecks, gardens, stream, sauna, bbq, swim-up bar and private ocean access. Our maximum capacity of 8-10 guests, allows us to deliver a truly personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cachoeira Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cachoeira Hotel Buzios
Cachoeira Inn Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing