We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #21 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A friend and I came here in January for two nights and found this place to be very mediocre.

We booked a King size room with a balcony view and ended up getting put in a room with a noisy AC unit. They graciously moved us to a lower unit which we had no problem with but did not compensate us in any way. Along with that, we had to remind them several times that we needed our luggages to be moved.

The property was very relaxing. They have great outdoor loungers that are perfect for reading, writing or snoozing. The pool could use an upgrade as it is small enough to maybe fit 4 people total.

The location is good- close to the beach and the "HOnest Bar" was a cool concept I have never seen before but overall OVERPRICED!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmercanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquabarra B, Gerente de recepção at Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your comment.
Make Aquabarra your home in Buzios.
We wait you here again.

Best regards;
Aline Narciso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    357
    130
    46
    14
    11
See reviews for
141
339
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We returned to Aquabarra this April with my Brother in law and Nephew and had the same excellent service, lovely clean and bright rooms and a terrific time during our stay. Perfectly located in Buzios, Geriba remains my favourite of all the beaches and my Brother in law managed to get some surf too, which was a bonus. The breakfast is substantial and tasty and the general atmosphere is cool, chilled, relaxed and homely. My Nephew fell in love with Chico and Wanda, the resident pooches, and overcame some of his phobia to dogs, which was a wonderful added bonus. Would highly recommend and hope to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden rooms again, which are below the deck, but are perfectly set out and have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JojoJacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquaboutique, Owner at Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are very glad for your nephew feelings
Sure Chico & Wanda miss him
Thanks again for your review and hope you can come again
all our best
Lily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I came to enjoy Buzios with a friend and found that hotel we booked turned out nothing like the reviews or the photos of it indicated. Luckily, we were recommended Aquabarra, and this was a perfect fit. The owners are a fun, worldly couple who run this boutique hotel like a home, and one receives not only personalised attention, but also a feeling of total relaxation and acceptance. While others guests hurried to the beach, we opted for staying on the premises, this is how tranquil and pleasant this spot was, even at the height of the tourist season. If we are ever back in Buszios, we will definitely come back to Aquabarra. A great value for money, and a lovely spot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarfishJourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquabarra B, Gerente de recepção at Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your comment.
Make Aquabarra your home in Buzios.
We wait you here again.

Best regards;
Aline Narciso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Spent 4 nights as this gorgeous and uniquely decorated boutique hotel and loved every second. I'd go back in a flash! Every nook and cranny around the pool reveals a different type of day bed or sofa to relax on.

Only 5 minutes on foot to the beautiful Geriba Beach and a perfect place to come home to, refresh in the sparkling swimming pool, relax and unwind.

Highly recommended !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquabarra B, Gerente de recepção at Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your comment.
Make Aquabarra your home in Buzios.
We wait you here again.

Best regards;
Aline Narciso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was our first experience of a Boutique hotel and of Buzios and it was absolutely superb. Couldn't fault the hotel; the staff were so helpful and yet you hardly noticed them around, the rooms were spacious and unique and homely and modern and kitsch all at the same time. The outside areas are so calming and chilling, with a multitude of seats and seating arrangements and beautiful artefacts and decorations - we would have been happy just to stay on the outside deck all day! Buzios is great and Geriba beach, just a short walk from Aquabarra was my favourite, although on the slightly cooler side, and a short drive or taxi journey away you were in a vibrant, touristy resort village with a multitude of shops, bars and restaurants. We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a lower room beneath the pool area which was nice and cool but the upper areas had balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JojoJacques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquabarra, Owner at Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear!!!
Thanks a lot for being so charming....we realy try to put our best to help you feel fantastic
My staff and me are happy to have again "home'
Please come again !!
warm regards
Lily
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This september was our first time in Buzios and also in AQuabarra. Buzios is great but Aquabarra is the best way to enjoy this paradise. Take note: ask for room # 3, it is wonderfull, big and very well decorated (like the rest of the hotel) but the view is incredible with a great deck who invite you to stay watching the sunset. Breakfast had many options of pastries, cheeses, juices and fresh fruits. Also the staff is like a group of friends. I know many boutiques hotels in the world, this is one of the best until now. Very romantic, relaxing and enjoyable place. We will be back soon.
Very important: ask for Lili, she knows everithing you need to know.

Room Tip: Any room is a great room but can ask for # 3 or # 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfredo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquabarra B, Gerente de recepção at Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your comment.
Make Aquabarra your home in Buzios.
We wait you here again.

Best regards;
Aline Narciso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This august I visited Aquabarra for my second time and I have to say it was better than the first. The view from our room was amazing. The room also had a gorgeous deck the bed was incredibly comfortable. The breakfast is perfect with a lot of options, fruit, pastries, eggs cheese, lots of juices and a foreman like grill to make your own sandwhiches.

This trip I also explored more of Buzios. There are so many beaches and beautiful hills, and great restaurants in town. Oh and I also got a massage right at the hotel :).

Room Tip: almost all the rooms have there own dedicated outdoor space but some have really nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquabarra B, Gerente de recepção at Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for your comment.
Make Aquabarra your home in Buzios.
We wait you here again.

Best regards;
Aline Narciso
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
2.7 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#9 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
685 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pousadas Unicornio
Pousadas Unicornio
#26 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
500 reviews
2.1 mi away
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#27 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Perola Buzios Hotel
Perola Buzios Hotel
#15 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
843 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#7 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
682 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#16 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua da Colina de Geriba 16 | lot. Sitio do Campinho, Buzios, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#11 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#14 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa, with its authenticity and charisma will make it a unique place for your next vacations. It is located tree blocks away from the exclusive Geriba beach and 5 minutes from the famous Rua das Pedras (in car).Aquabarra offers a subtle luxury, focused on the comfort and the careful selection of each detail. Every corner features various objects, art pieces and special collections from our travels and experiences, aiming to reflect our personal style and emphasizing design, harmony and serenity.Our services include restaurant, lounge, bar and good music. Solarium, gazebos, ocean-view pool, sauna, and Spa area with excellent professionals. We count with 15 suites, all with different views and uniquely decorated.A very complete and delicious breakfast buffet is included in our rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel And Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel Buzios
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing