We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
London - UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stylish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

Stylish pousada in Geriba beach. Lots of glamour.
Nice breakfast. Attentious, polite and very friendly staff. Great music selection.
Liked the "honest" bar concept.
A bit of a walk to the beach, which is not consistent with website description - perhaps something that should be revisited, hence my 4 point rate.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PedroREIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    128
    46
    14
    11
See reviews for
127
323
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The worse thing about this hotel is that you come away feeling duped. My girlfriend and I stayed here and had booked full of trepidation. Pushing the boat out a bit we'd booked the best room in the place, the 'master suite with the ocean view.'

Now somethings maybe lost in translation but I assure you it wasn't a suite. I've lived in Brazil and speak good Portuguese, but I think 'suite' in South America must mean 'room' and as for the 'sea view', yes, the description was technically correct as by squinting and craning your neck around the trees, houses, and other apartments, you could actually just about see the sea, so no come back there; but it really is taking the michael to describe any rooms at the Aqua Barra as having a sea view, seeing as the beach is a good 15 minute walk away. Basil Fawlty would have approved.

Which is the other thing that really grates on you... The web site, with its clever photography suggests the rooms are much bigger than they really are, and the text suggest you are a stone's thrown from the beach. Wrong on both counts. The beach is a good walk away via some ropey back streets.

However, the hotel itself is perfectly fine, the rooms are ok, the service is ok, and the breakfast is very good. There is an element of bohemian charm to the place, much promoted by the ex hippy owners, and all in all our stay there was ok.

But, and this is the big but, we struggled to overcome the initial deflation and disappointment of thinking we had booked into some seriously plush and deluxe gaff fronting the beach, when in fact we'd only booked into a place with ideas way above its station, some very creative web text, and a very talented photographer who makes the web site look a lot better than it is in reality.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Very charming, great rooms, great location and very friendly service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

A wonderful place for relax and partying! Lily and Ale, the owners are great hosts, they make you feel at the same time at home but in a very special place. The atmosphere of Aquabarra is full of magic. Great view of the ocean, comfortable rooms all very well decorated, a very charming place!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
388 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

The hotel is lovely with an great mix of bohemian and ethnic. The hotel is in lovely grounds with lots of quiet areas where you can sit or sunbath. The rooms are lovely although we did have to complain about building work starting two doors down at 8 in the morning. It didn't happen again until after 9 but still disturbed the peaceful feel of the hotel. We had a meal we had to send back on day 1 because it wasn't cooked properly, but after that got cabs into town which are cheap & the town is lovely. The rooms are clean & breakfast very good. Location wise it is a bit out of town but cabs are cheap and it's only about 40 mins. It's also great for walks to the quiet beaches on the other coast with good viewpoints.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poopyscoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

I loved this place. It's 3 minutes walk to Geriba which is the best beach in Buzios and ten minutes to a tiny little beach called ferradurinha that was also super nice. the patio area is amazing, with the perfect set up for sitting in the sun or shade, reading, chatting with friends and swimming. there are tons of nooks and cranies and always a new sitting space to discover... oh and the view is gorgeous. the room my girlfriend and i stayed in was great with a cute little private balcony, super comfy bed and a television. Breakfast was great too with perfect pastries, scrambled eggs, sandwich presses and lots of fruit. Finally the staff and owners were super nice and accommodating and everything was clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chris723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Excellent place...!!! for holidays, for resting, for partying, for simply getting the best of beautiful Buzios!

Room Tip: Each room has its especial touch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
2.1 mi away
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
Le Village Buzios Boutique Hotel
#19 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
1.6 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#14 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#13 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Perola Buzios Hotel
Perola Buzios Hotel
#11 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
2.5 mi away
Azeda Boutique Hotel
Azeda Boutique Hotel
#17 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
2.0 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 100 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa

Property: Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Address: Rua da Colina de Geriba 16 | lot. Sitio do Campinho, Buzios, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#11 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#14 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa, with its authenticity and charisma will make it a unique place for your next vacations. It is located tree blocks away from the exclusive Geriba beach and 5 minutes from the famous Rua das Pedras (in car).Aquabarra offers a subtle luxury, focused on the comfort and the careful selection of each detail. Every corner features various objects, art pieces and special collections from our travels and experiences, aiming to reflect our personal style and emphasizing design, harmony and serenity.Our services include restaurant, lounge, bar and good music. Solarium, gazebos, ocean-view pool, sauna, and Spa area with excellent professionals. We count with 15 suites, all with different views and uniquely decorated.A very complete and delicious breakfast buffet is included in our rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel And Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel Buzios
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing