We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tropico de Capricornio
Ranked #60 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Lovely pousada, on a hill overlooking the Buzios peninsula. Comfortable room with terrace, large bathroom with jacuzzi and sunny pool area. 15 minute stroll into town; easy to get taxis back after dark. Very friendly owners, breakfast on the terrace a particular treat!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graceful_Hedonist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
There are newer reviews for Tropico de Capricornio
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 137 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2011

Me and my wife spent the Easter Holiday at this lovely Hotel/Pousada. This was the perfect escape from the big city - Sao Paulo, where we live for the time being. Fresh air, beautiful view over Buzios, charming rooms, good service and it all comes together in a very relaxing environment. We are already planning of going back.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobiasral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Wonderful breakfast. The Swiss-French couple that runs the place gives you a wonderfull time. Do not forget asking Mr. Elios to turn on the downstairs dry sauna!!! Really good place with spectacular swimming pool with nice view to Buzios city and its bays.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Verlindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hosts were extremely welcoming and friendly, the breakfast was wonderful with a great choice of food. The pool was very chic as was the room! It was also very clean. Would definitely return. From Ed and Marine (France).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdJamesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Fantastic place - the owners are very friendly; the place is marvellous and the view over the sea is majestic!

You will love it!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camila_Elton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Buzios is a wonderful place with many superb places to stay ...avoid here and you will have a brilliant time.

An isolated location,faded furniture and decoration ,loud and ineffective air conditioning,a colony of mosquitos and a depressing ambience make it inconceivable that this is a 4 star pousada.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tverulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elios-Tropico, Proprietário at Tropico de Capricornio, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2011

Good evening tverulam!
We will appreciate, if it's possible, to send ours apologies not to a pseudonym but to person whom we know.
For the isolated situation, we are very sorry; we don’t want to change our privileged and unique location. Our web site and all operators showed a Buzios map with the location of all referred hotel and Pousada, the location could not be a surprise.
In December 2010, all air conditioning were checked and some changed.
In December 2010, the decoration of the Banana Plantation House was renewed.
The Buzios administration doesn’t have any anti-mosquito policy, except case of dengue infection declared. Periodically, we smoke out an insecticide specific for the mosquitoes in all the property. We did not receive any complaint of infections. All rooms are equipped with insecticide plugs and a repellent lotion of insects is available at the reception. Also regularly, we protect ourselves from the spiders and other crawling insects.
About depressing ambiance, we send you, again, ours apologies. In refers with the others critical, you are the exception that proves the rule.
We would like to present you our excuses personally.
Thank you for your criticisms.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

The accomodations at Tropico de Capricornio were replete with Ipe joinery enough bathroom space for three and beautiful views over looking the north, south, and eastern coastlines of the peninsula. I enjoyed the fresh breakfast tremendously every morning, with toast, fresh fruits, and wonderful homemade fruit spreads unique to Tropico de Capricornio. I would highly regard the value of what you pay when referring friends to this accomodation, we were very lucky to have stayed here during Carnival in Buzios because it was so affordable compared to everything else. Thank you so much to the family of Tropico de Capricornio!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgrayda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.0 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#17 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
499 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
#37 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
#30 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
200 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#21 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
567 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chez Pitu Praia Hotel
Chez Pitu Praia Hotel
#25 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropico de Capricornio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropico de Capricornio

Address: Rua Alto de Buzios 25, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#15 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#20 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#25 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: $129 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropico de Capricornio 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico de Capricornio is a lovely boutique hotel situated on the heights of Alto de Búzios, a privileged and protected quarter in the heart of an 8,000 m² tropical park, totally closed off and secure. Nine very comfortable suites offer an unequaled panoramic view over Ferradura beach and Búzios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Tropico de Capricornio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico De Capricornio Buzios
Tropico De Capricornio Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing