We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tropico de Capricornio
Ranked #61 of 104 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Amazing place to stay.”
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Wonderful breakfast. The Swiss-French couple that runs the place gives you a wonderfull time. Do not forget asking Mr. Elios to turn on the downstairs dry sauna!!! Really good place with spectacular swimming pool with nice view to Buzios city and its bays.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verlindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    34
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
19
78
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2011

The hosts were extremely welcoming and friendly, the breakfast was wonderful with a great choice of food. The pool was very chic as was the room! It was also very clean. Would definitely return. From Ed and Marine (France).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdJamesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Fantastic place - the owners are very friendly; the place is marvellous and the view over the sea is majestic!

You will love it!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camila_Elton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armacao dos Buzios, RJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2010

Buzios is a wonderful place with many superb places to stay ...avoid here and you will have a brilliant time.

An isolated location,faded furniture and decoration ,loud and ineffective air conditioning,a colony of mosquitos and a depressing ambience make it inconceivable that this is a 4 star pousada.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tverulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elios-Tropico, Proprietário at Tropico de Capricornio, responded to this review, January 6, 2011
Good evening tverulam!
We will appreciate, if it's possible, to send ours apologies not to a pseudonym but to person whom we know.
For the isolated situation, we are very sorry; we don’t want to change our privileged and unique location. Our web site and all operators showed a Buzios map with the location of all referred hotel and Pousada, the location could not be a surprise.
In December 2010, all air conditioning were checked and some changed.
In December 2010, the decoration of the Banana Plantation House was renewed.
The Buzios administration doesn’t have any anti-mosquito policy, except case of dengue infection declared. Periodically, we smoke out an insecticide specific for the mosquitoes in all the property. We did not receive any complaint of infections. All rooms are equipped with insecticide plugs and a repellent lotion of insects is available at the reception. Also regularly, we protect ourselves from the spiders and other crawling insects.
About depressing ambiance, we send you, again, ours apologies. In refers with the others critical, you are the exception that proves the rule.
We would like to present you our excuses personally.
Thank you for your criticisms.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2010

The accomodations at Tropico de Capricornio were replete with Ipe joinery enough bathroom space for three and beautiful views over looking the north, south, and eastern coastlines of the peninsula. I enjoyed the fresh breakfast tremendously every morning, with toast, fresh fruits, and wonderful homemade fruit spreads unique to Tropico de Capricornio. I would highly regard the value of what you pay when referring friends to this accomodation, we were very lucky to have stayed here during Carnival in Buzios because it was so affordable compared to everything else. Thank you so much to the family of Tropico de Capricornio!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgrayda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alba 01
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Location was great and the view was outstanding. The hosts were very helpful with advice on things to do in the area as well as organising airport transfers. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alba01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

Stayed here for two nights while travelling in Brazil in Jan 2010. It's a private home run by a very welcoming couple, with amazing views over the bays of Buzios. All of the rooms have private terraces and are large and very comfortable. Great breakfasts. It's secluded with a lovely pool area - a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.0 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#17 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
493 reviews
2.0 mi away
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
Rio Buzios Boutique Hotel
#36 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
Costa Do Sol Boutique Hotel
#28 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#20 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
558 reviews
1.6 mi away
Abracadabra Pousada
Abracadabra Pousada
#8 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
547 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chez Pitu Praia Hotel
Chez Pitu Praia Hotel
#26 of 104 in Armacao dos Buzios
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropico de Capricornio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropico de Capricornio

Property: Tropico de Capricornio
Address: Rua Alto de Buzios 25, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#14 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#20 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#24 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropico de Capricornio 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropico de Capricornio is a lovely boutique hotel situated on the heights of Alto de Búzios, a privileged and protected quarter in the heart of an 8,000 m² tropical park, totally closed off and secure. Nine very comfortable suites offer an unequaled panoramic view over Ferradura beach and Búzios. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Tropico de Capricornio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropico De Capricornio Buzios
Tropico De Capricornio Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing