We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Buzios”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios
Ranked #30 of 101 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Buzios”
Reviewed April 26, 2011

The Hotel was clean and quiet. It actually not that big so it's not crowded. The service was excellent from the staff.

The room was good, but the bathroom could have been better laid out, it was a bit cramped.

The Serena is located close to Geriba beach, one of the best beach I've seen so far, great sand, clean and few waves.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcst_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    238
    57
    30
    37
See reviews for
305
518
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We stayed at Serena for a week in March. The staff could not have been more helpful, they went out of their way to make sure we were happy - and we were. it's also only a 5 minute walk to Geriba beach where the resort has it's own reserved area with seating and parasols.

The room was clean, spacious and everything we could have asked for - comfy bed, TV, fridge, plenty of cupboard space, our own jacuzzi and seating area outside.

The rest of the resort was lovely too, nice restaurant with delicious food every night - we only ate out twice! and the other amenities on offer were excellent, surf lessons, day trips, a shuttle to the town centre at night, massages, live music in the evenings.

We had a wonderful time here and would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ads2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

After a hectic eight days sightseeing in Argentina and Brazil, we were looking forward to 5 days in this resort. We lasted less than an hour before arranging to return to Rio the following morning-the earliest time we could get out! Please note that the many complaints about this hotel are from the UK/US. The praise comes from Brazilian couples with young children at whom this hotel is aimed. The description of it as a 'boutique hotel' is merely a get-out clause for the poor accomodation and appalling service, although the service might be better if you can speak FLUENT Portuguese. The staff ignored our attempts although we got on fine elsewhere. We had to get a taxi to Buzios (hotel is miles from anywhere) to get a meal. So please take all the negative reviews on board; they are unfortunately all justified.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mooooo9oo0o0ooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventas, General Manager at Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Serena Boutique Resort is one of the few hotels that keeps its service and recreation structure year round. Activities for kids and adults, tours, surf classes, transfers to the different beaches, night shows, beach service, among others which make Serena be characterized as boutique Resort. We provide trilingual staff at the fornt desk (Portuguese, Spanish and English) who will assist you in anything you may need. Serena Boutique Resort is designed both for families and for couples, we offer a rountrip transfer services to Buzios, from 7pm to 12am, the 365 days of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globetrotter
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We stayed at the Serena in July 2010, during which time we had a mixed experience. On the positive side, asthetically the hotel is very nice, tasteful building set in nice gardens with an excellent selection of fresh fruits, pastries, meats, cheeses, cooked items, juices and hot drinks at breakfast. A wide selection of complimentary DVDs are also provided ofr guests to use in their in room DVD players.

We were provided with a complimentary glass of champagne each on arrival and as we were celebrating our anniversary during our time at the hotel, a complimentary fruit platter had been placed in our room when we checked in. The hotel also has 4 computers with free internet access, wi fi for those with their own laptops, and a small fitness room.

On the downside however, despite billing itself as a 4* resort, the service standards were sorely lacking. Despite requesting a quiet room, we were placed in a room with an adjoining door. In the adjacent room had been placed a family. As the walls were clearly not sound proofed, the noise from the adjoining room was intrusive, and on our second night we were awoken by a child screaming at 1am that continued for at least 30 minutes before we were admitedly moved rooms. Of course, the hotel cannot be blamed for screaming children, but it necessitates the question as to why we were put in an adjoining room to a family wth young children having spcifically requested a quiet room. Furthermore, the night manager initially advised me that we would be unable to change rooms that evening as there were non available, when clearly having timed our visit during low season the hotel was far from full. It was only my persistence that ensured that we were able to change room that evening. Unbeknown to us though our second room was a suite (larger than the first but could hardly be described as a suite), and we were informed the next day that we would be unable to stay in that room, and would have to move again. I contested this, but ultimately accepted this as in fairness we had only paid for a standard room. Having packed our bags, we were then infomred that we would not have to move afterall, although this was only after we had asked when we could see our new room. This was not acceptable for a 4* establishment, and sadly the staff seemed reticent to advise us of this.

Furthermore, at breakfast there were no covers on any of the foods which attracted large numbers of bees swarming round the sticky cakes that were on offer. Bizarrely though each day a fresh selection of sticky desert type cakes were put on display that served to exacerbate the problem - displaying a total lack of common sense given that we saw no one eat these foods becuse of th bees. On one occassion, flies were spotted landing on the meats and cheeses and when I pointed this out to the waiting staff, theirattitude at est could only be described as indifferent. Clearly, money needed to be invested in training the staff and bringing them up to the standards that one would expect from a 4* hotel. It is simply not acceptable to frequently have to take cutlery from other tables because the one that you are sat at has not been correctly set.

In fairness, we pointed out all of these concerns and observations to the hotel manager in a face to face meeting, which did seem to have the desired effect.

In conclusion, the Serena is a nice resort but could do better. In fairness, we did witness the manager having a meeting with his staff following our discussion with him, and from that point on standards did improve. I only hope this is kept up and was not solely for our benefit. Time will tell.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventas, Director Comercial at Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Serena Buzios Resort is a family hotel. All special requests are recorded and highlighted on the reservation. According to the hotel´s availability, it always tries to comply with the guests requests, offering a room upgrade at no charge when checking in.
In case it is not able to do so, due to the luck of availability, the hotel fullfills the requirements as soon as it is possible in order to satisfy all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

This small hotel is georgius, beautiful, but service is terrible and worst is that they don't care about it.
We bought the romantic dinner wich included an upgrade in room, but they didn't give us it, and also the dinner is the same buffet, but it includes 1 bottle of wine... what a rip off.
Breakfast is ok, but full of bees, be aware of that.
It's almost paradaise, but without service, jajaja.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARCOSSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventas, Director Comercial at Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
The upgrade benefit informed in the romantic promotion is according to availability, this exception is clear in the promotions description offered on our website and it is also informed to the passengers when making the reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
485 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 328 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2010

Having travelled through Argentina, Chile and Brazil and having had excellent accommodation without exception this hotel was disappointing and not good value. The staff were fine...helpful and cheerful. The breakfasts were generous although the breakfast room was very crowded and lots of small children and babies...so very noisey...along with pounding music....which went on more or less all day in the dining room /bar area. Thankfully our room was a long way from this. The pool is barely more than a paddling pool/ plunge pool...do not be deceived by the photo on the website. The room was small and needed money spending on it it to bring it up to a good modern standard...things looked "tired and used"....the air conditioning was dated and very noisey for example. The location is far from ideal as it is a bus journey to down town...the hotel runs an efficient service but you need to think carefully about trips out for dinner. The beach is nearby but can be very crowded. The acid test...would I go back... the obvious answer...no. The low point of our trip to South America...We do work in the industry and although we have high standards we do have reasonable expectations when prices are as high as this.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AUSTIN l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventas, Director Comercial at Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios, responded to this review, October 1, 2010
Serena Buzios is a family hotel, that is why in holiday time the 80% of the occupancy are families with young children.
The breakfast room is wide and spacious enough for the 100% of our guests to have comfortable access and enjoy breakfast between 8 am and 11 am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Caetano do Sul, Brazil
Level Contributor
231 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

This was a great choice we had in Buzios. I was looking for a place to go with my wife and young baby (5 months old by the time of the trip) and I liked the breakfast+dinner option and the fact they had cribs and baby bathtubs available. Although I would not rate it as a resort, service was great and staff was always available to help with anything they could. They also have chairs at the beach, so the guests do not need to worry about bringing this kind of stuff with them. Finally, food was excellent! Definitely a great choice for families in Buzios!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
1.7 mi away
Ferradura Resort
Ferradura Resort
#19 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.5 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
Pousada Pedra Da Laguna
#14 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
Aquabarra Boutique Hotel & Spa
#27 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corais e Conchas
Corais e Conchas
#17 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.0 mi away
Perola Buzios Hotel
Perola Buzios Hotel
#13 of 101 in Armacao dos Buzios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios

Property: Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios
Address: Rua Campo de Pouso 1630, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil (Formerly Serena Buzios)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#9 Luxury Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#11 Spa Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#25 Family Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#37 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios is located just 100 meters from the Geriba beach, being the only resort with an easy beach-level access, providing an easier access to the elderly and younger children. Surrounded by 6,000 square meters of lush tropical gardens, the hotel also features a deck and lit outdoor pool, and a 24 hour bar service. Furthermore, recreational areas, and children's play area supervised by trained staff With complimentary WI-FI throughout the resort, our rooms range up to 70 m2 with king-sized beds, cable TV, Mini bar and a safe deposit box. Most rooms offer a beautiful private garden with a Jacuzzi. Our buffet breakfast stays open till 11 am with hot dishes prepared by our very own on site chefs. Our gourmet restaurant offers a wide range of international and local cuisine with a top notch bar service. Serena also offers a weekly program of live music shows. In addition, our service is also available at the beach providing beach chairs, umbrellas, tables and chairs. The hotel has a stylish modern design, but respects the colonial materials and architecture of the local region. Serena offers free hourly shuttle services to downtown Buzios during the afternoon and night as well as other local beaches. Our guests are also encourages to take water sports lessons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serena Buzios Hotel Buzios
Serena Hotel Buzios
Serena Hotel Boutique Buzios Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing