We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel!”
Review of Pousada Santorini

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pousada Santorini
Ranked #3 of 105 Hotels in Armacao dos Buzios
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Pousada Santorini in December and it was our favourite place in Brazil! The staff were so friendly and really made our stay special. It's a bit of a walk up from the beach but well worth it for the views! I'd definately choose to stay here again if in Buzios in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dralm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 472 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Me and my wife stayed for a week, and had a lovely time. In general we agree with the previous reviewer, but since we are not Portuguese/Brazilians we might add that there wasn't one day without an English spoken person attending the reception at least for some hours.
We stayed in the Master Suite, which was well worth that extra money. Plenty of space and even a walk-in closet. However, the balcony would have been even nicer with a couple of chairs and a table. Nevertheless, we had a very comfortable swing-hammock to compensate for the lack of balcony furniture.
The view was fantastic, see attached photo. The price for this view is that there are quite steep roads to climb in order to get to and from the Pousada. You need to stand on two fresh legs for the walk to and from Pousada Santorini. On the other hand, taxi is cheap with a fixed price of 15 BRL to and from the center of the village, if Raquel is not available for a lift in her car.
We would be happy to return!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy189864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Santorini Pousada is a amazing place managed by lovely people. The location is uphill, but the owner - dear Raquel - makes sure herself that you will get the sea level by car, even if she has to drive you there! Because of its placement, the view from the balconys and pool is outstanding!!!
The room is very large and comfortable, and also spotless. The breakfast is fresh and shows good variety (juice, coffee, 3 kinds of bread, scrambled eggs prepared just for you, 2 kinds of cakes, fruits, fruit mix, etc). They also have broad cable tv and WiFi in the rooms.
One day, I slept past the breakfast time. So they called me asking If I wished have that meal. I was very embarrassed, but accepted their offer. They kept the buffet, just for me, available 01 hour after the time limit!
They provide all the amenities you could desire, and towels to take to the beach with you.
At tea time, coffee and cake are served.
I miss it very much, and hope I can return there many times.

Room Tip: Room 03 is very large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelinaSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and i stayed at this lovely pousada in late January. Buzios was recommended to me by my Brazilian co-workers. Its a nice small town with 25 beaches, but if you are looking at this review you probably would know that. The pousada was recommended to us by someone local from Buzios. I also did my research and happily booked this place. We have no regrets.

The owners and staff communicated with me prior to my arrival. After booking i needed to change the dates and they were very helpful in making the change. The staff and the owner are great, very friendly. Though many of the staff dont speak English we were able to communicate between each other successfully.

The place is nice. We were able to book the master suite. The room is very spacious with a huge walk-in closet. The view is beautiful. They have a hammock in every room on the balcony. That was great as we were able to lay in it and see the ocean. The pool is decent size and we used it a few times. The room is cleaned daily. We like the pousadas personal touch with embroided towels and they also provide bath robes.

They have a good breakfast. Fresh squeezed orange juice and decent variety for B&B. Everything tasted fresh and plentiful. The chef also offers and makes scrambled eggs for you. In the afternoon they offer cake and coffee. Another nice touch. We ordered food of the menu. I like to each and try different things. They dont have a huge menu but the food is good. You will not understand the description of some of the food option, so dont be afraid to ask. What you think it is, might be different because of the local spin on it.

We were only about a 10 min walk to the beach of Joao Fernandes. Its the most popular beach in town. Though to be honest, we spend more time in Joao Fernandinho. Its just another 5 min walk but smaller and doesn't get busy until after 11 am. One thing i can tell you is that people in Brazil love their beach. And by that i mean that all the beaches that i been at in Buzios, we visited 6, all were packed.

The pousada has 9 rooms. During our stay there were anywhere from 5 to 7 other rooms in use. While you see the people during breakfast, there is enough space for everyone. And the place is still quiet and feels like home. Overall, we would recommend this place to a couple that wants to getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bookwithus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Quality accommodation for a fair price. Ran by nice friendly staff. Breakfast is good with free coffee and cake in the afternoons. The whole hotel is very well kept. The food is really great value. Great views. Be prepared for the hill. A taxi or rental buggy is recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alcampbell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We were made very welcome. Excellent location with terrific views. The owners and staff could have not been more friendly and helpful. A great breakfast selection, fresh fruit daily. The rooms have been decorated with taste and style and the beds were very comfortable. Such a pleasure to sleep with a sea breeze wafting gently through the windows.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

it's a home away from home, from the owner to the personnel, everyone treats you with sincere happiness and friendliness. It has the most breathtaking view of the town, it's quiet and comfortable. They went out of their way to make my trip great, the owner even had dinner with me while watching tv in the lobby!,
clean, excellent place. It's not mega luxury , it's simple, but it's a perfect, cozy little spot , perfect for traveling in couples or alone. Since the place is situated on top of a hill, better to rent a buggy to get around, or ask them to drop you off at the bottom of the neighborhood, with tons of intercity vans that take you all around town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mistery s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Armacao dos Buzios hotels
0.5 mi away
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Vila da Santa Hotel Boutique & S...
#1 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Chimere
La Chimere
#2 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
796 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
La Pedrera Small Hotel & Spa
#10 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vila D'este
Vila D'este
#6 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fernandes
Hotel Pousada Experience Joao Fe...
#7 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
733 reviews
0.8 mi away
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & Spa
Casas Brancas Boutique Hotel & S...
#5 of 105 in Armacao dos Buzios
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Santorini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Santorini

Address: Rua 9 - Lote 38 | João Fernandes, Armacao dos Buzios, State of Rio de Janeiro 28950-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Armacao dos Buzios
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
#7 Best Value Hotel in Armacao dos Buzios
Price Range: $107 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pousada Santorini 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pousada Santorini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Santorini Buzios
Pousada Santorini Armacao Dos Buzios, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing