We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Corral Motel

Corral Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Afton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Corral Motel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Afton
Farmington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY THERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2010

We first stayed in the Corral motel in 1980. This place at that time was wonderful. The owners felt like old friends and the kept the place spotless.This is the first time in five years that we have stayed there because we had heard that the new owners have not kept up the place as did the original owners. We read some of the reviews and decided to stay there. This was a horrible decision! The carpet was so filthy that I refused to walk on it without shoes. There was a terrible odor in the room. The sheet on the beds were so thin you could see through them. The top sheet on the bed that my son slept on had a large hole in it. There were bugs crawling on the walls. The grass that was so nicely kept years ago was dead, even the weeds that had taken over in the grass area was dead. If you want to ruin a nice trip in a very nice part of Wyoming stay at the Corral Lodges (as it is now called). I would rather stay in a a tent at the county dumpl than to stay a this dump in Afton!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank easytoplease60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
11
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orem, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This place is actually called Corral Lodges. It is a group of cabins right on Hwy 89. I had the cabin at the rear of the property. It was one of the larger ones and I loved it. Parking right out in front. Clean with tons of space. The room held all the gear from my motorcycle with room for more. I have this thing about showers, a good shower can make or break a place for me and this one was great. Tons of hot water, a shower head that had pressure and at being 6' tall I could stand under it. I loved having chairs out on the front porch. It was great to sit out there and read and talk to my neighbors in the evening. The fridge and microwave were a bonus. I liked it and my ride so much I doing the ride again and I returning to Corral Lodges.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank solartj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Went bowhunting for Elk..........2 of us........Motel was great, people were wonderful. The guy who wrote the bathroom is very, very small weighed 350 pounds.....I don't want to see him there again.....I would take my Wife to the Corral.....the restaurants nearby were A+.....Delaware Bowhunter

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DELAWAREBOWHUNTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Stayed here on our drive back from Yellowstone. The cabins, while small and not luxurious by any means, are very cute and very clean. DirecTV, a nice bed, and a picnic area with a view of the hills and its own covered wagon. A nice change from the standard-issue motel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MuyMalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2008

We were given a cabin on the busy highway while most of the quieter cabins went empty that night. The manager was not friendly or helpful. I would not recommend this motel.

  • Liked — Star Valley location
  • Disliked — Manager
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank realman55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Our room was very very small. The toilet was not secured to the floor. When you sat on the toilet it would almost tip over. The bathroom was so very small. I would never stay there again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank fishingSLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2007

We were driving the back roads from Los Angeles to Yellowstone one October. Late in the afternoon of the second day we arrived in the bucolic Star Valley.
We thought this would be a good place to stay for the night if we could find decent lodging The population of Afton is just under 2000 so we didn’t expect to find any major hotel chains. On the east side of Hwy 89 we spotted a cluster of red log cabins and pulled in. We spoke to the owner who told us the story of the man who built the cabins. During the great depression the previous owner and builder traveled to the surrounding mountains. He cut and hauled the logs back to the cabins present location and over the years built a dozen cabins over the years.

We asked for a room and were given a large 2 room log cabin. The cabin had a porch and we watch evening draw near gazing out at the surrounding hills.

The cabin was large but cozy. It was like traveling back to a quieter time. Everything was clean and in fine order. The bed was comfortable and we stayed warm that evening.

If you find yourself in Afton and need to spend the night check out these cabins. Clean, affordable, quiet and nice attentive owners,

  • Stayed October 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank man4pnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Afton
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Afton Star Valley
13.3 mi away
Cabin Creek Inn
Cabin Creek Inn
#1 of 3 in Thayne
120 reviews
18.9 mi away
Wolf Den Log Cabin Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Kodiak Mountain Resort
Show Prices

Been to Corral Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corral Motel

Property: Corral Motel
Address: 161 South Washington, Afton, WY 83110
Location: United States > Wyoming > Afton
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Afton
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Corral Afton
Corral Motel Afton, Wyoming

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing