We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,565)
Filter reviews
1,565 results
Traveler rating
571
558
305
94
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
558
305
94
37
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,565 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2016 via mobile

This hotel is old, sad and dirty. The check-in and check-out process was a nightmare and took about 30 minutes even though I reserved and pre-paid by credit card.

The room looked like it hadn't been updated since the early 90's and even then would have been considered bad. The floor in the shower was just a continuation of the bathroom floor with a drain in it.

I was generally skeeved out by the room, bed and bathroom. Luckily I only had to stay one night.

At night they have this completely obnoxious "MC" in the lobby playing a theme song quiz game with guests with the microphone turned up WAY WAY WAY too loud. In my limited Portuguese I heard him call a kid "dumb" because he got a Harry Potter question wrong.

The buffet breakfast and lunch are very poorly done and outdated. At one point I saw condensation from the AC in the water-stained ceiling dripping into one of the chaffing dishes with pasta in it. Yum.

It's a shame because it's in a very beautiful part of Brazil. Thank goodness a Fasano is being built nearby. Airbnb next time.

Never making that choice again.

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
Thank AGav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2016

First of all, we would like to thank you for the valuable time you have dedicated to point us the details of your experience at our resort. We are extremely disappointed in knowing that the period you have spent with us, was not positive and we truly regret the inconveniences reported. Allow us to inform you that all your comments were forwarded to the responsible departments in order they can take corrective and preventive measures. We hope there will be another opportunity to welcome you and then redeem this experience, guaranteeing beautiful moments to be remembered. Sincerely, Fatima Rodrigues - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2016

Don't waste your money here. The hotel is too old. Food is very lousy. Internet is available only in the reception and does not work well, you get disconected all the time. I stayed at a family room, the room upstairs had spider webs. Service is pretty bad as well. You need to pay the entire stay in advance, I left earlier and lost what I had paid in advance. Look for other options at Angra.

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NICHKO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2016

We would like to thank you for the valuable time you have dedicated to point us the details of your experience at Meliá Angra. We are extremely disappointed in knowing that the period you have spent with us was not positive. Allow us to inform you that all your comments were forwarded to the responsible departments in order they can take corrective and preventive measures. We hope there will be another opportunity to welcome you and then redeem this experience, guaranteeing beautiful moments to be remembered. Sincerely, Fátima Rodrigues – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2015 via mobile

For me the Melia is somewhere between excellent (location, room for family, employees at the reception desk, pools), good (food) and not good enough for four stars (tables in the dining rooms). My advice: enjoy what is excellent and do not think too much about the other things.

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
Thank Priska E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2015

We would like to thank you for the valuable time you have dedicated to point us the details of your experience at our resort. We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed our accommodation and services. The comments about food will be taken like an opportunity to improve our services and we thank for your kind contribution. We hope there will be another opportunity to welcome you and your family back in Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort. Kind regards – Fatima Rodrigues – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2015

One good option to stay in Angra. Nice hotel, rooms are clean and spacious. Family room as a duplex is very nice. Restaurant food selection for dinner and breakfast could be better. Nice pool and play room for kids. Good brazilian manicure service and massage was ok.
The beach is not dirty it's only a kind of mangrove swamp with lots of crabs. So it is a environmental protection area. We did a boat trip and saw gorgeous island and beaches for a fair price.
Security won't let anyone get in the hotel area without a reservation. I had to ge out of the car and open my luggage to search for the reservation because the guy didn't want to let us pass. When all that he had to do was call the reception and ask if we had a reservation in the hotel... I understad security is needed but the staff wasn't prepared to deal with the hotel guests.
There is not a baby changing table available in the hotel.
We, for sure, will visit again and hope our complains help the hotel to improve it's services.

Room Tip: Family rooms with sea view are quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2015

We would like to thank you for the valuable time you have dedicated to point us the details of your experience at our resort. We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed our accommodation and activities. All the comments will be taken like an opportunity to improve our services and we thank for your kind contribution. We hope there will be another opportunity to welcome you and your family back in Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort. Kind regards – Fatima Rodrigues – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2015

Nice hotel complex in a great location sorrounded by tropical forrests, and close to the beach. More resort than hotel, not very appealing in its construction. Food is OK, not much options.Price should be the big appeal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the lobby, high floor and sea view. Or you can find yourself a mile away from the restaurants and lobby.
  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brazil_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2015

We would like to thank you for the valuable time you have dedicated to point us the details of your experience at our resort. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our accommodation and services. All the comments will be taken like an opportunity to improve our service and we thank for your kind contribution. We hope there will be another opportunity to welcome you and your family back in Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort. Kind regards – Fatima Rodrigues – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews