We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Promenade Angra dos Reis
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Angra Dos Reis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Despite advertised as a resort, the hotel is below average. The all-inclusive item is very relative. Most of the food lacks quality and it is almost never changed. During our stay (2 days in a week), they ran out of vodka... unbelievable. The room service took an eternity and once I tried 12 times to reach the front desk with no success... No coming back here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
1  Thank David_R_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for the valuable time you have dedicated to point us the details of your experience at our resort. We are extremely disappointed in knowing that the period you have spent with us, was not positive and we truly regret the inconveniences reported. Allow us to inform you that all your comments were forwarded to the responsible departments in order they can take corrective and preventive measures. We hope there will be another opportunity to welcome you and then redeem this experience, guaranteeing beautiful moments to be remembered. Sincerely, Fatima Rodrigues - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 19 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

Grounds, awesome setting, stunning pools, really nice common ‎areas.‎

Location, if you are there to stay put then it’s fine, if you like this ‎standard of Hotel, if you want to explore, tour around, it’s absolute ‎terrible, the hotel is located miles out of Angra and the taxi prices ‎will burn a hole in your pocket, one of the most-if not the most ‎expensive in the whole of brazil, it’s 70 reals ($35 USD) per trip to ‎Angra. In any event Ilha Grande or Paraty are much better ‎locations to stay in, Angra has nothing much to offer.‎

Food, all inclusive, rubbish standards, you have a massive variety of ‎crap food. One day there with these five huge salmon fish, looks ‎impressive on display, but were simply tasteless, the people in the ‎kitchen should be fired one by one. Also whoever buys the food, is ‎obviously after the cheapest and lowest quality possible, in that ‎they seem to be doing a good job.‎

Internet, forget about it, it’s basically, none existent.‎

Rooms, nice Hostel standard, not more, shower, at the most, you’ll ‎get lukewarm water, the bed pretty crappy too, all in all, mediocre ‎and we had the most expensive room category in the hotel, I don’t ‎want to imagine what the standard rooms look like.‎

In summary, if you are looking for something classy, this ain’t your ‎option, if you wanna join in with hundreds of families with kids for ‎a loud, noisy, mediocre and expensive weekend, that’s your place ‎to stay.‎

Room Tip: Go to Paraty or Ilha Grande instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hidden01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

First of all, we would like to thank you for the valuable time you have dedicated to point us the details of your experience at our resort. We are extremely disappointed in knowing that the period you have spent with us, was not positive and we truly regret the inconveniences reported. Allow us to inform you that all your comments were forwarded to the responsible departments in order they can take corrective and preventive measures.

We take this opportunity to inform all travelers that Angra dos Reis destination is known worldwide for its breathtaking natural beauty: There are 365 islands and 2000 beaches, one island for each day of the year. No matter where you are staying when visiting Angra dos Reis, a boat tour must be included in your programming and will ensures the visitor to get a glimpse of all that Angra dos Reis has to offer as a destination of natural beauty. At last, our hotel has a great location, 10 km far from Angra dos Reis downtown. Indeed, as a urban or gastronomic center, the city do not have much to offer, but should be consider as a destination for people looking for nature and rest.

We hope there will be another opportunity to welcome you and then redeem this experience, guaranteeing beautiful moments to be remembered. Sincerely, Fatima Rodrigues - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

High Standards and Excellent Staff!

We stayed in Melia Angra dos Reis for six nights in February during our tour of Brazil.
The location was beautiful and the facilities excellent.
Our room was wonderful, spacious and immaculate with a bath and shower, overlooking the exotic pool with the palms. The food was delicious and had a big variety of local and international dishes. The whole staff from the cleaners to the waiters and especially the reception team were very friendly and extremely helpful. A very special thanks to the reception Manager Lucia do Carmo for her exemplary care, and superb service.
It definitely deserves 5 stars!
We would highly recommend Melia Angra Dos Reis to anyone who is visiting Brazil.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014
Google Translation

Somos gratos por ter escolhido o nosso hotel para sua estada em Angra dos Reis e por ter dedicado seu tempo para registrar e compartilhar sua experiência. Ficamos felizes ao saber de sua satisfação com o nosso hotel e serviços oferecidos e gostaríamos de deixar registrada a importância de seus comentários, que alimentam o nosso ideal na busca incessante pela excelência contínua. Esperamos ter a satisfação de recebê-lo novamente em breve oportunidade. Cordialmente, Fátima Rodrigues – Gerente Geral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Melia resort from 4th to 9th February 2014 - the hotel and it's facilities were excellent. Comfortable rooms, excellent service, lovely atmosphere, fantastic pool area and all inclusive - what more can you want ! The staff were friendly and helpful especially as we do not speak much Portuguese. We did not want to leave but had to move to Buzios.....we would thoroughly recommend the Melia Resort, Angra to anyone. Visitor from Buckinghamshire, UK.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014
Google Translation

Prezado Sr. S M, É com grande satisfação que recebemos os comentários de sua estada no Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort. Estamos contentes em saber que atendemos suas expectativas e que apreciou nossos serviços e o hotel. Somos gratos por nos ter escolhido como opção de hospedagem em Angra dos Reis e aproveitamos para registrar que será um imenso prazer recebê-lo novamente em nosso hotel. Cordialmente, Fátima Rodrigues - Gerente Geral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I stayed 7 days at Melia Angra with family and friends in a ALL INCLUSIVE package which should be called SOMETHINGs INCLUSIVE since it lacked multiple things and there was zero service at pool or beach. At dinner, there wasn't any waiter to bring us drinks and no fans to refresh us from the hot temperature. Food was normally cold and only few options. As long "Services" is considered, my grade would be zero.
As for the New Year's party, it was probably the worse of my life... drinks only until 23PM, no ice to cool our drinks/champagne, the band was boring, and food really cold.
The hotel infrastructure is decent and the rooms are good and clean but internet barely works and the TV was really small and old. Also, the hotel is located at some sort of swamp that they call "beach" so if you want to swim in the ocean, you must rent/have a boat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro_Andersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014
Google Translation

Prezado Sr. Pedro Andersen, estamos desapontados em saber que não teve uma boa experiência conosco e lamentamos não ter atendido suas expectativas. Permita-nos informar que seus comentários serão levados aos departamentos responsáveis para que sejam vistos como oportunidade de melhorias. Esperamos recebê-lo novamente no Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort para que possa vivenciar novas experiências e reavaliar nossos serviços. Atenciosamente, Fátima Rodrigues – Gerente geral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Parasidiac place to sail around the islands. Facilities, food and staff are good and appropriate to allow you to have a pleasant staying. The negative here is the fact hotel also provides service for condominium of owners / renters of appartments in the complex what brings unapproptiate behaviour and unpleasent situations.
Overall Angra is an outstanding place to go to enjoy nature and one of most beautfull coast line in the world and this hotel provides great infrastructure to do so.

Room Tip: Suites are fine for large families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdgarLourencon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatimaRo, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014
Google Translation

Prezado Sr. EdgarLourencon,

Somos gratos por ter escolhido o nosso hotel para sua estada em Angra dos Reis e por ter dedicado seu tempo para registrar e compartilhar sua experiência. Ficamos felizes ao saber de sua satisfação com o nosso hotel e serviços oferecidos e gostaríamos de deixar registrada a importância de seus comentários, que alimentam o nosso ideal na busca incessante pela excelência contínua. Esperamos ter a satisfação de recebê-lo novamente em breve oportunidade. Cordialmente, Fátima Rodrigues – Gerente Geral.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Certainly not the best place in Angra dos Reis. Hotel seems outdated quite expensive for services and facilities rendered to clients. Only two good points for this location are the breakfast quality and cleanliness of romos and areas, I must also add that children activities seemed appropiate but nothing out of the box. Cost/benefit not worthy. Staff is gentle and average. There is no beach at all and water sports offering is very expensive. I`ve been at, at least, five Melia hotels around the world and this one was the less impressive. Stay at this hotel only if room price is far cheaper than other similar hotels & resorts around otherwise dont go and if you still wish to book a room at this place, go with low expectations so not to become disappointed after one day stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corrysp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luiz S, Gerente geral at Promenade Angra dos Reis, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Mr. corrysp, thank you for choosing Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort as your hotel during your stay in Angra dos Reis. We Appreciate your kindness in registering your comments regarding your last stay with us and take the opportunity to say that we were disappointed to learn that we did not reach your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the Meliá Angra Marina & Convention Resort so you can reevaluate our hotel. Sincerely, Luiz Sanches - General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angra Dos Reis
Praia do Jardim
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
#3 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
975 reviews
Angra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
516 reviews
Portogalo Suite Hotel
#13 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samba Angra dos Reis
#7 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
180 reviews
Hotel do Frade & Golf Resort
#6 of 13 in Angra Dos Reis
159 reviews
Hotel Porto Real
#3 of 5 in Mangaratiba
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Promenade Angra dos Reis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Angra dos Reis

Address: Rodovia Rio Santos km 492 | Rua Angra Azul - Pontal, Angra Dos Reis, State of Rio de Janeiro 23942-315, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Angra Dos Reis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#2 Family Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
Price Range: $107 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Promenade Angra dos Reis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within the Costa Bella condominium, in the city of Angra dos Reis, one of the most chosen destinations in Rio de Janeiro with amaizing beaches, islands and beautiful landscapes. The Promenade Angra Marina & Convention offers a wide infrastructure with swimming pool, wet bar, restaurant, deck, sports courts, saunas, fitness center, Plus Kids Club and game room to ensure the fun of the whole family. One of the differentials is the marina integrated to the complex, which has more than 300 places in an exclusive space by the pier. The Convention Center is also one of the highlights, a Great Meeting Room up to 300 people and which can be divided into 3 other rooms. Overlooking the woods or pool the hotel offers well equipped and very comfortable rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Promenade Angra dos Reis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Angra Dos Reis Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing