We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Angra Dos Reis
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Huge disappointment”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I had stayed in this hotel 5 years before, when it was still called "Eco Resort de Angra" and was very impressed with the accomodations, food and service. So I returned there for Christmas and New Years. To our disappointment, everything had changed - not for the best. The rooms, once so clean and modern, needed urgent repairs - the lamp did not work, there was mold and rust everywhere. There were problems with the telephone line, which got constantly disconnected - the room was full of mosquitoes and the front desk couldn't provide us with mosquito repellents, which is usually offered in Brazilian hotels at no cost. The food, which was abundant and varied before, was now disgusting. We were a party of 15 people, and no one was pleased. The beach is incredible, and so is the swimming pool. But if it rains, it's hard for you to find something else to do, because the only covered space with games is far away, and there aren't so many choices. So, if you are lucky enough to have good weather and spend your days on the beach, you'll love it (but not the bad food and the cheap wine included in the fee). If not, find somewhere else to go. This hotel has seen better days. btw: we left on the third day and went to a nicer place in Mangaratiba.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelmomwith2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Customer,

We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.

The hotel entire team works very hard day after day to exceed our guest's expectations. Unfortunately some time we do not manage to provide the services that our guests wait for.

You may be assured that we have not overseen your comments and we will take measures so that incidents like the ones you commented do not happen again.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to visit any of our hotels either in Brasil or Portugal

Yours sincerely

Simão Teixeira

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    1,141
    503
    183
    114
See reviews for
1,850
542
8
99
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Poor service, even worst food.
Very poor quality drinks,such as wines and other spirits, soft drinks are ok.
The 3 restaurants compete to see which one can serve the worst food.
They had a barbecue and the meat was uneatable. The service by the pool just does not exist. Too many kids, but even them dont seem very happy.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betogti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Dear Customer,

We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra.

The hotel entire team works very hard, day after day, to exceed our guest's expectations. Unfortunately some time we do not manage to provide the services that our guests wait for.

You may be assured that we have not overseen your comments and we will take measures so that incidents like the ones you commented do not happen again.

We sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to visit any of our hotels either in Brasil or Portugal

Yours sincerely

Simão Teixeira

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed 2 nights with our kids ages 7 and 4 on the way from SP to Rio. The hotel has a pretty location, but all else falls very short of what you'd expect for the price. Clearly they do not have the money to care for the large grounds and pool. There is grass that is not cut, the food is just edible (plentiful, but not yummy and you normally can get good food in brazil even in the simplest places), the pool is a wreck with old cups and beer cans littered around all day with no one cleaning up until the days end, the pool floats are moldy and ragged, the rooms have been renovated, but it is very superficial and Quality Is lacking. This hotel seems to live on tour gritos and lower middle class families who are stretching to have a vacation of a lifetime. If you like charming, quality, authenticity or if you have a less is more philosophy (I don't need 8 entrees I just need one good one), this is not the place for you. Too bad, it could be so much more with the views it has.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Americanbrazilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Customer,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.
It is very gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the services you received. We always try to provide a special service for our guests, and are particularly glad to learn when our efforts are appreciated.
We hope it will not be too long before we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Vila Galé Angra or any other Vila Gale Hotel at Brasil or Portugal.

Yours sincerely

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2011

During the week we stayed at the hotel we had 3 kids that were injured and they received stitches. The hotel didnt have emergency care, so you have to travel to Angra (15' drive) to the nearest hospital. I was really very disappointed. We were looking for a place were kids can play and parents can relax a little bit. This was not the case. The kids swimming pool is very dangerous, not having proper safe measures and just one lifeguard for ALL the pools and beach.
Service was ok, clean .Food, good varietyy not so much in desserts.
If you are planning a trip with kids, probably you should think about it or if you are looking for a relax vacaction this is not the right one, just in case you are looking for adventure and stress.
Ah, be careful with cellphones, not all of them have signal

Durante a semana a gente ficou no hotel, tivemos três filhos que ficaram feridos e receberam pontos. O hotel não tem atendimento de emergência, assim que você tem que viajar para Angra (15 'drive) para o hospital mais próximo. Eu realmente fiquei muito desapontado. Estávamos procurando um lugar onde as crianças podem brincar e os pais podem relaxar um pouco. Este não foi o caso. A piscina das criancas é muito perigosa, não tendo as medidas apropriadas de segurança e apenas um nadador-salvador para todas as piscinas e da praia.
Serviço foi ok, limpo. Comida boa variedade não tanto nas sobremesas.
Se você estiver planejando uma viagem com crianças, provavelmente você deve pensar sobre isso ou se você está procurando relaxar um vacaction este não é o caminho certo, apenas no caso que você está procurando aventura e estresse.
ah, cuidado com os celulares, nem todos eles têm o sinal

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Customer,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.
It is very gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the services you received. We always try to provide a special service for our guests, and are particularly glad to learn when our efforts are appreciated.
We hope it will not be too long before we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Vila Galé Angra or any other Vila Gale Hotel at Brasil or Portugal.

Yours sincerely

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

After landing in Rio we rent a car from Localiza (Hertz desk was plain grumpy and so we abandoned it). The ride takes about 3 hours from Rio (be sure to have your GPS) and the roads were quite good (they were not tortuous and rough as in Seychelles).

The resort is a nice decent place. We had a decent 3 bed room which was kept clean.

As I suppose it is the off season, the hotel was not crowded at all, to the point that one day they served breakfast à la carte. Normally, I am not a heavy eater and I do not mind .
But ordering something from only portugese speaking personnel was a real ordeal. After complaining, they switched to buffets. The food was ok but very very bland. Do not forget to bring your Tabasco bottle, if you like hot spicy foods. They never put pepper on the table.
On the other ha
nd, the personnel do not adopt a mercantile attitude. Despite the fact that it is AI, they never pressure you selling you this and that. We really appreciated this.

The hotel grounds are nicely kept and you have real space to breathe.
We did not do any excursions as the weather was bad, but we did visit Paraty which was nice.
The beach is fantastic with a fantastic horzion. Occasionally, some water scooters or small yachts spoil the view and the tranquility. But uncompared to what you find on a rowdy Mediterrenean coast.

The personnel is nice except for one person who spoilt our stay. We choose this hotel because this was the only resort (we do not like Club Medders) that offered a kid's club
.
On the first day, we met the lesiure manager Tomas who was formallly from Club Med, to talk about the kid's activities. He was also one of the rare members who was fluent in American.
He told us that since the hotel is not crowded there's is no activities for the kids.

He had the cheek to add that we as parents can animate the kids !

So much for choosing a resort for its kid's activitie !

This really left a sour taste on us and maybe the next time we have to check out Club Med.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PIERRE-QUI-ROULE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
Dear Mr.
We thank you for your comments about your stay at the Hotel Vila Galé Eco Resort de Angra. We welcome all your comments and suggestions; they deserve our best attention and are very valuable for us, since they help us in correcting eventual deficiencies and in improving our service levels.
Our buffets change every day, with different thematic dinners all days of the week. Beyond food offering to attend differents taste, we seek to be careful in preparing the food by placing the proper amount of seasoning. Next to the salad buffet there are vinegar and olive oil bottles, as well as 3 kinds of pepper, one of them “Tabasco”. Nevertheless we are delighted to provide seasoning when the guest asks.
Our kid’s activities happen every day, seven day a week, to children from 4 to 12 years age, from 09:00am to 22:00pm. We’ve 8 young people to entertain the children with specific activities according the age. Maybe our leisure coordinator Thomas didn’t get explain appositely how the leisure department works, and we apologize for what happened.
We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and look forward to greeting you personally upon your arrival.
With sincere regards,

Marco Antonio Lacerda
(General Manager)
mlacerda@vilagale.com.br
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

This resort lies in a beautiful part of Angra, in the middle of a florest and in front of a calm beach, but to be a resort it must have a better service. The food lacks variety and quality, the employers aren t very simpatic, it seems they are very tired to smile. The bars have a slow service. The beach has no activities to the quests. The recreation has almost the same actvities every day, but they are a happy group. The rooms are okay and the cleanliness too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucilion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Customer,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.
It is very gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the services you received. We always try to provide a special service for our guests, and are particularly glad to learn when our efforts are appreciated.
We hope it will not be too long before we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Vila Galé Angra or any other Vila Gale Hotel at Brasil or Portugal.

Yours sincerely

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2008

This hotel is great for vacations with children.
Every detail to make your trip enjoyable with kids has been taken care. From newborn babies to ages 14, everything is covered, and I mean EVERYTHING.
Some examples:
There are feeding rooms near the rooms fitted with Microwave, Fridge, Milk, cookies, bottle sterilizer, etc in order to feed your babies at times when the restaurant is closed.
Then there is a babies + toddlers house, which is equipped with everything from Cribs to special baths, etc.
Then there is a kids club with a team that takes care of the children and they make separate activities depending on age.

As for the rooms, they are OK: good size, well appointed, a bit outdated and bad maintained. (typical in Brazil)

The food is alright, I even would consider it slightly above the standard of mass market/ all inclusive food.

The infrastructure in general is good, nice swimming pool, beautiful beach, wonderful sights, etc

We spent a great family vacation with your 2 year old daughter (she spent a wonderful time).

The really, really bad thing about the hotel is that it takes 3 and half hours to get there from Rio de Janeiro Airport on an horrible road which will sure make you sick. I would not return to this hotel just because of the road traveling needed to get there. I know it is not the hotels fault, but it can certainly affect your vacations.
Honestly I did not look too much, but I assume that there good hotels on the beach in Brazil with such a good infrastructure closer to an airport and without this painful road trip (very bad with children also)

  • Liked — The infraestrcture and team for families with children
  • Disliked — The long trip until you get there
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SuroAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, Manager at Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Customer,
We thank you very much for having taken the time to write your comments about your recent stay at the Vila Gale Eco Resort do Angra.
It is very gratifying to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and were pleased with the services you received. We always try to provide a special service for our guests, and are particularly glad to learn when our efforts are appreciated.
We hope it will not be too long before we have the opportunity of welcoming you back at the Vila Galé Angra or any other Vila Gale Hotel at Brasil or Portugal.

Yours sincerely

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Angra Dos Reis
Praia do Jardim
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
Golden Tulip Angra dos Reis
#1 of 12 in Angra Dos Reis
913 reviews
Promenade Angra dos Reis
#2 of 12 in Angra Dos Reis
1,391 reviews
Portogalo Suite Hotel
#12 of 12 in Angra Dos Reis
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Samba Angra dos Reis
#6 of 12 in Angra Dos Reis
150 reviews
Portobello Resort & Safari
#2 of 5 in Mangaratiba
790 reviews
Angra dos Reis Boutique Hotel
#2 of 63 in Angra Dos Reis
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra

Property: Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra
Address: Estrada Vereador Benedito Adelino, 8413 - Loja 7, Angra Dos Reis, State of Rio de Janeiro 23909-901, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Angra Dos Reis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#3 Romantic Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
#3 Family Hotel in Angra Dos Reis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Angra dos Reis, 13 km away from the city centre and 150 km from Rio de Janeiro, this hotel was built from the old Brazilian hacienda Tangua, while still preserving some of its original buildings and royal palm trees. Surrounded by a unique natural landscape, this hotel has a total of 319 rooms, from which 11 suites and 1 presidential suite. Guest may expect wheelchair access ways, 24-hour reception desk with information counter and currency exchange, luggage room and baby changing room, gaming room, infirmary several shops and a beauty salon. Children are welcome to use the playground and visit the Kid's Club. The hotel has 5 restaurants and 6 bars where you may taste the best of Brazil's dished and drinks. The amazing rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, LCD TV with Cable, private balcony, Wi-Fi Connection and safe (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. In the hotel outdoors we can find swimming pool for adults and children, Jacuzzi, gardens. For those that are looking for sports the hotel offers multipurpose sports field and tennis courts. For the one that are searching for relaxation check out the Satsanga Spa, a special place where you can find massages and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Vila Gale Eco Resort de Angra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Eco Resort De Angra Angra Dos Reis, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing