We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We've been buzzing about this B&B for Weeks!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Guastalla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Locanda Argine della Cerchia
Ranked #1 of 6 Guastalla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2013

After seeing the glowing reviews on TA, my wife & I decided to stay here during a brief visit to my great grandfather's hometown of Boretto. It was one of only 2 nights on our road trip across Italy where I wasn't using points to stay for free. When we found out the price of this place at about US$75/night we quickly booked the room. We wrongly assumed that at that price in a country where most everything is exceptionally expensive to the US dollar that we would be roughing it a bit for one night. We could not have been more mistaken.

The only challenge we had was in finding the place. Navigating the one-way streets in the old part of the city can be frustrating for an outsider. Once we arrived on Corso Garibaldi, we spotted the innkeeper Iames waiting for us outside. He could not have been more charming with impeccable English skills. He helped us with bags and showed us to our room on the top floor of the B&B. The steps are narrow but well maintained and we had no difficulty ascending & descending. The building is part of an old abbey for a church a few doors down that doesn't appear to still be in use. For a building so old, inside it felt extremely clean.

The wash room looked like it had been recently updated and while Euro-sized, it was very modern and exceeded what we had come to expect in Italian hotel bathrooms. It was elegantly decorated as well.

The bed was comfortable and the room was well furnished. A highlight for us was the window we opened up toward the street. It gave us the Fellini-esque Italy we had longed for back in America. With the tile-roofed buildings and Vespas & Fiats gliding by below us, we felt like we had slipped back into a different era of Italian small town life.

We had some difficulty locating an ATM that would make International withdrawals in Guastalla. It took about 10 different bancomats to find one who would dispense Euros from our US account. Since this was the only time on our trip when this was an issue, we recommend visitors to Italy collect cash before arriving in Guastalla.

Before he left us alone in our room, Iames asked us if we preferred savory or sweet for our breakfast. Not sure hot to respond, I asked for a bit of both. The next morning, Iames arrived at our door carrying two HUGE trays filled with breakfast for my wife & I. It was loaded with local delicacies as well as some local prosciutto, eggs .... the list goes on & on. I uploaded a pic of the trays since it does a better job of describing it. And everything was ridiculously delicious. Iames admitted that most couldn't finish off their trays and he provided us with some doggies bags to take our leftovers with us as we headed south to Florence. We wound up making an awesome picnic lunch out of our breakfast leftovers along with some additional prosciutto leftover from our dinner in Brescello.

My wife & I fell in love with the area of Brescello/Boretto/Gustalla and plan on not only returning but also bringing more family back with us. And when we do, we will use this B&B as our base of operations. Iames mentioned to us that we were the first American guests that had stayed in his B&B in 3 years. Count us in as his American ambassadors.

Grazie, Iames!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlyFox_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
There are newer reviews for B&B Locanda Argine della Cerchia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 65 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

Situated in the heart of the historic old town, the owner does not live on the premises you have to ring him 10 mins before arrival so he can come and open up for you. Rooms up very narrow winding historic stairs so not at all suitable for the disabled. Lovely room, beautifully furnished, comfortable bed. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Lovely modern bathroom. Free Wi Fi or you can use the computer free of charge in the hall. Lots of information about Guastalla in reception. Very friendly owner who couldn't do enough to please. The most delicious breakfast we have ever eaten which is brought to your room in the morning better than a 5* hotel! Breakfast included in the room price. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: I should oresume they are all of the same standard as lots of compliments from guests in the hall
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I found this wonderful bed and breakfast on Trip Advisor. James and his wife have a beautiful place in Guastalla. Our room was tastefully decorated, clean and spacious. We were welcomed, even though we didn't have a reservation. James's English is excellent and he was able to help us find our way around. We will make a point of staying here again the next time we are in Italy. Our stay was excellent and James is the definition of hospitality! If you are looking for an old world, small-town experience with warm and friendly hosts, look no further. These people are Italy at its finest.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmarkmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamesfranzini, Proprietario at B&B Locanda Argine della Cerchia, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thanks a lot to you for the special experience during your staying at our place. I hope to see you again ... a big huge to everybody!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We were biking along the river Po and having experienced nice countryside Agriturismo's, we were reluctant about a B&B in the small town of Guastalla, near Parma. But what a pleasant surprise was this Locanda! Excellent hospitality (Italian, but English speaking host), superb rooms with all necessary comfort in a self restored old Italian house, and one of the best breakfasts we had on our two weeks journey.
The place was just great and made us like Guastalla very much.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank calmbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iamesfranzini, Proprietario at B&B Locanda Argine della Cerchia, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thanks a lot to be my guest: I hope you'll come again to Guastalla at our place and visit all the marvellous surroundings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank kia_dott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessandr0671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Annalisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guastalla
5.8 mi away
Hotel Motel Giglio
Hotel Motel Giglio
#1 of 1 in Viadana
68 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Montanarini
Hotel Villa Montanarini
#1 of 1 in Luzzara
54 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antica Golena
Antica Golena
#1 of 3 in Guastalla
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
B&B Porta Po
B&B Porta Po
#6 of 6 in Guastalla
27 reviews
Show Prices

Been to B&B Locanda Argine della Cerchia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Locanda Argine della Cerchia

Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 25, 42016 Guastalla, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Reggio Emilia > Guastalla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Guastalla
Price Range: $54 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing