We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Star Hotel at Five Star Prices!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Enotel Acqua Club - Porto de Galinhas
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Two Star Hotel at Five Star Prices!!!!”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

The hotel is located one and a half hours drive from the Recife Airport. I had high hopes for Enotel that quickly diminished after check-in. There are only around 2 staff members that speak fluent English, which makes basic communication very difficult. It appears this is a family vacation spot for Brazilians so English language rare and simply not a priority. Upon entering our room I was shocked discovered what the owners of the hotel considered to be “the best room in their “5 Star” hotel". The decor is drab and dated; our bed linens were stained. I noticed a lot of mold in the bathroom and grease stains on the bathroom walls; paint repairs were completed on a patchwork basis. Based on the mold alone, I immediately requested a room change--I was told that the hotel was fully booked and there were no other rooms available--we were stuck for the entire trip. The hotel lacked the basic essentials of a 5 star hotel: basic furniture (not exquisite), lumpy bed, no room service, no plush white towels (grey instead and only 4 per room, no robes or slippers, rough grey bed sheets, no in-room gratis Wi-Fi, no mini bar, no evening turn down service. The hotel is all inclusive so you must book your evening meal seating from 8:30 -10:00 a.m. (most people sleep during this time when on vacation) or you are relegated to a crowded, sloppy buffet restaurant. In order to use the hotel computer you must pay for an Internet code which costs about $16!!! Also, there are no printers so you cannot print out your boarding pass. There is Wi-Fi available only in the bar area, but it is so slow -- I just gave up. On two occasions, I called reception 5 times to try and book wake-up calls to no avail--thank God for my IPod! The hotel is very expensive--I purchased some soap which was around $25 a bar--I am still recovering from the shock!! The owners of the hotel need to visit NYC, Toronto, London or Paris to compare their “5 Star” hotel to 5 star hotels in those cities--I know what to expect at 5 star hotels and this did not measure up in any way, shape or form---only in the price which is utterly shocking. North American budget hotels deliver better quality, service and value.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the pool, or the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    1,258
    574
    254
    231
See reviews for
2,210
647
37
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, Brazil
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Amazing place, but the food is below average. Friendly but not enough staff to serve. It deserves improvement in many aspects.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RenatoFuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The hotel is beautiful, great pools, nice gardens, but the service is bad, the thematic restaurants are awful. Internet is not included, the food is average, big rooms but we found mosquitos inside every day. I won´t come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FranciscoAlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood,FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I recently went to this hotel for a conference. The place is nice and very expensive. For an all inclusive hotel, there are something that are not included. The internet is R$20.00 per 24 hrs. Please keep in mind that this hotel is directly on the beach and the humidity is high, the smell of mold in the rooms is very un friendly until you start to run the air conditioners for a while. Service is good and the food is average for all inclusive hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LAmericaTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We plan to meet again an excellent resort in Brazil but we were disappointed enough with the Enotel Porto de Galinhas. Initially we installed in a dark and and bad smells room, mold, without ventilation and toilet too dark. Strong smell of garbage in the first floor and in the second floor, near the "Oficina bar". Bed linen with quality very worn. We asked to change room and the next day we were attended by Mr. Paul, who served us well and put us in another apartment previously inspected by me. After inspection and decided not to approve two rooms to stay in third, now in 4th floor. There was no bad smell and the ventilation was better but appeared cockroach. Were found in the hallway. Disability lighting in the hallway. I requested maintenance but after seven days nothing had been done. We were rewarded with a trip to a beach called Praia dos Sheep "by attending a meeting to publicize the hotel. We had to cross a river in a boat called "Marissol" who had no condition and moreover we were discouraged to wear a lifejacket. "The river is shallow" said the pilot of the boat. Terrible experience. The day was rainy and we were practically compelled to do the ride anyway. I think the driver of the car and the driver of the boat would lose money if we gave up. The pools are good and the children loved playing in them. After a difficult book a la carte restaurants, the experience was even worse. No quality of service and meal. Definitely expected much, much more Enotel Porto de Galinhas.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank AlexanderBorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We really like AI and we know what to expect. But let's talk about misleading advertising with this one...

We booked a superior room with garden view ( the other option was pool view and we were afraid of the noise ). In the pictures of the hotel and the brochure, it seemed to be a modern boutique hotel, but it was far from it.

Upon arrival we were given a superior room pool view, but it was a view to the "quiet" pool and we were told it was silent. When we opened the door we were shocked, the room was old, tired, chipped furniture, cheapest possible ceramic floor tiles. The bed was 2 single pushed together and both were sagging in the middle, but the worse was the bathroom, there was mold and dirt everywhere. We collected several tissues of dirt in the shower door, shower head, corners, and went to the reception to complain. They sent a cleaning lady and she agreed that the room was dirty, she offered to clean it but there was nothing she could do about the mold. We requested then another room.

In the phone they told me I would get another superior room but instead of the green wing, it would be in the violet wing. Because my husband is foreigner ( I am brazilian he is dutch ) we were given an upgrade to a sea view suite. This room was much cleaner and double the size, even had a jacuzzi. It was an improvement, but even that room was not a room I expected to see in a 5* resort. Same cheap floor, cheap furniture, curtains with stains and due to the proximity with the stairs, very noisy. I was a non smoking room, but the bathroom reeked the 8 days we spent there.

The quiet swimming pool was nice but had very little sun and it was not that nice to relax with 200 room balconies looking at you. The bigger swimming pool was too crowded and always so dirty that we could never see the bottom of it.

There were loungers by the beach, in the hotel looking at the beach and around the pool. If you wanted a nice place, you would have to reserve before 6 am, and yes, there are warnings saying that reserving places is forbidden... but everybody does it anyway. The hotel was not build to be an all inclusive, so the public space is not enough for the amount of rooms.

The food in the buffet is really good, although a bit repetitive. There are 2 a la carte restaurants, one with regional food and other with portuguese food. We managed to get a reservation for the regional, but when we tried to get a reservation for the portuguese, the front desk clerk made fun of us because it was 6:20am and according to him, at 5:40am the line was already by the end of the lobby ( reservations start at 6 am ).

Was there nothing good? Drinks by the pool were very nice, people were served fast, nice quality alcoholic drinks. Coconut water and soft drinks are available at all times and there is no line to get it.

In the end, if this hotel had cost us 50% of what it did, it could have been tolerable, but we paid 5* prices and stayed in a 3* hotel.

Next time I will pay extra to stay at the Nannai or go directly to Bahia in the Iberostar. That is a damn good all-inclusive!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Dri-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2011

The hotel is beautiful, with more than 3.000m2 of swimming pool - really nice, kids loved it and could choose a different place to play every day. Luckily that hotel was not crowded, so we could take most advantage of it. Food is really nice as well. One point that they really need to look at is the "mom's corner", there is one at each floor and each side of the hotel, but several times, was not that clean or equipments were missing, need improvements here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraLuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto de Galinhas hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#11 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,030 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
#6 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#9 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
#15 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kembali Hotel
Kembali Hotel
#1 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
645 reviews
3.0 mi away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#12 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Enotel Acqua Club - Porto de Galinhas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Enotel Acqua Club - Porto de Galinhas

Property: Enotel Acqua Club - Porto de Galinhas
Address: Rodovia PE-09 | Gleba 6 BA, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#15 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Enotel Acqua Club - Porto de Galinhas 4*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enotel Resort & Spa has a privileged location by the sea on the beach The hotel is located on the southern coast of Pernambuco state, on the beach of Porto de Galinhas considered one of the most visited tourist destinations and recognized in Brazil. It is the first all-inclusive hotel in the area. With this system, customers can enjoy all meals, snacks, drinks, entertainment and sports at no extra charge, all designed to make the most of your stay. The 5-star resort has 348 comfortable rooms and one of the most spectacular sea views, large gardens, which provides the best natural environment. This place is surrounded by beautiful white sand beaches and coconut palms. Its rich culture and nature, together with a pleasant climate, warm and clear waters make Porto de Galinhas, a perfect destination to enjoy the holidays - "Live the Moment." The hotel is located only 60 kilometers from the Guararapes International Airport - Recife / PE, and 2.5 km from the city of Porto de Galinhas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Enotel Acqua Club - Porto de Galinhas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Enotel Porto Galinhas De
Enotel Porto Galinhas Hotel
Enotel Acqua Club - Porto De Galinhas Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing