We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - peaceful and relaxing.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Xales de Maracaipe Pousada
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location - peaceful and relaxing.”
Reviewed October 11, 2009

My friend and I chose this as our last destination after 3 weeks in South America. We were hoping for it to be a relaxing place to restore ourselves before we flew back to the United States. We found it to be just that - quiet, peaceful, and relaxing. They even have an onsite massage therapist - who does a great massage in an open hut on the grounds...you can feel and hear the ocean breeze. It was like $30 each for an hour massage. Highly recommended.

Accomodations: This isn't a 5-star resort so don't expect lush accomodations. That being said, we found our room to be basic, but very clean and comfortable for what we needed. For what you are paying - it is worth it. There is a TV and a refrigerator in each room. We stayed in the "Standard Frente Mar" with two beds. There is a nice hammock out in front of each room as well as quiet places on the grounds with hammocks.

Food: There is another Pousada almost next door with a restaurant called "Brisas" that we enjoyed eating at a few times. The restaurant at Xales is really only open for breakfast and they serve a nice breakfast. Other than that, for food we would walk into town along the beach - about a 30 minute walk. There are tons of excellent restaurants in Porto. Xales recommended we eat at "Domingo" - which we thought was excellent.

Transportation: USE THEIR TRANSFER to and from the airport! We got in early so we took a taxi instead to save time - big mistake. The taxi driver couldn't find it. We ended up being in the car with him for 3 HOURS vs. the 1 hour it should take from the Recife airport. He drove us to Porto then an hour out of Porto thinking he was taking us to Maracaipe beach instead then back to Porto. Grrrrrrrrrrrr! All for the same price, but totally frustrating. Once you get their, there are plenty of dune buggies to take you in and out of town if you don't want to walk the 30 minutes to Porto. The dune buggy rides are totally fun. (Although - that is the one noise you will hear while you are there...are the dune buggies going up and down the strip. But you'll hear that no matter where you stay and it's not excessive).

Staff: Doesn't speak English so brush up on your Portuguese! They are very kind and do all they can to be helpful. If you stay out late, they always make sure someone is waiting for you outside the reception to give you back your key (you have to leave your key when you leave the property).

Internet Access: There is one computer in the office that you can use. But it's not available that often and only during business hours. You can use it for quick things - checking weather, email briefly. Don't plan on going their with the idea of updating your blog. =)

Safety: We are two girls, and we always felt safe. All of our belongings were also kept safe while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tigger06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    132
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
170
220
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

I stayed in Xales for 4 days.The location is wonderful,beautifull beach ,very quiet.Very good breakfast and friendly staff.The rooms itself ,where not what I expected (I stayed in the family xale).The rooms are small,broken furniture(baby bed) full off dust and small bugs.The frigobar was empty!
There is no restaurant,like it says in their web site.
I think the place needs managament!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luanafernando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2009

If you like simple, rustic accomodations then this a quiet coconut plantation is the spot for you. The location is ideal for snorkling immediately after the extraordinary breakfast each morning. If you are visiting the area stay here and avoid the noise in Porto de Galinhas. 5 stars!

  • Liked — Rustic accomodations
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank rhoughta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2008

If you are planning to go to Porto de Galinhas and don't want to stay at the fancy hotels and want something closer to nature you gotta stay at this XALE. 50 meters of the beach, calm, beautiful and friendly staff. Very good food. Worth every penny.

  • Liked — The accomodation theem
  • Disliked — The was TV in the room!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Diegobatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto de Galinhas hotels
4.6 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#9 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pousada Iande
Pousada Iande
#4 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Aconchego Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Aconchego Porto de Galinha...
#19 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
#7 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#11 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,994 reviews
4.3 mi away
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
#15 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xales de Maracaipe Pousada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xales de Maracaipe Pousada

Property: Xales de Maracaipe Pousada
Address: Estrada de Maracaipe | Maracaípe Beach, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco 55590-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#10 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#13 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Xales de Maracaipe Pousada 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Xales de Maracaipe Pousada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xales De Maracaipe Pousada Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing