We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Summerville Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
recife
1 review
“Amazing Resort!!!!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Amazing resort,food is incredible and staff very friendly.I loved the way i was treated.Food is delicious!Pool are very clean and hotel has a great care child program.I will never forget this experience!I wanna be back soon and i really recommend this resort to family and friends

Incrivel resort,a comida eh incrivel os funcionarios muito bacana.Amei como fui tratada.A comida eh deliciosa.Piscinas sao limpas e o hotel tem uma reacreação boa, voltada para as crianças.Nunca esquecerei essa experiencia.Recomendo para familia e amigos,quero voltar de novo em breve!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 717pri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,266
    758
    224
    51
    32
See reviews for
1,437
356
24
169
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Staff gives you a nice treatment. Hotel pool is excellent but hotel asks for some maintenance and renovation. Food is good but could have more variation. Good child care. Don´t miss the nautical facilities outside the hotel area.

Room Tip: Nice relaxing in front of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReiBatista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

When I arrived at the Summerville Resort, I was so impressed!! A beautiful aquarium behind the reception desk and very courteous reception in English by the staff. A beautiful pool that winds about 1/4 mile through the resort and ends at the ocean!! Waterfall over the mid pool bar, bridges over some parts of the pool. Restaurant was without a doubt 5 star. Breakfast and dinner (huge buffet) was included in the price. Work out room and areas for massage, pedicure, haircuts plus a tennis court. I had a suite that had a balcony that faces the pool, but they also have cabanas that face the ocean or pools. Rooms were great with windows and balconies, hammock on the balcony, fans and AC, comfortable beds, cable TV and prompt maid service. Dune Buggies and aquatic equipment were available for rent.Meals themed (Italian, French, Portuguese, Oriental) and I had lobster twice. Soft drinks included. Prices very reasonable. Great gift shop and convenience store. Computers and Internet were available and included. I did not have kids, but the kids that were there seemed to be having a great time with the kids club events. There were organized water and exercise sports around the pool. Nearby Porto de Galinhas was a great tourist town to visit. I and my family hated to leave. Will definitely be going back for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the luxo suites that face the pool. Cabanas are nice also, but they are double decker, gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Hotel for local people. Personnel is not trained in other languages. I my room the ceiling of the bathroom was broken and the air conditioner had a leak. They didn't repair only let the water flow. Also loosen electric plugs very dangerous. Additional bed was undescriptable, old, in very bad shape and smells. Kids club is only for locals because all activities are in portuguese. Swimming pool remarkable. The beach nearby is not suitable for swimming you have to walk to the one that is near nannai another beach resort. Food is ok, a lot but soft drinks are only included during lunch time and dinner otherwise you have to pay. Think this resort has to re desing various services to compete properly. Slow service desk attention, with few exceptions staff very indifferent.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked this resort based on friend referrals and website review. We opted for the most expensive room, a beach front bangalo. Upon our arrival multiple issues were found, broken phone and curtains, room set up not ready for our family, in room refrigerator empty, all relatively minor if it wasn't for the need of multiple phone calls. After that things improved since the manager was watching out for us. The food is reasonable, not great. We were told that it used to be much better as little as 1 year ago. The restaurant have only a couple of wines available and the waiters were very nice but poorly trained. So, overall is a nice resort but not what I expected for $ 750 per night. The location, though, was worth the money.

Room Tip: If choosing a bangalo ask for rooms numbered in the 500's, many have direct beach view, on the 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

When my family and I decided to stay here for a week, I did not know what to expect. But this resort went above and beyond my expectations. Our hotel room was cleaned at least once a day, and the service was absolutely amazing. If you have kids, this is the resort to go and get away with out really "getting away" from your kids. They have a club that entertain your kids (including breakfast lunch AND dinner with them) all day long. Parents would have the entire day to themselves knowing that their kids are in good hands of the responsible and playful entertaining chaperones. I loved this place so much. 5 days was not enough to explore this place. There's just so much to do and such little time. For those who want to stay here, please try to go for 7 days if possible. You will not regret it! It was a little pricey but EVERY penny was worth the experience. Also, at the end of your trip, you can print out photos that they have taken and or order a DVD. I can not wait to come back here!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunapereira1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Caetano do Sul, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Hotel, the Service, Food and Local are very good.
Like several other hotels in Brazil, I though lack of attention on maintenance. Some simple things that could be much better if they keep better maintenance.

Room Tip: In general, the rooms are VERY GOOD. You will find a huge badroom, a very good room and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto de Galinhas hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#11 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,037 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#8 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,837 reviews
2.7 mi away
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
#14 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
#7 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,135 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kembali Hotel
Kembali Hotel
#1 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
645 reviews
3.0 mi away
Enotel Acqua Club - Porto de Galinhas
Enotel Acqua Club - Porto de Gal...
#18 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
3,705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerville Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerville Beach Resort

Property: Summerville Beach Resort
Address: Praia de Muro Alto s/n | Gleba 6A, Lote C, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco 55590-000, Brazil (Formerly Grand Mercure Summerville Resort)
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#2 Business Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#9 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerville Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most famous beaches of the Brazilian Northeast, the Summerville Beach Resort occupies a privileged green area of 70 thousand square meters in Muro Alto Beach, Porto de Galinhas in Ipojuca-PE. It is perfectly integrated into a landscape composed of coconut trees, rainforest, mangroves, and oceanfront, a huge natural pool formed by reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Summerville Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerville Beach Hotel Porto De Galinhas
Summerville Beach Resort Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing