We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to enjoy life with the whole family.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Summerville Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Manaus
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place to enjoy life with the whole family.”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location, friendly staff, excelent food, lots of activities for all ages, you can chill by the pool while your kids run around with the monitors. You won't need to leave the hotel for anything. The beverages are a little expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyMFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    773
    226
    54
    33
See reviews for
1,488
360
24
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Summerville resort is perfectly located outside Porto de Galinhas (worth the stay alone) and has an absolutely breathtaking pool that winds about 1/4 mile through the resort with a waterfall located at the restaurant in the middle of the pool. When you get to the end of the pool, you can step out directly to the beautiful beach. This is also where the massage rooms are and worth it! The breakfasts and dinners are included in the rate and are, without a doubt, 5 star quality. Dinners are themed, like a local cultural dinner, or a French or a Italian, etc. Many times lobster is included along with steak. Breakfast is the best I have ever seen. I did a dune buggy ride one day that took me to a great restaurant in Porto de Galinhas and along the beach to a coastal river, where I found freshwater Seahorses! The rooms in the resort go from Cabanas to simple apartments. The Luxo (luxurious) suites all have balconies that face the swimming pool and many of the cabanas have balconies that face the ocean. Each room has a hammack with hooks on the balconies. I liked the luxo suites the best with a living room, bedroom and kitchen. Internet is included in the apartments along with English channels. Many of the reception desk personal speak good English and they have concierges that can be called for any questions. Do not miss a stay at this resort!!

Room Tip: Ask for a luxo suite that faces the swimming pools, get a bottom room (not second floor) so that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Leopoldo, Brasil
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We spent the reveillon at Summerville and the hotel is great! It has a very good structure, an amazing pool, big and comfortable rooms, a delicious breakfast ( as well as a delicious food at the restaurant ), but the remarkable was the kids club! An amazing kids club structure, with very professional and cary recreacionists, they have a kids buffett inside the kids club, this way the children can eat there ( foods they like - rice, beans, pasta ... ). They have activities during all day, separating younger children from olders. and it works wonderfully. mi children just loved the hotel and the club. The only thing that was not so good was the service.... a little slow, they forget your order and we had some problems wiht our table ar Reveillon ( they reserved our places for 2 families ). But, in general, a great hotel for vacation - sun, pool, sea.... very good!

Room Tip: I think the best is to reserve rooms a little far from the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuFPinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have an amazing time at Summerville Beach Resort, and it will certainly stay in my top 10 list for some time. It will be hard to beat the beautiful sights everywhere: blue sea surrounded by coral reefs, palm trees, swimming pools, large, well designed and cozy rooms, lots of activities such as free dance or gym classes, perfect varied food, I could not wish for more. The variety of swimming pools allows even some diving classes prior to exploring the sea nearby (paid apart, of course).
The resort's beach is beautiful, and easy to access. I could walk at the beach anytime, day or night, and the full moon made a very romantic scenery. During the day there are kaiaks to rent, and the water is so clean and light that I easily spotted fish and crabs in the warm water.
Service is great, price is reasonable, and I was very well impressed by the hotel. I would definitely stay there again and recommend. Great, beautiful place!

Room Tip: If possible, chose the first cottages in front of the beach. You will feel there's only you the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelmaBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Great, food was very good and great variety, service, excellent, children recreation, outstanding, the settings excellent. Recomend this place for a family vacation. The service is great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAEL64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I recently spent 5 days at the Summerville Beach Resort in Porto de Galinhas. This was my first time to Brazil, and I was overall pleased with the stay.

Prior to going to Brazil, I studied Portuguese enough so that I could have brief conversations, and this was a good idea. While there was one person at the checkin who spoke perfect English, many or most of the staff spoke little English, if at all. I don't view this as a negative in the least, rather, it made me feel like I was in a different country, which is exactly what I was looking for. I did find that they were very patient with my Portuguese, which was good!

The drive from Recife was a bit long - took us about 1 hour 15 minutes (a bit less on the way back), but the countryside was beautiful.

I loved the open air lobby, although this is where I started to notice the fact that the resort is a bit dated. By a bit dated, I mean it is overdue for a renovation. The furniture, the rooms, everything about the resort just seemed like I was in 1987. I upgraded to a cabana overlooking the pool, which was very nice. The porch was wide while still having privacy from the room next door, but I wish the furniture was just a bit more, well, updated. It was plastic chairs and tables -- sturdy enough, but if I were a large man (or woman), I'm not so sure it would have made it. The rooms were clean, and the 2X/day housekeeping was very efficient. I liked the fact that they had a mini fridge in the room, stocked with beer and some other things that I didn't have. (I did have the beer!)

The grounds were really beautiful. Little bridges enabled you to walk through (over) the pool area to the lobby, and there were numerous places to swim. I know that I was there in the winter (May), but the place was nearly deserted, which I LOVED. There was absolutely no problem getting a chair near the pool. In fact, some days it seemed like I was there with 3-4 of my friends, and that was it. I liked the beach, and the reef right off the beach made for nice crashing waves about 50 meters off shore.

The bar service was a little slow compared to American standards, but I found it to help me slow down and not worry so much about time. The waitstaff was quite pleasant and helpful.

The biggest surprise for me was the food. When I found out that it was all buffet-style food, frankly, I was not expecting much. After all, creating a huge buffet, 3 meals a day, that was both tasty and had healthy options is a tall order. I have to say that I thought the food here was very, very good. There were many new choices at every meal, along with some standard items that were consistent. While I could tell from day to day that they used leftovers to create the next day's meals, it was not a disappointment in the least. Plenty of interesting options, including one of my favorites, paella one night. Breakfast was very good, with eggs that were cooked just right - not overdone.

Overall, this was a good place. If I were ever back in or near Recife, I would probably go back.

Room Tip: Pick a cabana that faces the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unpaintedhuffhines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

As you can see by the other reviews, this hotel is FOR FAMILIES only!! They TAKE OVER the place!! If you want somewhere quiet to relax, perhaps with your other half, like I did, AVOID at all costs!! We stayed at the best "bangalô" they had, to try and avoid the chaos, but the hotel organised activities for the children to do right next to that area! Unbelievable!

Meal times were such a nightmare, with the typical Brazilian politeness of "me first", we decided to go into town to eat every night, which was certainly the best decision but still not what we had expected! The village is about 20 minutes away by taxi, so it was not cheap to keep on having to escape the resort!!

To top it all off, you can't just sit by the pool and relax, as they have non-stop loud music on and the children's entertainers shouting all day long!!

A complete nightmare!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank av0id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto de Galinhas hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#10 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,096 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#9 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,859 reviews
2.7 mi away
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
#14 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
#7 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,151 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kembali Hotel
Kembali Hotel
#1 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
656 reviews
3.0 mi away
Enotel Acqua Club - Porto de Galinhas
Enotel Acqua Club - Porto de Gal...
#18 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
3,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerville Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerville Beach Resort

Property: Summerville Beach Resort
Address: Praia de Muro Alto s/n | Gleba 6A, Lote C, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco 55590-000, Brazil (Formerly Grand Mercure Summerville Resort)
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#2 Business Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#9 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerville Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most famous beaches of the Brazilian Northeast, the Summerville Beach Resort occupies a privileged green area of 70 thousand square meters in Muro Alto Beach, Porto de Galinhas in Ipojuca-PE. It is perfectly integrated into a landscape composed of coconut trees, rainforest, mangroves, and oceanfront, a huge natural pool formed by reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Summerville Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerville Beach Hotel Porto De Galinhas
Summerville Beach Resort Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing