We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice resort, a bit dated though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Summerville Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice resort, a bit dated though”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

I recently spent 5 days at the Summerville Beach Resort in Porto de Galinhas. This was my first time to Brazil, and I was overall pleased with the stay.

Prior to going to Brazil, I studied Portuguese enough so that I could have brief conversations, and this was a good idea. While there was one person at the checkin who spoke perfect English, many or most of the staff spoke little English, if at all. I don't view this as a negative in the least, rather, it made me feel like I was in a different country, which is exactly what I was looking for. I did find that they were very patient with my Portuguese, which was good!

The drive from Recife was a bit long - took us about 1 hour 15 minutes (a bit less on the way back), but the countryside was beautiful.

I loved the open air lobby, although this is where I started to notice the fact that the resort is a bit dated. By a bit dated, I mean it is overdue for a renovation. The furniture, the rooms, everything about the resort just seemed like I was in 1987. I upgraded to a cabana overlooking the pool, which was very nice. The porch was wide while still having privacy from the room next door, but I wish the furniture was just a bit more, well, updated. It was plastic chairs and tables -- sturdy enough, but if I were a large man (or woman), I'm not so sure it would have made it. The rooms were clean, and the 2X/day housekeeping was very efficient. I liked the fact that they had a mini fridge in the room, stocked with beer and some other things that I didn't have. (I did have the beer!)

The grounds were really beautiful. Little bridges enabled you to walk through (over) the pool area to the lobby, and there were numerous places to swim. I know that I was there in the winter (May), but the place was nearly deserted, which I LOVED. There was absolutely no problem getting a chair near the pool. In fact, some days it seemed like I was there with 3-4 of my friends, and that was it. I liked the beach, and the reef right off the beach made for nice crashing waves about 50 meters off shore.

The bar service was a little slow compared to American standards, but I found it to help me slow down and not worry so much about time. The waitstaff was quite pleasant and helpful.

The biggest surprise for me was the food. When I found out that it was all buffet-style food, frankly, I was not expecting much. After all, creating a huge buffet, 3 meals a day, that was both tasty and had healthy options is a tall order. I have to say that I thought the food here was very, very good. There were many new choices at every meal, along with some standard items that were consistent. While I could tell from day to day that they used leftovers to create the next day's meals, it was not a disappointment in the least. Plenty of interesting options, including one of my favorites, paella one night. Breakfast was very good, with eggs that were cooked just right - not overdone.

Overall, this was a good place. If I were ever back in or near Recife, I would probably go back.

Room Tip: Pick a cabana that faces the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Unpaintedhuffhines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,218
    742
    220
    50
    31
See reviews for
1,393
339
23
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

As you can see by the other reviews, this hotel is FOR FAMILIES only!! They TAKE OVER the place!! If you want somewhere quiet to relax, perhaps with your other half, like I did, AVOID at all costs!! We stayed at the best "bangalô" they had, to try and avoid the chaos, but the hotel organised activities for the children to do right next to that area! Unbelievable!

Meal times were such a nightmare, with the typical Brazilian politeness of "me first", we decided to go into town to eat every night, which was certainly the best decision but still not what we had expected! The village is about 20 minutes away by taxi, so it was not cheap to keep on having to escape the resort!!

To top it all off, you can't just sit by the pool and relax, as they have non-stop loud music on and the children's entertainers shouting all day long!!

A complete nightmare!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank av0id
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

Spent the last week at this beautiful resort and it was for sure one of the best resorts we have stayed. My 2 boys didn't want to go back home and it is definitely a place that we will visit again. The food is delicious, especially the deserts... everyday a different and wonderful one. The recreation team is great, the waiters are always very polite and worried about you and the children have different activities every day. The pool is perfect, the especial restaurant for the little ones is also great. Loved everything.

Room Tip: The rooms in front of the pool are the best ones, even better than the cabanas that are close to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leiden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

This was our second visit to this hotel and we were amazed again how nice the hotel is for childeren. The staff of the baby- and childerenclub is active with the childeren from the morning till the late evening. Also the staff of the animationteam, restaurant and reception is very friendly and helpfull, however a few people are able to speak English.
This hotel is less suitable for older couples without itinerant familymembers, who liked to have a quiet holiday.
Breakfast is extensive, also at dinner, specially the desserts, all of a good quality.
The standardrooms are limitted equiped, a up-grade is adviced. At this moment all the rooms and bungalows are renovated, which is necessary.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeidenRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

The hotel is very nice, the pools are wonderful and the beach is very nice. However, the transportation service to and from the airport is horrible! They set up to meet me at the airport at 11:00 am. No one showed up. So, after chasing after them for an hour, I found out that they forgot about me, so they sent some kind of taxi to pick us up, but the driver didn´t know how to get to the hotel... So we finally arrived at 4:30 pm instead of noon!!! Wasted a vacation day! very stressfull!!!! This transportation service belongs to the hotel, their desk is inside the lobby. DO NOT contract their services!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria Luiza M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at this hotel during a congress and experienced a consistent bad service. Staff at the restaurant didn't manage any single time in a whole week to serve us the right dish in less than 40min waiting time. This in an empty restaurant with a 4 items menu (4 types of sandwich with French fries).

I truly urge management to train its staff and get service up to speed.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vilnibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

If you are travelling with children from 3yo and above this is the place YOU gonna take a rest!!!! while you tan, swim, read or anything else you want to do the monitors take your childre to play all day long!!!!
The food is also good, the rooms are big but the cleaning coulb be better and faster.
The hotel is located ina very beautiful place and outside the resort you can find a lot of other places, restaurants, beaches, etc.
This area in under a huge development so the roads are terrible.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porto de Galinhas
2.2 mi away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#11 of 24 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,968 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#9 of 24 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,773 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
#8 of 24 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
Prodigy Beach Resort Marupiara
#15 of 24 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kembali Hotel
Kembali Hotel
#1 of 24 in Porto de Galinhas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
9.0 mi away
Serrambi Resort
Serrambi Resort
#11 of 30 in Ipojuca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summerville Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summerville Beach Resort

Property: Summerville Beach Resort
Address: Praia de Muro Alto s/n | Gleba 6A, Lote C, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco 55590-000, Brazil (Formerly Grand Mercure Summerville Resort)
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#2 Business Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#3 Luxury Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#9 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Summerville Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most famous beaches of the Brazilian Northeast, the Summerville Beach Resort occupies a privileged green area of 70 thousand square meters in Muro Alto Beach, Porto de Galinhas in Ipojuca-PE. It is perfectly integrated into a landscape composed of coconut trees, rainforest, mangroves, and oceanfront, a huge natural pool formed by reefs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Summerville Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summerville Beach Hotel Porto De Galinhas
Summerville Beach Resort Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing