We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD FOR A 3*”
Review of Pontal De Ocapora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pontal De Ocapora
Ranked #12 of 26 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Beach is great, rooms are nice, food is ok. It is far from the city center, you have to take a taxi and those are not cheap.
Water is crystal clear, you can go snorkeling!.
No nightlife, it is a place to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frangipani2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 2,608 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2010

We stayed there through a package with CVC, unfortunately they just had a promotion a few days after we bought ours, and we found out that some of the people that arrived on the plane with us (and were leaving same day as us) paid about 20% less than us, which is ok, as we already got the low season fare.
The hotel location is far from the villa, but they have taxis available all the time that take you back and forth to the villa for R$20, about $10. The villa is where the famous piscinas naturais, jangadas are. You do not want to miss it, as they water is clean, warm and calm. The water in front of hotel is not good for swimming, strong currents.
The hotel staff are very courteous, they have nightly activities. The breakfast and dinner have lots of variety, and they change nightly. They were careful, taking samples nightly to monitor the quality. They had at least a vegetarian main dish, meat, poultry, seafood, and pasta every night. Breakfast also had lots of choices, with staff making omelets to order, or the local tapioca snack.
The room furniture was simple to international standards, but it had the basics. We had TV, air con, ceiling fan and switch control by the bed side. Unfortunately because of mosquitos, we had to keep windows closed (no screens), and air on all the time.
We bought the tour packages to visit the neighboring attractions at the villas, and although cheaper than the one offered by the transfer company Luck, after comparing notes with other tour mates, they had better rides than us. (but the in price on carneiros tour was R$30 pp vs R$50 pp on Luck), so I think we got some value. Do not miss the praia dos carneiros and Recife/Olinda tour.
We also felt safe in the villa (Porto de Galinhas) and hotel, which is a plus after reading all the violence in Recife, Olinda, Sao Paulo and Rio.
Overall an excellent vacation. I highly recommend it, and would love to go again if I get a package on sale.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janesanjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

The best of this Hotel is the localization into 1 amazing forest of cocknuts and over the beach

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Privnuno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

It's an excellent resort!!! Great entertainment... excellente to rest and relaxation, great service and excellent cuisine!

Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank ktanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Beautiful setting, lovely beaches, good rooms, and friendly atmosphere. Stayed for a week from May 1 to May 8.,
The room we were given (identified in our voucher as a "Standard double") was spacious, with a king-size bed, air conditioner (it is tropical) and a very confortable bathroom and good cupboard space.
The hotel is spread out on a large piece of land, where the rooms are mostly in "bungalows" containing two rooms. These are conected to a main "walk" by elevated (about 50 cm) catwalks in between which are a variety of tropical trees and bushes which makes it very agreeable.
Room service was good and we always found the room clean and tidy and the bed cover was always folded into a different shape every day (a turtle, a heart, etc.).
The breakfast is the typical Brazilian type, with lots of tropical fruit and made to order omelettes (very good). I found the juices offered not always so good, and never orange juice during our stay.
Service at the bar and on the beach is good and, with the exception of a couple of waiters, good humored, although a little slow (this seems to be part of the easy-going atmosphere).
Food at the restaurant is varied, but limited to Brazilian fare (which is OK for me).
WiFi is found only in the lobby (very hot place - no air conditioning there) and in a common area (no air conditioning there either). It would be good to have WiFi in the rooms.
The only thing is that you have to ask for the air conditioner remote control and the hair-dryer.
The hot water in the shower is from solar heating devices on the roof. Strangely, the lavatory has no hot water, which wasn't too bad since the cold water was not that cold.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie_Catt_First
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Our family stayed 10 days at this hotel in July of 2006. Having stayed in many Brazilin beach hotels over the years, this one is typical by Brazilian beach standards. The rooms are small and not particularly well appointed. The facilities are not in the best of shape in terms of spa equipment, games and other items. This hotel probably is really a 2 ½ star hotel by world standards in terms of the rooms and facilities. I still recommend this place for young couples on a budget and families with teenagers. If you are more discerning and are looking for cleanliness and luxury, this is not the place for you. There has been an explosion in development around the beach front in Porto G, and there is quite a selection of very luxury class hotel resorts now available in the area.
It’s really all about the beach that you stay in a place like the Ocapora. The large wooden deck that faces the beach is fantastic. Our family spent many hours just absorbing the beautiful beach view and air. We spent many lunches and caipirinhas just chilling on the deck. The walks from the hotel are fantastic in either direction. At low tide, you can walk up to the reef pool about a mile north of the hotel and hire a banana ride in the tidal pool. The kids did this with “emocao” and got tossed off the banana many times to their delight. Since we had our 12 and 15 year olds along with us and their cousins, they spent hours playing around in the surf, the hotel pools and the beach sand.
The hotel served us breakfast and dinner in the dining area. I thought the food was fine with a broad selection of many different things to eat at any sitting that kept all family members happy. There are always friendly Brazilians and Argentines to share a table with and share stories about your stay. We kept a bottle of wine going over several sittings that was brought to our table by the staff upon our arrival for dinner. We typically ate lunch on the deck that consisted of calamari, sandwiches, beer or caipirinhas. The staff tends to be young Brazilians with some speaking good English. In general, they are helpful and can set you up for tours and taxi service as required.
Our kids enjoyed the night time activities that included dancing and caipoera on several nights. There was also a visit to one of the other hotels in the area for a dancing exhibition featuring a variety of South American cultures.
Here is a list of things that are good and not so good about the area:
Watch out for jelly fish. Depending on the season and tides, these can be a problem. My 12 year old son got a bad sting on his leg right in front of the hotel beach.
Enjoy long walks in either direction on the beach. You can usually stop in some of the other hotels around the area and get a drink if you need it.
At low tide, you can get a tour boat to take you out to the reef off of downtown Porto G. You can actually walk on the reef and look into the tidal pools to see fish and starfish.
Rent a dune buggy and just go cruising around the area one day. There are lots of interesting beaches that you can get to.
Take a tour to Recife and see Orlinda
Take the diving tour. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed it
Be careful with where you eat and drink. Having stayed in the area for 10 days, my son and I picked up a stomach bug. I would stay away from any shellfish bought from beach vendors.
If you take the boat tour to see the sea horses, just know that the boat owner has the sea horses in a cage underwater when he dives down to “catch” them and show them to you. I got a bit suspicious when he dove back under water to “release” them.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abobora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We recently stayed at a Garden View bungalow at the Ocapora and really enjoyed my visit. The bungalow was quiet and featured a garden with palms, bugenvilia, and hibiscus flowers. Breakfast was included and featured excellent variety. When we ate dinner there, the food was very good. The staff was helpful and very accommodating. If you are an English speaker, I would advise you to learn a little Portuguese. There were no English speakers on staff. My only complaint was Internet connectivity. Sometimes the Wi-Fi was not available and no technician was available to help. If you have children, there are plenty of activities for them to enjoy. We will definitely visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lscales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto de Galinhas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#10 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,293 reviews
0.8 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#8 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,937 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto de Galinhas Praia Hotel
Porto de Galinhas Praia Hotel
#13 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
#6 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,287 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Armacao
Hotel Armacao
#9 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pousada Tabapitanga
Pousada Tabapitanga
#4 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontal De Ocapora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontal De Ocapora

Address: Sitio Costa Tropicana | Pontal Do Cupe, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range: $220 - $487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontal De Ocapora 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pontal De Ocapora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontal De Ocapora Hotel Porto De Galinhas
Pontal De Ocapora Porto Galinhas
Pontal De Ocapora Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing