We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to rest and enjoy the beach.”
Review of Pontal De Ocapora

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pontal De Ocapora
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Porto de Galinhas
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely place to rest and enjoy the beach.”
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Beautiful setting, lovely beaches, good rooms, and friendly atmosphere. Stayed for a week from May 1 to May 8.,
The room we were given (identified in our voucher as a "Standard double") was spacious, with a king-size bed, air conditioner (it is tropical) and a very confortable bathroom and good cupboard space.
The hotel is spread out on a large piece of land, where the rooms are mostly in "bungalows" containing two rooms. These are conected to a main "walk" by elevated (about 50 cm) catwalks in between which are a variety of tropical trees and bushes which makes it very agreeable.
Room service was good and we always found the room clean and tidy and the bed cover was always folded into a different shape every day (a turtle, a heart, etc.).
The breakfast is the typical Brazilian type, with lots of tropical fruit and made to order omelettes (very good). I found the juices offered not always so good, and never orange juice during our stay.
Service at the bar and on the beach is good and, with the exception of a couple of waiters, good humored, although a little slow (this seems to be part of the easy-going atmosphere).
Food at the restaurant is varied, but limited to Brazilian fare (which is OK for me).
WiFi is found only in the lobby (very hot place - no air conditioning there) and in a common area (no air conditioning there either). It would be good to have WiFi in the rooms.
The only thing is that you have to ask for the air conditioner remote control and the hair-dryer.
The hot water in the shower is from solar heating devices on the roof. Strangely, the lavatory has no hot water, which wasn't too bad since the cold water was not that cold.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_Catt_First
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    932
    208
    43
    22
See reviews for
1,115
967
35
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

Our family stayed 10 days at this hotel in July of 2006. Having stayed in many Brazilin beach hotels over the years, this one is typical by Brazilian beach standards. The rooms are small and not particularly well appointed. The facilities are not in the best of shape in terms of spa equipment, games and other items. This hotel probably is really a 2 ½ star hotel by world standards in terms of the rooms and facilities. I still recommend this place for young couples on a budget and families with teenagers. If you are more discerning and are looking for cleanliness and luxury, this is not the place for you. There has been an explosion in development around the beach front in Porto G, and there is quite a selection of very luxury class hotel resorts now available in the area.
It’s really all about the beach that you stay in a place like the Ocapora. The large wooden deck that faces the beach is fantastic. Our family spent many hours just absorbing the beautiful beach view and air. We spent many lunches and caipirinhas just chilling on the deck. The walks from the hotel are fantastic in either direction. At low tide, you can walk up to the reef pool about a mile north of the hotel and hire a banana ride in the tidal pool. The kids did this with “emocao” and got tossed off the banana many times to their delight. Since we had our 12 and 15 year olds along with us and their cousins, they spent hours playing around in the surf, the hotel pools and the beach sand.
The hotel served us breakfast and dinner in the dining area. I thought the food was fine with a broad selection of many different things to eat at any sitting that kept all family members happy. There are always friendly Brazilians and Argentines to share a table with and share stories about your stay. We kept a bottle of wine going over several sittings that was brought to our table by the staff upon our arrival for dinner. We typically ate lunch on the deck that consisted of calamari, sandwiches, beer or caipirinhas. The staff tends to be young Brazilians with some speaking good English. In general, they are helpful and can set you up for tours and taxi service as required.
Our kids enjoyed the night time activities that included dancing and caipoera on several nights. There was also a visit to one of the other hotels in the area for a dancing exhibition featuring a variety of South American cultures.
Here is a list of things that are good and not so good about the area:
Watch out for jelly fish. Depending on the season and tides, these can be a problem. My 12 year old son got a bad sting on his leg right in front of the hotel beach.
Enjoy long walks in either direction on the beach. You can usually stop in some of the other hotels around the area and get a drink if you need it.
At low tide, you can get a tour boat to take you out to the reef off of downtown Porto G. You can actually walk on the reef and look into the tidal pools to see fish and starfish.
Rent a dune buggy and just go cruising around the area one day. There are lots of interesting beaches that you can get to.
Take a tour to Recife and see Orlinda
Take the diving tour. Our kids thoroughly enjoyed it
Be careful with where you eat and drink. Having stayed in the area for 10 days, my son and I picked up a stomach bug. I would stay away from any shellfish bought from beach vendors.
If you take the boat tour to see the sea horses, just know that the boat owner has the sea horses in a cage underwater when he dives down to “catch” them and show them to you. I got a bit suspicious when he dove back under water to “release” them.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abobora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We recently stayed at a Garden View bungalow at the Ocapora and really enjoyed my visit. The bungalow was quiet and featured a garden with palms, bugenvilia, and hibiscus flowers. Breakfast was included and featured excellent variety. When we ate dinner there, the food was very good. The staff was helpful and very accommodating. If you are an English speaker, I would advise you to learn a little Portuguese. There were no English speakers on staff. My only complaint was Internet connectivity. Sometimes the Wi-Fi was not available and no technician was available to help. If you have children, there are plenty of activities for them to enjoy. We will definitely visit this hotel again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lscales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

Good location in relation to the beach and nearby beaches - all of them great!. The village of Porto de Galinhas is 5 km away - 10 minutes by car, taxi or bus (available frequently at hotel's entrance).
All the interesting tours are available from there (you can get advice at the lobby) - i recommend the buggy tour (Ponta a Ponta)

Staff in the hotel are very warm and friendly. Always ready for a good chat.

I recommend the hotel to families with kids - the hotel has always a lot of activities (at the hotel and at the beach in front). There's a lot of staff taking care and watching for them. I recommend for the rest also.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nplourenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2008

I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. They upgraded us to a chalet as close to the beach as possible, we could see the beach from our chalet and hear the sea at night. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The surrounding gardens were beautifully kept. Breakfast and dinner was usually very good with a wide variety of dishes to choose from.
On the down side only one thing to report, the damp smell in the chalet.

  • Liked — The gardens
  • Disliked — The damp smell inside the chalet
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank joburg74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2008

This hotel is brilliant. we went during a quiet season so we were upgraded on arrival to a sea facing "cabin" rather than a room. The hotel has a great view of the beach and you can hire a buggy and driver to explore the beaches all around as well. The restaurant is lovely, a great breakfast every morning and dinner on the odd occasion - although we always prefer to eat in town if we can.

The room was very generously sizes, spotless and reception were very helpfull if we needed anything extra.

Porto de galinhas in general is fantastic and has plenty of things to do, the people are always friendly and helpful and there is plenty of nightlife to enjoy too.

Overall highly reccommended! I have only given it a 4 because it is a little bit far from the town centre but we knew that when we booked so not a real problem for us.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank asilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

The Pontal de Ocapora Hotel is a typical beach hotel: not that good, not that bad. The beach is similar to others in Brazil, you must be carefuul about the sea. The hotel have 3 swimming pool that are very small,the semi private beach is a better choice. The thing I most deslike was the animals all over the place. Lots of insects. The access to hotel is very bad also. The food altought was great and the staff was very nice. This hotel is a good choice for people who want a pleasant vacations without spent a lot of money.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Bugs!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RaquelF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FilomenaMiami, public relations manager at Pontal De Ocapora, responded to this review, April 16, 2009
Our beautiful Hotel Pontal de Ocaporã is located on the best part of the beach of Porto de Galinhas, more precisely on Pontal do Cupe, on low tide you can enjoy safely our protected, crystal clear and warm waters with nice breeze. Our gardens are enchanted and we brought the forest with all its exuberance to inside of the property. We believe in nature, in ecology. We do our best to match hospitality with our passion for nature and friendly services. Indicated specially for families, romantic getways or simply to admire the fantastic infra-estructure constatly renewed of this vibrant place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto de Galinhas hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#11 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,034 reviews
0.8 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#8 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,836 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
#7 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pousada Tabapitanga
Pousada Tabapitanga
#3 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Porto de Galinhas Praia Hotel
Porto de Galinhas Praia Hotel
#13 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,420 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Armacao
Hotel Armacao
#5 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pontal De Ocapora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pontal De Ocapora

Property: Pontal De Ocapora
Address: Sitio Costa Tropicana | Pontal Do Cupe, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pontal De Ocapora 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Prestigia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Pontal De Ocapora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pontal De Ocapora Hotel Porto De Galinhas
Pontal De Ocapora Porto Galinhas
Pontal De Ocapora Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing