We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean rooms, nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Canto Do Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, clean rooms, nice staff”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Thsi is a fine location right on the beach and very near to the center so it's one of the best sea view hotels options in Porto de Galinhas. The rooms are nicey decrated and very clean, some with sea views and hamacs, even the smallest one at the back of the garden are good. Nice staff although NO ONE speaks english which can be difficult at times.
However, this is a hotel for couples, couples with children and older visitors: it's not a fun place but a family place and lacks the charm of other poussadas on the beach in Maracaipe at the end of the Porto de Galinhas beach... I was travelling alone and got quickly bored there...

Room Tip: It depends on your budget... But even rooms 5 to 8 at the back of the garden are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karine2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    126
    10
    0
    2
See reviews for
190
321
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
1,246 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,728 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

There is no doubt that it is a pleasant place, at one of the best points of Porto de Galinhas beach, just a 20' walking distance to the action.

I can also guarantee that the staff was very helpful and friendly (though excessively informal too - but ok, that is the local culture) and the beach service available is good.

But the Pousada has no swimming pool, its facilities are old (some renovation would be very welcome), the rooms are very simple and not that clean, with the floor and even the bed full of sand.

Another point that should be better appreciated by those who are running that Inn is the fact that there isn't a restaurant with meals other then appetizers available. We thought the restaurant's setting very nice and it was a truly disappointment not to dispose a decent meal or a fine dinner there.

Despite those many complaints, always constructive, we do recommend Pousada Canto do Porto.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GUSDALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dourados, MS
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The location is the better, the staff is very nice, the food is marvelous. What else you need? Nothing more.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osmar40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights at this pousada as part of a wedding party. The hotel is in a great location just a short walk down the beachfront to the townsite. The beach itself is nice. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and well maintained. We had a side-block room which was clean and well equipped. The staff were friendly but it was difficult to communicate at times as we can't speak portugese and their english was limited. The beach bar drinks and food were reasonably priced and tasty. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay here and were sad to leave.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Our second stay at this charming little getaway was even better than the first. In March of 2010 we returned to visit the fine folks at Canto do Porto. We were so pleased to find many of the very same people taking care of us. This time some of our family & friends joined us from the states, as well as some of my wife’s family from nearby Recife. A fantastic time was had by all. My wife & I renewed our vows at a chapel in Porto de Galinhas, and we all relaxed for several days at the pousada. Enough cannot be said about the service & hospitality at Posada Canto do Porto. Some of our family from the states, along with two friends from Sao Paolo & two more from Mexico, joined us in Porto de Galinhas, but tried to save a few dollars by staying next door (away from the beach) in a chalet at the “Pousada Privê Som das Ondas”. They all agreed that the accommodations were lacking by comparison, and even the attitude of their hosts was not worth what little money they saved. They even found they were required to buy their toilet paper.

Everyone that came felt as we did (after our first visit), that “Pousada Canto do Porto” is the place to stay in Porto de Galinhas, & clearly someplace you’ll want to return to. My wife & I will again be heading to Brasil in March of 2012. I don’t know if Porto de Galinhas is going to be on the itinerary this time, but you can be sure that if we don’t see them this year, we certainly will on our next trip.

Muito Obrigado Minha Gente Fina

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayElle702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed here 4 nights and loved every minute of it! We didn't know what to expect, it turned out the pictures on tripadvisor or their website did not do this place justice. It was so pretty and comfortable. The staff is amazing - very friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent too...we didn't even have to go to the downtown area because the hotel food was way better and reasonably priced. It's right next to the beach and the beach area here is really clean, so that was perfect. It was only a 5-7 minute walk to the downtown area...you can just walk down the beach. The drinks here were great too :) I would definitely recommend staying here if it's in your budget.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Go with the reviews, this is the best place to stay. Location is perfect, 10 minute walk to center and located on a great spot of beach, a bit away from crowds, but close enough ton walk around. Rest of hotel is all good, but no pool (is it needed?)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr_PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto de Galinhas hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Solar Porto de Galinhas
#7 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,151 reviews
2.4 mi away
Village Porto de Galinhas
Village Porto de Galinhas
#9 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,859 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pousada Iande
Pousada Iande
#4 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
Hotel Viva Porto de Galinhas
#10 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,096 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pousada Tabapitanga
Pousada Tabapitanga
#3 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
1,181 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Armacao
Hotel Armacao
#6 of 26 in Porto de Galinhas
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Canto Do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Canto Do Porto

Property: Pousada Canto Do Porto
Address: Av.Beira Mar,S/N-Lot.Merepe I-Qd-C-1-Lt 3A-P De Galinhas, Porto de Galinhas, Ipojuca, State of Pernambuco, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Pernambuco > Ipojuca > Porto de Galinhas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 106 B&Bs / Inns in Porto de Galinhas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pousada Canto Do Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canto Do Porto Pousada Hotel Porto De Galinhas
Pousada Canto Do Porto Porto De Galinhas, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing