We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay in your visit to Cataratas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Park Internacional Foz
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
563 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in your visit to Cataratas”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

I had a very good stay at this hotel with my family during a weekend trip to Cataratas. I can recommend this hotel to anyone, either visiting Foz do Iguacu for business or leisure.


Breakfast is complementary and has a good choice of options. Wi-Fi internet is also complementary in the room. It was easy to get a late checkout, which was good since my return flight was at 4 pm.

The hotel is located in the city center. This is good and bad at same time. It is bad because the city is unattractive, but it is good since you can go to banks, brokers where you can change your currency to reais or pesos with decent prices, restaurants and small shops paying reasonable prices. I imagine that these sorts of services are overcharged if you stay in a hotel in the road to the park. For example, many families had their dinner at a restaurant just besides the hotel (just turn left when leaving the hotel. It is the building next door). Food was good, the place was clean and reasonable and the price affordable.

Going to the Cataratas is easy. You can hail a cab. It will cost you at around R$ 40 (one way) to go the Brazilian side or R$ 70 (one way) to the Argentinian side. If you want saving money, but spending more time, the bus station to the Brazilian side to the Cataratas is close to the hotel. No more than a 10 minutes walk.

I spent one day in the Brazilian side and the other one in the Argentinian side. When returning you can use the swimming pool, sauna and gym center. My room had a 32’’ flat screen tv with a good variety of channels in many languages.

Two cons. Rooms need some refurbishing, but they are not old or broken, just outdated. Anyway, it is nothing that will shock you. Second, when entering the room, but just while entering the room, there was a smell of a smoking room. I turned the air condition on and that smell disappeared a few minutes latter. I have not felt that smell afterwards during the 3 days of my stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcaetano70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    480
    185
    62
    21
See reviews for
386
288
49
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

The location is in the center of Foz, with a very good connction with the falls (15 min by car) and opportunity to spend the evening outside. The rooms on the other hand clearly needs renovation expecially the moquette that is old and smells a bit. The bed is ok and so are the toilettes. Can be a good choice for a 1 night stay, max 2 but longer is not recommended. Good breakfast

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

There isn't much choice of mid priced hotels in Iguazu to stay at but this Hotel was a big disappointment. We knew hotels are overpriced here but this was obscene for the quality of the rooms and service. The location is pretty decent and the breakfast was OK. The room we had was small, very dated (70s style) and not particularly clean.

The hotel staff were friendly enough but very unhelpful bordering on useless. We rang 6 times from our previous destination over a periood of two days before we were eventually told that they didn't provide a pick up service from the Argentinian airport (however it was actually very easy to get a cab at the airport who dealt with the border crossings). When I asked for a map of the town I was told they only had one of Paraguay (!) with no more assistance. I later found out that the travel desk around the corner (in the hotel) has lots of free maps). There is a great looking restuarant on the top floor of the restaurant with fantastic views but we weren't told it even existed nor was there any information on it anywhere. We only found out about it on our last night when we two smartly dressed people got in the lift as we were going up and pressed the top floor. We then went to investigate. On speaking to others the following day on a tour of the waterfalls, nobody else knew it existed either.

On the plus side the travel desk in the hotel (whihc is separately run) was fantastic and they organised a great trip to the argentinian side of the waterfalls.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Golden Tulip for one night during our multi-centre stay in Brazil. It must be said that the only reason we booked in was that our first choice hotel , the Bourbon Cataratas was fully booked that night.
We transfered there first thing in the morning after 'breakfast'!

The Golden Tulip is simply 'tired out' and badly in need of restoration.

The rooms were OK but chipped tiles, strange odour from the shower drain and various other 'minor' things did not help.

The staff we encountered during our arrival and later that eveing for dinner were largely unhelpful and given the number of tour groups passing through I guess they have become complacent and indifferent to good customer service.

We went to the buffet dinner at first, but the food was awful, 'plastic' looking and very unappetising, so we opted for the top floor panoramic restaurant.
Although it was dark, the view from the floor to ceiling windows was spectacular and I guess in the day time equally impressive.
The waiter service there was very much better than downstairs and the food, whilst not too wide a choice, was definitely better than the buffet.

Beds were comfortable but again the whole room layout just cries out for modernising...

The really bad experience was the breakfast! Simply lacking in choice and one felt like a cattle market participant due to the large number of tour groups milling around everywhere.

The staff were too busy talking amongst themesleves to take any notice of people waving for attention/help.

All in all we couldn't wait to leave!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else...e,g, Bourbon Cataratas!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vialli54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

The staff at this hotel were just incredibly helpful, friendly, what a difference a smile makes, every singly staff member from the bell boy, to the housekeepers, to the front desk, had a smile for you and a "Bom Dia". Absolutely nothing was too much effort. The front desk very professional and organized, the tour desk also very knowledgable and helpful.
You really notice that this city depends upon tourism, and has responded accordingly, The Golden Tulip was a classic example of a city that is attuned to its customers.
Well done to all the staff at Golden Tulip.
Special thanks to the Taxi Drivers in Foz, they were ON TIME, clean cars, good drivers, and also very helpful with tips and suggestions.
Having said this, the hotel needs to increase its maintenance budget; rooms need a bit of makeover, and some fresh paint would help in a few places.
Great swimming pool, good gym as well, breakfast was quite good, but needs a little bit of variety day-to-day.
So to some up....
Dear Mr Management, the staff at your hotel a doing a great job, the overall experience from a customer service perspective was excellent, but it is time to spend a few $$ on spruicing up the hotel amenities and rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John_R_Miller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Nice hotel, in the center of a very unattractive town. The only reason to be here is to go visit the Iguasu falls, which are worth every effort!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViviTelAviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Firstly other then the Falls, there is nothing else to do in Foz...

The room was clean and they made an effort to decorate the room as we were on our honeymoon. Nice Touch.

The room had all the basics needed and was good. We had an issue with the internet and this was resolved with the Hotel giving us access to a sperate wireless connection. Good Service!

The views from the restaurant are fantastic however the food was not the best. One of the worst meals we had during our stay in Brazil.

Other then that, can't fault the place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,323 reviews
City Center
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
Wyndham Golden Foz Suites
#25 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
874 reviews
Viale Tower Hotel
#11 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#14 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,201 reviews
Foz Presidente Comfort
#19 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
447 reviews
City Center
Continental Inn Hotel
Continental Inn Hotel
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Park Internacional Foz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Park Internacional Foz

Property: Golden Park Internacional Foz
Address: Rua Almirante Barroso 2006, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-010, Brazil (Formerly Golden Tulip Internacional Foz)
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#22 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Golden Park Internacional Foz 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Park International Foz is ideally located in the commercial centre. It features a swimming pool, fitness centre and a sauna. The Iguacu Waterfalls are 20 km away and the Foz do Iguacu Airport is 15 km away.Foz Golden Park International provides rooms with cable TV, a minibar and air conditioning. In addition the hotel also offers restaurants,bars, a laundry facility and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Park Internacional Foz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Internacional Foz Hotel Foz Do Iguacu
Mercure Foz De Iguassu
Accor Foz De Iguassu
Golden Park Internacional Foz Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing