We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast!”
Review of Hotel Bella Italia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bella Italia
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great breakfast!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a great gourmet hotel, they have an amazing breakfast and that's why it was chosen, they also have special dinner nights but it's only one day a week so it was not the same day as our stay. It's quiet, comfortable, has lots of plugs in the room. There was free transportation from the airport too. The swimming pool is too small and not great at all. It was good for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,323
    1,073
    223
    29
    14
See reviews for
995
716
120
461
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Curitiba, PR
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Been there many times in order to work in the city. Day to day hotel. The food is ok. There's a swimming pool. Some rooms are very old. in general is a ok hotel. There is a van and some other things to take you to Argentina and Paraguay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeuJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We´ve done this trip in december 2012. The hotel is very well recommended by brazilian bloggers. The price was about US$ 100,00 for 3 person plus a baby, with breakfast and included a crib. The localization is good, near to a shopping center and downtown. Better if you rent a car (park US$ 4 per day). Breakfast was excellent, a big variety of fruits, juices, breads, cakes, cheese ...Staff were very attentious and kind, do everything possible for the guest. Next time I´ll go to Foz, go back to Bella Italia, don´t want to stay in a 5 star hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moalmeida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
908 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our 3 night stay was ok. Nothing special. rooms are a little small. The beds are comfortable and good water pressure. The internet can only be described as bad. The hotel is close the the new shopping mall, but a bit of a walk to the main street.

The breakfast has plenty of options, and you will need to spend time here if you want to over indulge. The staff are ok, but the did not pick us up from the airport as promised, so it cost me 45 Real by taxi. No compensation offered.

It is a nice hotel but i am not sure if i would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Bella Italia Hotel from 12/25/11 - 12/28/11 We selected this hotel based on Expedia's description and booked it through them. Here is a summary of my communication with them after our stay: "* Comment: We are appalled with this hotel and that your description is highly inaccurate. Your description, which was the reason we booked this hotel includes: “via exterior corridors” (THERE ARE NO EXTERIOR CORRIDORS), “Pillowtop beds feature down comforters, down blankets, and premium bedding.” (THERE ARE NO PILLOWTOP BEDS, DOWN COMFORTERS, DOWN BLANKETS OR PREMIUM BEDDING, THE BEDDING IS OLD AND THE PILLOWS AND BLANKETS ARE VERY VERY OLD). Guests can make use of the in-room refrigerators and espresso makers (THERE ARE NO ESPRESSO MAKERS IN THE ROOM). Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers, makeup/shaving mirrors, phones (THE BATHROOMS DO NOT HAVE SEPARATE BATHTUBS, IN FACT THEY DO NOT HAVE ANY BATHTUBS AND THEY DO NOT HAVE MAKEUP/SHAVING MIRRORS AND THE BATHROOMS DO NOT HAVE PHONES). Renovation of all guestrooms was completed in August 2011. (THIS ROOM HAS NOT BEEN REMODELED IN YEARS, OTHER THAN A FAIRLY NEW CHEAP VINYL FLOOR EVERYTHING IS VERY VERY OLD). WE BOOKED THIS HOTEL BASED ON YOUR DESCRIPTION WHICH IS HIGHLY INACCURATE BORDERING ON FRADULENT MISREPRESENTATION, WE LOOKED AT THREE DIFFERENT ROOMS IN THIS HOTEL AND NONE OF THEM HAD ANY OF THE AMENITIES YOU LISTED ABOVE IN YOUR DESCRIPTION. WE SHOULD NOT BE CHARGED FOR THIS HOTEL THIS IS AN OUTRAGE." For your information, Expedia responded by saying they were sorry and that was it, they never did a damn thing and a year later they still have the same false, deceptive description. NOW ON THE BRIGHT SIDE: the staff are incredible and did everything they could be helpful, warm and friendly and the breakfast buffet is the most incredible, extensive, delicious breakfast buffet we have ever eaten.

Room Tip: Go there to eat their incredible breakfast buffet, but stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBpicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloversville, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Clean, safe, wonderful staff who will go out of their way to help you. Breakfast extensive. The travel desk was very helpful arranging tours, etc. I would not hesitate to return and stay there. I visited area for 3 nights, I think 4 nights might have been better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fractaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had just over two weeks in Brazil and were covering quite a bit of ground. We flew into Iguazu from Manaus after our jungle tour. It was ten hours door to door arriving in Iguazu close to midnight. We had budgeted one day for the Brazilian side and one day for the Argentinian side.
All of the above affected our decision to stay at Bella Italia and in the end we were pleased.
We chose Bella Italia for the Igauzu Passport they offer. Withe lunch, dinner, bird park and boat ride it comes out at quite a saving and we thought it would simplify our day on the Brazilian side.
The first challenge was actually booking it. While the passport was mentioned on their web site, I was not successful in booking it online. I called four times from Canada and had always to be transferred to someone who spoke English. The trouble was only one of the people I spoke with on the phone had heard of the passport and he said I could not make a reservation that way and would just have to ask for it when we arrived.
The dinner that is included with the passport is supposed to be quite special and is called Italian Night. The challenge is that it is only offered on Saturday and Wednesday and we were not there either of those two nights. They seemed a little embarrassed about this and offered us dinner at the restaurant at the hotel that was open. It is more casual but we ended up having a perfectly nice Italian dinner there. We ordered an appetizer platter which was enough for four people and we were two. We each had a Spaghetti Putanesca which was quite good, a carafe of red wine, a bottle of water, two cafes and a dessert to share and the bill was just under what they told us the value of the Italian Night dinner was which was 49 Reales. When we checked out, they quibbled about letting us claim the wine and water as drinks are not normally included in the Italian Night dinner but we made our case and they were quickly agreed to honor the full amount.
All our interactions with the staff at the hotel in person were very courteous and competent. No complaints on that score at all and the room was nice. Huge buffet breakfast in a nice dining room too.They called us a cab the next morning to take us to the Argentinian airport and that went very smoothly.
The first morning there was some confusion as we tried to take a city bus to the falls. We ended up walking the seven blocks to the bus terminal where you can catch a bus that goes to the falls. This was when I realized how far out of the Foz the falls really were. As a city bus, it stopped frequently and took 45 minutes which included a stop at the airport. At this point, I was questioning the wisdom of staying in the The Foz. For a short stay, a hotel closer to the falls might make more sense. Once you get off the city bus, you join a line up to pay and enter the park. Being a Sunday, the line was long. After this you board yet another bus that has a few stops along the way for different attractions notably the stop to access the boat trip.
I was worried that we would not have enough time but in the end it was alright. My husband commented that the upside of this is that the falls are well away from urban development and are in a far more natural setting than Niagara for example. The bird park is charming especially for families with kids but it is more like a very nice zoo. There is so much abundant life around the falls it is not strictly necessary but we did enjoy it in any case even without kids
The Iguazu passport provides lunch at the falls with a huge and impressive buffet. Drinks are not included. Many have written how disappointed they were with the boat ride so my expectations were not that high but I thought it would be fun and it was. Husband was busy taking photos of butterflies and so we ended up at the back of the boat. This did not bother me but he was not pleased as his view was obstructed for photos. (Something to keep in mind)
While I questioned my original thinking in going for the passport, I think it did reduce stress throughout the day by having so much pre paid. Bella Italia turned out to be a pleasant stage in our travels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ConValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,593 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#14 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5,469 reviews
City Center
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
Nadai Confort Hotel & SPA
#17 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
#8 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
2,344 reviews
City Center
Pietro Angelo Hotel
Pietro Angelo Hotel
#7 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bella Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bella Italia

Property: Hotel Bella Italia
Address: Avenida Republica Argentina 1700 | Centro - Ao lado do Shopping Cataratas, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85852-016, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#8 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bella Italia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Italia is a four star hotel located in the heart of the city, beside Cataratas JL Shopping Mall, next to bank agencies, supermakets and public tranportation. Offers personalized services with comfort and safety you deserve, excellent breakfast with more than 125 itens and available room service 24 hours a day. Rooms are equipped with mini-bar, telephone, safe, air-conditioning, cable tv, balcony, private restroom, hair dryer, anti-allergic floor, free wifi Internet access. The hotel has swimming pool, gym, library, business center, free wifi Internet access and the delightful Noite Italiana dinner. We are in a hotel car rental company and a travel agency to arrange your rides in Foz do Iguaçu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bella Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Italia Hotel And Events
Bella Italia Hotel Events
Hotel Bella Italia Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing