We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff were excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostel Bambu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Bambu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Staff were excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We (girlfriend and I) stayed for a night and was really happy with the four bed dorm and the staff were really helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdnBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    62
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
3
34
86
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in February and would have stayed longer if we could. Really good value, comfy bed, great breakfast including toasties, quiet location, great staff with useful info. Bathroom could have been cleaner and make sure you book for as many nights as you need as priority seeme to be given to new guests.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkieStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

A group of 5 friends and me stayed in a dorm here for 2 nights. The staff on reception were genuinely warm and welcoming and that was the atmosphere of the whole place. It was very easy to get chatting to other guests around the bar. There's a common room with TV and a couple of internet terminals (but the cable internet is not 100% reliable- I think the wireless is OK). Breakfast is good - lots of fruit, cake, cheese and ham toasties. There is a pool but it's super small - quite nice to cool down in.

The staff are very keen to answer questions about visiting the local area, and at 10am each day they organise a tour. We went on their tour to the Argentian side of the falls, which is well recommended because it's a reasonable price and they handle the border crossings for you. Oh and of course it's amazing!

OK so it's not the cleanest place in the world - we were in a downstairs dorm. But it's a good price and is a nice and safe place to stay. Recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahlivermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights for 35 Real per bed per night. The dorm rooms weren't too cramped and there was space for all our things. Also there were two showers and a toilet connected to the room. We aren't really into the hostel party scene but found Bambu to be just right - there is a nice bar and pool/kitchen area outside where you can socialise but if you want to go to bed you don't get disturbed. Staff are friendly and nice. Good TV area and the kitchen is very well supplied if you want to cook for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacyonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

The allure of Foz do Iguacu is no doubt the cascading Iguacu waterfalls, but we found another reason to love our stay here...Hostel Bambu. A spacious hostel (which was clearly once a home) with a main TV room, Internet office space, high tech security system with electric fence, good sized double rooms, a fun bar/BBQ area out back beside a pool and lounger chairs, where a fantastic breakfast is served every morning. The BBQ nights are tasty, and the Caipirinhas are strong. The staff speak some English and are very helpful in every regard. Everyone had smiles on their faces, and the hostel clearly attracts a very adventurous, happy crowd of travellers. One to two blocks from the bus stop where the public bus picks you up for the 30min busride to the Brazilian side of the falls - the hostel also organizes a 'tour' to the Argentinian falls side, which saves a lot of hassle at the border and doesn't cost much extra than if you were to get there yourself. We had so much fun here, and wished we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotter130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

Met lots of lovely people here. Everyone seems to make an effort at this hostel.
Staff always friendly and very helpful. I`m not one for much drinking as don`t normally like the taste but the Caipirinha`s here are gorgeous and very cheap. We booked a double room. Bed, pillows and duvet all very comfortable. Bus to falls is only couple of blocks walk away. Bus is very cheap to Falls and takes about 25 mins.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmcgeeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

The staff were awesome especially the owner who helped us with everything we need for our stay around the falls. Their recommended tour of the Argentinian side of falls is very recommended, and sitting around the pool was a great rest after wards.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murrayv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
San Rafael Hotel
#20 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tetris Container Hostel
#1 of 109 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Concept Design Hostel & Suites
#2 of 109 in Foz do Iguacu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
City Center
Green House Hostel
Green House Hostel
#3 of 109 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Bambu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Bambu

Property: Hostel Bambu
Address: Rua Edmundo de Barros | Centro 621, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 109 Specialty Lodging in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Bambu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Bambu Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing