We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay while visiting the Falls.”
Review of Hotel Rouver

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Rouver
Ranked #37 of 79 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Rouver in June 2013 while visiting the Iguassu Falls. The best thing about this place is the location - it is situated very close to the bus stop that takes you to the Brazil or the Argentinian side of the Iguassu Falls. However, most of the staff don't speak English at all and you need a lot of sign language to understand each other. So to get onto the right bus is a challenge in itself, but luckily we met someone on the sidewalk who helped us. My advice would be to ask around and make sure you get onto the right bus, because there are a lot of different buses going around. Hotel Rouver is clean and has everything you need although it lacked warmth. If you stay only 2 nights to see the Falls, I would definitely recommend it because of the location and the very reasonable price. They also transferred us for free from the airport to the hotel. The staff are also very nice and helpful although they can't always understand you. A good place to stay for a short while.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emerina_bakkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 346 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a side room with louver screens that didn't have glass, and hence no screening of traffic noise. I would only stay here again if staff could assure of a quiet room away from the traffic noise. Otherwise very clean, basic accommodation, with very nice pool and games area at the rear. Breakfast features a LOT of cake options and your usual array of fruit, cheese etc. Hotel feels like there is a little lack of love and enthusiasm even thought it is family owned and run. Great location for bus to the falls and bird park. Huge supermarket over the road has very cheap and reasonable by the kilo meals and snacks. Handy for our young kids!

Room Tip: Request a quiet room/ room away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tabithaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

For a very reasonable price you get great facilities: pool, games area, free wifi, a very decent breakfast spread. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

The only issue is the location of the hotel right next to a major road/ junction, which means there's a lot of traffic noise, especially at night, when people seem to enjoy playing incredibly loud music from their cars, and you get treated to a blast of whichever vibrating bass line they've chosen as they wait at the traffic lights. Good earplugs saved us, but not recommended for light sleepers.

Room Tip: I suspect rear-facing rooms would be quieter, but maybe not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katalina75_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights due to its price, location and the free breakfast. The rooms were plain but adequate, the breakfast could easily be skipped, and the service is good. They have a pool with a loose liner but was still nice to relax on their loungers. For $50 a night its pretty good value for money in Foz.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoGoGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor. It's a budget hotel but better than we expected. Free airport pick up included. Bus stop outside which has buses going to Iguassu falls and the airport. It's close to a supermarket and only a short stroll away from the local town (20-30mins). Breakfast sufficient for filling you up in the morning. Only minor was the cold shower! Also wifi only available in reception. But for the price it's definitely worth it.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank nutmeg321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We arrived in Foz for a two day stopover in order to see the waterfalls. Getting to the hotel from the airport was easy as we used one of the radio taxis outside the airport terminal. I am sure if you book a taxi through the hotel or use a bus it would knock some $RS / £ off the cost. The hotel itself is very well located, and has a bus stop practically on its door stop. The bus stop on the same side as the hotel will take you towards Argentina or the waterfalls amongst other destinations. Note that the bus stop on the other side of the road will take you towards the city centre. There is also a taxi office opposite the hotel entrance which we used to take us back to the airport when we were leaving (the price was less from hotel to the airport than the other way).

The hotel itself has a nice lobby so initial impressions were good. Unfortunately, I don't speak Portuguese or Spanish so communicating with the person on reception wasn't great. I would suggest paying when you check out as that seems to be the normal thing to do in Brazil. I made the mistake of paying upfront and couldn't get a receipt of payment due to the language barrier so I spent some time worrying that I couldn't prove I had paid if that became an issue. It didn't, but better safe than sorry I guess.

As soon as we had dropped off our bags in the hotel room, we headed off to the Brazilian side of the waterfalls taking a bus from outside the hotel. We ended up checking which bus to take by asking a receptionist in the hotel across the road so kudos to them for helping us out. You will need to signal the bus to stop as they won't automatically stop just because you are at the bus stop. It only costs a few $RS and will take you to the park entrance. I definitely recommend taking the bus rather than a taxi as it will save you at least 30$RS. The buses are pretty regular too, so you shouldn't have too much problem getting on one.

For dinner, there are plenty of restaurants down the road towards the city centre. We went to the "beer gardens" for food on both nights as the food was really good and steak orientated but there are lots of choices within easy walking distance including McDonalds, Japanese, Arabic and of course Brazilian buffets.

The hotel room we booked was a twin room with an en-suite. The room was spacious and had a small balcony for smoking (not really a nice view as it was of the building next door but that wasn't really a concern). The room was clean with towels, sheets, soap and air con provided as standard. There was also a small fridge which was very useful. Noise at night was fairly minimal. I had taken ear plugs anyway so I didn’t find it a problem even though the hotel is on a main road. The hotel also has free Wi-Fi so that is useful for finding out any travel information if you also have problems asking the hotel staff.

The buffet in the hotel was probably the best one I had while in Brazil, there was a nice selection of cakes and fruit. However, if you like your fried breakfasts you may have a bit of trouble in Brazil as they don't seem to really do that there except in the hostels.

Overall, our stay in the hotel was good; we didn't have any problems with the room or the location. The price was also one of the cheapest ones I could find at the time of booking. When we were checking out, they did try and charge us twice for drinks we paid for in the lobby (we had paid upfront) but due to a lack of a common language the receptionist didn't continue insisting which is just as well really. This leads me onto the only negative point I can find was that none of the receptionists (4 of them in total) could speak any English and considering it is a hotel in a popular Brazilian tourist destination I was surprised as English tends to be a common universal language. As I have already said though, this wasn’t a huge issue in the end as we found out everything we needed to know on the internet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MancWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is located inside the main city of Foz Iguazu and because of it has easy access to many places (like a supermarket for some grocery shopping or by the kilo buffet), not too many blocks away are most of the bars and restaurants and also is near the bus stop where you can get anywhere in Foz (The National Park, The Airport, Ciudad del Este, etc) with a simple R$3 bus fare. That way you save lots on food and transportation which you can use to spend on more attractions and/or shopping in Ciudad del Este.

As for the accomodation I stayed on a Luxury suite with Cable TV and A/C, the only bad thing that happened to me was that the A/C was very low on coolant fluid so it chilled the room at a very slow rate, however for our luck the days we stayed on Foz were not very hot.

Also the breakfast is one of the best I've seen for a hotel of this category, it definetly was very varied with an assortment of fruits/cakes/bread and juices. I didn't had the chance to enjoy the pool but I've heard it was a very nice one.

Also as a final thing the hotel owner was very honest about on overcharge i accepted by mistake on our room rate, for some reason the hotel recepcionist charged me more for my room than I booked for (maybe the difference between the actual rates and the ones I booked 3 months in advance) and the owner contacted me the next day by email to ask for my account info so he could deposit the excess money they charged. Definetly a great experience and would definetly come back.

TIP: If you plan on staying at this hotel and don't mind carrying your bags, you can take the bus in front of the aiport (no more than 200m away from the entrance) and for a R$3.00 bus fare you can get down at the bus stop just across the hotel, that way you save about $35-50 reais on arranged pickup from the airport or taxi cab fare. Bus run as early as 5:30am and up to midnight.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper dont ask for rooms with a street view since its very noisy out there even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ravager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
1.4 mi away
Marica B&B
Marica B&B
#35 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Foz Plaza Hotel
Foz Plaza Hotel
#36 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
533 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viale Tower Hotel
Viale Tower Hotel
#11 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
Ibis Foz Do Iguacu
#17 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
1,460 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Monalisa
Hotel Monalisa
#58 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Rafael Hotel
San Rafael Hotel
#23 of 79 in Foz do Iguacu
754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rouver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rouver

Address: Avenida Jorge Schimmelpfeng 872, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-110, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#12 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#19 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#24 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range: $40 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rouver 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at 872, Jorge Schimmelpfeng Avenue, a major corridor for bus lines heading towards the falls (Iguassu Falls), Iaipu Hydroelectric Dam, Paraguay, International Airports, Bus Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rouver reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rouver Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing