We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unremarkable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of San Rafael Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
San Rafael Hotel
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Foz do Iguacu
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“unremarkable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Average hotel basic rooms.breakfast the best part of stay but don't bother with dinner unless it is Sunday and there is nowhere else.Really annoys me to have to pay for safe!!!!Had to walk quite a long way to find some reasonable to eat.It hadn't rained for 5months til we got there and then the deluge

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    376
    98
    18
    3
See reviews for
256
206
28
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaragua Do Sul, SC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

This hotel is simple and cheap, perfect to a short trip with the goal to buy "imported" in Paraguay. Simple breakfast, small rooms and old furniture. It's good located.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gilzacarlafloriani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, Brazil
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Very small, simple and clean rooms. Goog quality and good price for food.
Aplace to stay if you just need a clean bed and a good shower ( very good actually)
Meals are simple, clean and super cheap! It has a homemade flavour.
A bad thing: they charge you daily to ude the safe box. It is very uncommon. 3 USD/ a day.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RenatoFuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zandvoort, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Well, what can we say about San Rafael? It's in Foz de Iguazu... We choose to stay in the Brazilian side of the falls and that means to stay in a big city instead of the small Argetine city of Puerto de Iguazu.
The Hotel is average. The rooms are not nice, but you have a big bed in the room. The hotel got a nice swimming pool and a very good buffet / restaurant.
It's good value for the price they ask.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASandbergen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2009

This hotel offers a free transfer from the airport, but not being used to that, I forgot about it (grrr) and took the bus from the airport (grumpy driver, they don't help you with your luggage and you're then supposed to get your suitcase through the turnstile on the bus, another passenger had to help me as the driver and the money taker weren't about to....the driver went very fast, bad roads, no available seats, so even though it was only 2.10 Reals it was not a pleasant trip. They put the brakes on at the last minute and one girl screamed when there was a sudden stop...my luggage fell over when I was trying to get off and again a passenger helped me get my suitcase down. It's fine when you use the bus later, if you get a seat and you don't have your luggage.
Anyway, I found my way to the hotel easily, room was fine, there's a 5 Real a day charge for the room safe, I used it for two days and then asked to cancel the last day as I needed to take my passport to the Argentian border....breakfast was fine, again Brazilian hotels serve a lot of cake for breakfast for some reason, but there was fruit, cheese and bread too (again mostly white rolls but they also had slices of rye). There was also a charge to use the internet but I didn't bother as I find the hotels really overcharge, if you stay here, there's a small internet place that's open at night across the road for 1 Real for 30 minutes.
The tour guide at the hotel wanted to charge me $100 U.S. to take me and some others in a mini van to the Brazilian falls one day and the Argentinian side the next and then back to the airport when I left...what a rip off1 You don't need a tour guide for this...
walk the two or three blocks back to the main road and take the bus for 2.10 Reals, it goes first to the airport and then on to the national park which is where the Falls are. Entry to the park was about 22 Reals, they take you on a bus and then you walk a very well defined path, there are cafes and a restaurant....when I was there, a lot of the falls on the Brazilian side had dried up because of the season but it was still nice...there are lots of racoon type animals roaming around and you're warned not to feed them or get too close.
After the falls I went to the bird park which is just outside the national park....it was about 20 Reals to get in if I remember correctly and I spent more than two hours there....very interesting, had my pic taken with a parrot, a tucan and a boa constrictor. Then took the bus back, again it stops at the airport and walked the couple of blocks back to the hotel. The hotels in town are cheaper than the ones on the park road but the town is pretty much deserted at night and I only found two restaurants...one Chinese one and I took food out from there two nights and ate in my room with a beer from a little store (not the mini bar) and on the last night I found a pizza place, took a pizza back to my room. There are lots of little fast food type places but they serve only meat and I'm a vegetarian...the sidewalks are in bad shape and it was very eerie at night.
The next day I went to the Argentinian side...it's very easy to get to...you take a bus on the main road, it's 3 Reals or 6 depending on the bus company...it goes to the border, everyone gets off, shows their passport to the border guards who stamp it, you get back on the same bus and that takes you to a bus station in Argentina...there are some small restaurants nearby...you buy a return ticket for 10 pesos (I changed money into pesos at a money exchange place before I got on the first bus, I paid 57 reals for 100 pesos) ...that bus takes you to the national park, it was 60 pesos to get in, (they only take cash so don't rely on credit cards) leaving me 30 pesos for a sandwich and a beer along the way, I then had enough left to buy an icecream, another beer and a bottle of water before I got on the bus to go back to the Brazilian side (you pay 3 Reals on that bus from the bus station, you don't pay in pesos). The falls on the Argentinian side are much more impressive and you can get much closer....if you can only go to one side, go to the Argentinian side, and consider staying there too, rather than in the town on the Brazilian side....at least they had some restaurants.
I managed to get the bus to the airport when I left, but finding a bus stop was nearly impossible and then there's no list of which buses stop there...you have to watch for the right one and flag it, I think I missed one because another bus was stopped at the stop and my bus didn't stop, just went around it and left. To ask about the buses, I went to the bus station the night before I left, again, kinda eerie as not many people around at night and the station was seedy and then I walked the road and found that there was a stop close to the road where the San Rafael is so all was fine.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TorontoTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
131 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2008

Small hotel in the middle of Foz de Iguacu just a short walk from the main street. Room was very adequate, clean and comfortable though dull decor. Good size bathroom, which was bright and modern, again clean though with a small colony of resident ants. Only real complaint about my room was the very noisy air conditioning thankfully I could live without it being switched on.

Staff on the reception seemed to be rather lack lustre in their approach and were not particularly friendly. Though this may have been due to their lack of English and my total lack of Portuguese. Hotel does seem to cater more for guests from South America.

The hotel restaurant has a buffet on every night, it is good value though not a great selection unless you like heavily salted cold fish and gristly meat. The breakfast was in complete contrast with a great selecion buffet of hot and cold food and drink. Breakfast is reached via a small gift shop in a pleasant though very plastic canteen environment complete with artificial flowers on every table.

Foz de Iguacu itself is not a very vibrant or attractive town to stay in or indeed visit. The falls are absolutely stunning and when I return I will stay on the side of the border in the far more charming town of Puerto Iguassu in Argentina.

  • Liked — breakfast and the friendly ants
  • Disliked — my first and only mouthful of salted cod in the restaurant
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Durhamguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

If you're on a budget and all you need is a clean room with a big bed, then this is fine. The breakfast is nothing to write home about. The employees were very nice. The pool looked nice, but I didn't use at as it was a very short stay. It was close to a lot of restaurants.

  • Liked — Big Bed
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nicocut17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Foz do Iguacu hotels
City Center
Del Rey Hotel
Del Rey Hotel
#2 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,466 reviews
Hotel Villa Canoas
#12 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
City Center
Taroba Hotel
Taroba Hotel
#16 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
Aguas do Iguacu Hotel Centro
#8 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Viale Tower Hotel
#13 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Rafael Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Rafael Hotel

Property: San Rafael Hotel
Address: Rua Almirante Barroso 1660, Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85851-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Parana > Foz do Iguacu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#17 Business Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
#17 Family Hotel in Foz do Iguacu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Rafael Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Rafael Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Rafael
San Rafael Hotel Foz Do Iguacu, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing